Eight Telecom discussion thread

BBCWatcher

Duno if ok to do so, but my dad passed away recently. We still keep his mobile phone to manage some stuff and I think his plan ish still active, on Simba $5. His mobile number is also unique as he paid for it and we want to keep it forever.

Can my mom sign himself an Eight line using the $5 senior plan August promo? :o
No, don't port to Eight. Like SIMBA, Eight does not support transfer of ownership.

However, it should be possible to transfer ownership of a mobile number as you port into VIVIFI. VIVIFI is currently offering an inexpensive $7.70 per month 4G plan. Then the new line owner can port out of VIVIFI if he/she wants. (But $7.70 per month on a Singtel MVNO is really rather good.) Or choose the 4G VIBE plan which works out to $5 per month for 12 months (if you stay with VIVIFI for 12 months) using their current port-in promotion. Or their Roam Asia Super $15/month plan; some port-ins qualify for 3 months paid, 9 months free. You should see all the port-in promotion options online during the sign-up process, and then you can decide.

CAUTION: Be prepared to lose this mobile number if something goes wrong. There might be a little risk in this.

oric1

Need advice, please. Does anybody know what are those Roaming Messages? I'm at home and don't remember receiving SMS or Whatsapp today.

What does the Roaming mean? Is it messages receiving from overseas?

When you check your Usage Details, do you also get such unfamiliar numbers or codes? Thanks!

BlueRiver

Need advice, please. Does anybody know what are those Roaming Messages? I'm at home and don't remember receiving SMS or Whatsapp today.

What does the Roaming mean? Is it messages receiving from overseas?

When you check your Usage Details, do you also get such unfamiliar numbers or codes? Thanks!

That number is 'Singtel'.
Do you have any notification service from Singtel? You can try to check in your SMS inbox from 'Singtel' and see based on the time.

oric1

That number is 'Singtel'.
Do you have any notification service from Singtel? You can try to check in your SMS inbox from 'Singtel' and see based on the time.
Thanks!

Yes, when I login to my SingNet Web Portal, it will send me 2FA SMS. May I know how can you tell those numbers are from Singtel?

The numbers you were referring to is starting with 65 or 536?

ichinisan

Here’s my prediction for Eight’s special SG60 promo: seniors (age 60+) on the senior plan who top up for 30 years — a bargain at only $1,800 — will get an additional 30 years free. Yes, you read that right! Celebrate SG60 with 60 more years of Eight service. Simply top up $1,800 now, and you’ll get service till age 120+. All with Eight’s excellent, reliable 4G LTE. Nobody really needs 5G, 6G, 7G, 8G, 9G, 10G, or 11G service (assuming 1 “G” about every decade).

Offer not transferable or refundable.

I think this’ll be an amazing deal for seniors, especially if you can use a $50 Shopee coupon to drop the price to $1,750. For SG120 Eight will probably have another top up promotion, so I think it works.

Most if not all of them would have uplorry already :LOL:

algerr

Edit: can liao. Need to wait for a few minutes.

I top up $5 and chose senior plan liao, also received SMS says good to go. But I used her phone to send myself a few messages, the messages don’t go through leh? Why sia…

Hi, mind asking.
Is your mum $8 plan currently under your name? If yes, u just change to senior plan?
Thz

EDMW-Hates-Me

8 not very stable today? Lags here and there. I got 3 digits stuck inside, hope they don't go down the drain.

EDMW-Hates-Me

Here’s my prediction for Eight’s special SG60 promo: seniors (age 60+) on the senior plan who top up for 30 years — a bargain at only $1,800 — will get an additional 30 years free. Yes, you read that right! Celebrate SG60 with 60 more years of Eight service. Simply top up $1,800 now, and you’ll get service till age 120+. All with Eight’s excellent, reliable 4G LTE. Nobody really needs 5G, 6G, 7G, 8G, 9G, 10G, or 11G service (assuming 1 “G” about every decade).

Offer not transferable or refundable.

I think this’ll be an amazing deal for seniors, especially if you can use a $50 Shopee coupon to drop the price to $1,750. For SG120 Eight will probably have another top up promotion, so I think it works.
Not very wuhua leh.
1750/5/12 ≈ 29 years.
60+29=79, near the average life expectancy liao.
Sometimes got promos like top up $28 get another $28 free...

Lemon_gaga

Just came back to sg from jb. Go jb network full no internet. Need walk to city square. After awhile the network start to activate . Back to sg. Wait for bus. Internet on and off. Only stable after the bus leave checkpoint. Last time no issue. Today internet not stable. Full bar but no internet.

wjleong15

Yes, this morning got many fake WhatsApp fraud sms even inside immigration
Long towards jb sentral line not working until jbcc only able to surf despite on off airplane mode

skazzz

Just came back to sg from jb. Go jb network full no internet. Need walk to city square. After awhile the network start to activate . Back to sg. Wait for bus. Internet on and off. Only stable after the bus leave checkpoint. Last time no issue. Today internet not stable. Full bar but no internet.

observing poor data network lately across all available selection in johor (manual toggle also cant solve much)
most of the time crawling

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.