Eight Telecom discussion thread

Sidler

What happens if I do not renew my plan?

• If you miss the date to renew your plan, you can renew it the next day. Simply do it on eight account or visit our retailers/ service centre.
  • At your plan expiry, the plan will go into a grace period of 60 days. During which you can receive SMS and notification to recharge. After 60 days, you will continue to receive SMS, however all unused wallet credit will be forfeited.
Anyone has experience how long it takes for data to be enabled after paying?
I lapsed payment, paid in the morning and no data till now.

Habrosus

Anyone has experience how long it takes for data to be enabled after paying?
I lapsed payment, paid in the morning and no data till now.
Lapsed payment as in they couldn't deduct when it's due coz there's neither a card saved nor funds in the wallet?

And this morning you topped up the wallet?

If so, homepage tap Recharge and choose your plan?

Checkyrmed

Wah, I tried the roaming for eight telecoms in Malaysia a bit iffy. In the roaming document, it says that roaming can connect to either Maxis or U-Mobile, Both Data roaming is good, but international calls won't work with Automatically Selected Maxis somehow, need to switch lines to U-Mobile, and then it can work. Also, I emailed support and they mentioned that VoLTE must be enabled. Hope this is helpful, will try it on subsequent trips.

If VoLTE was not enabled, you would have failed to connect to U-Mobile too but since it was able to work then the problem might be a separate one.

It could have changed. Few weeks ago, my friends were all disappointed that both Maxis and U-Mobile cannot be registered for calls. But I will try it in a few days.

Jurong640

Like so prevalent and widespread, especially for Simba, probably eight has also given the right to charge?

eight or simba will their their exclusive retailer to only charge the plan charge (i.e $8 or $10), they can't really stop them from charging more. Most of these ahbengz shops are renowned for this, charge more to earn some kopi money. Most consumers who signed up directly there wouldn't know.

Example, aunty or uncles in neighbourhood being introduced to eight $8 plan. Retailer told them $10, then they will have the mindset, oh since i'm here and $10 is reasonable as i'm paying more than $30 per month to my current telco. So this continues to breed. All business mindset

Habrosus

Like so prevalent and widespread, especially for Simba, probably eight has also given the right to charge?
Eight has confirmed somewhere along that these retailers aren't supposed to be charging so no, Eight hasn't given them the right to charge. Eight has even asked that such cases be reported to them so action can be taken.

Retailers with patterns more than badminton already existed for decades. Experienced from my old Singtel and M1 lines.

tanchoo1

Eight has confirmed somewhere along that these retailers aren't supposed to be charging so no, Eight hasn't given them the right to charge. Eight has even asked that such cases be reported to them so action can be taken.

Retailers with patterns more than badminton already existed for decades. Experienced from my old Singtel and M1 lines.
Just buy online and bypass all these a$$hole retailers.

The_Davis

Hmm, I tried for the last time yesterday at 12 noon. I was able to check out with the voucher, but the cashback was not reflected in my order details.
Did you pick item with cashback label?
it’s the one in dark blue

year2013

Is there any option/add on to send global SMS? Like with Gomo we can send international sms

cracker

since both Eight and Giga is part of Starhub.

Is there any reason why Eight and Giga entry level package is going for ~ $8 and $15 respectively ?

Will there be any difference in the coverage for eight or giga at the same location?

gapboy

Is there any reason why Eight and Giga entry level package is going for ~ $8 and $15 respectively ?

Will there be any difference in the coverage for eight or giga at the same location?
Giga has 5g .. Eight doesn't sure there are differences ... in terms of packages and plans

tanchoo1

Same question for Singtel - Gomo - Heya.

StarHub - Giga - Eight will have different price points, network priorities, maximum bandwidth, and availability of 5G.

For most normal people, Heya and Eight are good enough.

I have tried both Heya and Eight and I am very happy with both, even though they are only 4G. Most people also only need 4G anyway.

cracker

Giga has 5g .. Eight doesn't sure there are differences ... in terms of packages and plans
the $15 Giga mentioned by me is a 4g package

Giga 5G entry level is $18.

I dun care about 5G...
i am more interested in the coverage at the same location for a Giga and 8 users.

gapboy

I dun care about 5G...
i am more interested in the coverage at the same location for a Giga and 8 users.
Theoretically, 4g v 4g is the same since both are SH .. nobody can give you a definite answer ..

chaiscool

I dun care about 5G...
Moi giga 4g $10+ leh where got $15. Iirc it was pop up promo but they always have one every few months kind.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.