Eight Telecom discussion thread

TyL3r_DuRd3n

easier to learn if can speak a bit of Thai, esp Isaan dialect or Laotian. at least that is what my Thai colleagues tell me (mostly from Isaan)
actually there are some Khmer words that are same / very-close-sounding to Indo/Malay/hokkien/teochew.

TyL3r_DuRd3n

Hi all. I saw the below message in Facebook. It is true for Batam as I tried. Can I know others who have experienced the same? Can I know the country/city? Thank you.

Trying to make call when roaming, over the phone only heard *all outgoing calls are barred.* Can't receive call too. (Data roaming and SMS are working) Had checked APN and Volte is on. Also tried 2nd sim slots, nothing help.
Indo got no VoLTE Network with eight's roaming partner.
Yesterday I was in JB and I could receive call from SG landline.

TyL3r_DuRd3n

Oh...now I know the reason. Thank you.
4ce7d38c9cf531680654758181fea51b.jpg

https://www.eight.com.sg/wp-content/uploads/2024/05/eight-Roaming-Destinations.pdf

Boringchap

oh but I use my iPhones for at least 10 years then change. I usually use until they end software support and security updates.

when I use android phones, I noticed only can use 2-3 years before it all slows down one leh, so I don’t really like to buy android phones coz don’t last long
10 years????!!!! 😳

I thought I’m already GOD mode with 6-7 years of using my previous iPhone 7.

loganrunning

i am a bit apprehensive when tweaking the ROMs. :s13:

i take the easy/safe/kiasu route before picking up 2nd hand phones - the good thing is, this delay gives time for modding community to develop the ROMs and iron out the bugs - and check that bootloader can be unlocked and there is lots of hits in discussions, and also, lots of derivative ROMs from the main/popular versions.

Boringchap

Guys, not that I am nitpicking.
My sms entitlement is 85 instead of 88 LOL
Sent email to eight and this is what they said (the cso is so girly lah)

Local Outgoing Mins​

XXX mins of 288 mins​

IDD Outgoing Mins​

XXX mins of 288 mins​

Local SMS​

85 SMS of 85 SMS​

Hi TyL3r_DuRd3n,
Thank you for bringing this to our attention.
We will alert our team on this.
Please be assured that your entitlements still remains at 88 SMS 🤗
Probably some error in their programming.

I also the same. Did you send out 3 sms?
instead of stating 85/88, it states 85/85.

At least for me, I know it’s like that. Whenever I send out sms, it’s quota will “decrease” according

TyL3r_DuRd3n

Probably some error in their programming.

I also the same. Did you send out 3 sms?
instead of stating 85/88, it states 85/85.

At least for me, I know it’s like that. Whenever I send out sms, it’s quota will “decrease” according
I checked, I sent out one SMS.
that's it.
But i hardly use SMS.
Will update you guys when the plan renewed.

loganrunning

oh, but main line leh, can turn off?
but i still need my bank otp or other transaction otp, so cannot totally turn off
but when i was away, i turn off the data roaming. connect to wifi when i was indoor

by turn off, i mean dun pay, and it reverts to $0 base plan. (for now, it's really free, but wef 15 Oct, it will require a purchase at least 60 consecutive days before 1st of month)

When on base plan, there is a small amount of call time, outgoing, and data, that is provided. incoming sms and incoming calls still on. So, it is ok for number parking, sms OTPs, or very low useage use cases.

edit: oh, i just realised, you already have a maxx line :ROFLMAO:

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.