Encounters scammers on room rental groups in FB :(

• Have you been Scammed?
    Follow this advisory from National Crime Prevention Council (NCPC) or call ScamShield Helpline 1799. More info

starlust

Ooh I see…
I got influenced by a buddy who shared that she got 4 tenants over the years doing so by herself. She encourages me to follow as well.
hence…
Maybe I am not as lucky as her I guess
ask your buddy to share their TA with you
follow the guides online and screen the prospective tenants carefully and diligently
an agent is not really necessary

titusilvering

I being surfing EDMW for long period.
My 1st post here... hello to all! :)
I need to rant/share a bit to bring awesomeness to all who are keen to know.

Recently posted my common room for rental on various FB groups.
Recommended to me by a friend who used it for his own tenant.
For the past 2-3 weeks, my job is to [ang wei] lonesome souls aka scammers.
They are very thoughtful type. Will check on you whether you taken BF/lunch/dinner etc.
Enquire on your job/daily lifestyle as well.
But when it was the viewing day, all disappeared & block my Whatsapp.
What do these people hope to gain?
Why not you try scam big & rich organizations instead?

Haizz
Life already not easy for most people in SGP.
And yet these people exit.
Any thoughts on this?
Much appreciated.

Have a nice day to all. Happy mid week. :)
Boom boom room.... Jialat

coyote

Have gotten from FB before. Mostly not nice.
But my sister managed to get good ones.
Her location near Micron and other similar company. So got lady engineers

Like how the Amenian kidnapper told Liam Neeson..., "Good luck."

boomboom-room

Luck is definitely also 1 of the factor.
Stating your preferences clearly will push your luck towards the positive range

You have to state your requirements on FB or to agent right from the beginning
eg. Must be female/male, no cooking, no aircon during day, no WFH, must be chinese race from sg or malaysia , include wifi, electricity and water etc etc
Of course if you can accept other races and nationality, just indicate upfront as a form of filter. Whatever you can offer or don't allow, need to state clearly from the beginning

Proper agents have all these checklist ready and they will ask all the above and more, before they post on their respective rent portals.

Good luck!
Thank you my friend. Well noted!

Corba2001

It's the same when tenants decide to DIY and find room/ unit rentals on FB groups. There will be genuine LL there but there's also a high probability that they will meet a scammer.

Tio scam already then kpkb, cry father cry mother, post social media. Rather let scammers earn their few thousand dollars then pay a agent to source a legitimate room/unit for them.

Very deserving :LOL::LOL:

dambio

I being surfing EDMW for long period.
My 1st post here... hello to all! :)
I need to rant/share a bit to bring awesomeness to all who are keen to know.

Recently posted my common room for rental on various FB groups.
Recommended to me by a friend who used it for his own tenant.
For the past 2-3 weeks, my job is to [ang wei] lonesome souls aka scammers.
They are very thoughtful type. Will check on you whether you taken BF/lunch/dinner etc.
Enquire on your job/daily lifestyle as well.
But when it was the viewing day, all disappeared & block my Whatsapp.
What do these people hope to gain?
Why not you try scam big & rich organizations instead?

Haizz
Life already not easy for most people in SGP.
And yet these people exit.
Any thoughts on this?
Much appreciated.

Have a nice day to all. Happy mid week. :)
Last time got reports of scammers use legit owners location n pics to scam unsuspecting ppl.

Make them think they own d place. Take deposit n disappear.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.