EndowUs Roboadvisor: investing using CPF

under CPF IS, what were the considerations you guys had when comparing robo investor portfolio versus dollardex or even picking individual SGX stocks?

Okenba

Is endowus the cheapest to invest cpf in s&p500? 0.4% p.a. right?

0.4 is what you pay endowus.
You still have to pay the fund, which I think is about 0.45 or thereabouts.
So total is 0.85ish

It's probably worth checking the various brokers as I think they have made adjustments to the pricing of their funds earlier this year. I don't think they were as competitive over SRS before and now they are, so could be similar for CPFIS.

assiak71

I am still using endowus for srs portfolio

Have there been updates elsewhere regarding srs that makes endowus not the best option anymore?

gold_eagle36

Have there been updates elsewhere regarding srs that makes endowus not the best option anymore?

Actually srs is very open unlike the restriction placed on cpfis.

Hence, I would personally say endowus is the best option for CPFis but a good option for srs.

No updates or changes that I know of.

Okenba

About a page back, someone mentioned that POEMS and Dollardex were cheaper than Endowus for buying Infinity Global and Infinity 500.

w1rbelw1nd

There is more than just cost when it comes to investing with Endowus

Neither POEMS/Dollardex can do a Regular savings plan with auto-rebalance function using SRS/CPF/Cash monies.

Putting aside the obsession with InfinitySP500 or vanguard total stock index fund, you also get access to bond funds and low cost emerging market funds.

But of course, totally possible to use Endowus just for the infinity series, but thats doesnt help in diversification nor cost.

w1rbelw1nd

under CPF IS, what were the considerations you guys had when comparing robo investor portfolio versus dollardex or even picking individual SGX stocks?

Endowus - exclusive access to Infinity global stock index, 0.4% p.a. fee but has trailer fee rebate. SP500, ability to invest in many funds at single agent bank fee

Dollardex/other DIY fund platform - High cost unit trusts, "no fees" but takes trailer fees. Hard to invest efficiently due to minimum transaction amount and agent bank charges, rebalancing not as convenient

SGX stocks - 35% investment limit

STI ETF - difficult to invest fully on a monthly basis due to brokerage charges (try investing $1k+ amount on local brokerages :)), "cheaper" recurring charges, expensive agent bank charges.

Is endowus the cheapest to invest cpf in s&p500? 0.4% p.a. right?

It remains the only choice.

Mr. Wood

thot endowus is the only way to access s&p500 using cpf. other platform can only use cash or srs, no?

STI ETF - difficult to invest fully on a monthly basis due to brokerage charges (try investing $1k+ amount on local brokerages :)), "cheaper" recurring charges, expensive agent bank charges.

I threw all my 35% into STI ETF when it was 2500+.
Now 2800+.
Sibei Song made over 10% but tis for my CPF OA.

Mr. Wood

nid some help with calculation. came up with 3 cases
A: initial $10k, then $1200/yr (or $100/mth) DCA
B: initial $10k, then $12000/yr (or $1000/mth) DCA
C: same as B, but add $5000 evy yr after get bonus

50761939891_755992cc71.jpg

use 0.4% endowus access fee (actually 0.6% if use cash less trailer fee assume 0.2%).
compare with another platform if use 1% sales charge on each transaction.
over period 20 yrs, endowus is more expensive. and dis is assuming the fund price remain stagnant. if fund price increased over the yrs (which is almost certainty), endowus is even more ex.

anything i hav missed out in the calculation?

w1rbelw1nd

nid some help with calculation. came up with 3 cases
A: initial $10k, then $1200/yr (or $100/mth) DCA
B: initial $10k, then $12000/yr (or $1000/mth) DCA
C: same as B, but add $5000 evy yr after get bonus

50761939891_755992cc71.jpg

use 0.4% endowus access fee (actually 0.6% if use cash less trailer fee assume 0.2%).
compare with another platform if use 1% sales charge on each transaction.
over period 20 yrs, endowus is more expensive. and dis is assuming the fund price remain stagnant. if fund price increased over the yrs (which is almost certainty), endowus is even more ex.

anything i hav missed out in the calculation?

You cannot make an apple to apple comparison like that.

Endowus rebates trailer fees/or uses lower cost institutional share class unit trust.

If cpf OA is cheapest right

0.4 is what you pay endowus.
You still have to pay the fund, which I think is about 0.45 or thereabouts.
So total is 0.85ish

It's probably worth checking the various brokers as I think they have made adjustments to the pricing of their funds earlier this year. I don't think they were as competitive over SRS before and now they are, so could be similar for CPFIS.

Mr. Wood

You cannot make an apple to apple comparison like that.

Endowus rebates trailer fees/or uses lower cost institutional share class unit trust.

i considered trailer fee rebate as 0.2% (ie 0.6% fees less 0.2% rebate = 0.4%).

oso i understand dat institutional share class no trailer fee, but the diff is in the expense ration (which will be reflected in the NAV). is it right?

Endowus - exclusive access to Infinity global stock index, 0.4% p.a. fee but has trailer fee rebate. SP500, ability to invest in many funds at single agent bank fee

Dollardex/other DIY fund platform - High cost unit trusts, "no fees" but takes trailer fees. Hard to invest efficiently due to minimum transaction amount and agent bank charges, rebalancing not as convenient

w1rbelw1nd

i considered trailer fee rebate as 0.2% (ie 0.6% fees less 0.2% rebate = 0.4%).

oso i understand dat institutional share class no trailer fee, but the diff is in the expense ration (which will be reflected in the NAV). is it right?

Different portfolios have different trailer fee rebates, and it is innately unfair to compare between institutional share class portfolios against FSM/dollardex/POEMs retail share class.

You cannot just deduct like that. Details matter especially when you are calculating to 5-10 basis point difference, and dealing with products not found on other platform.

Mr. Wood

Different portfolios have different trailer fee rebates, and it is innately unfair to compare between institutional share class portfolios against FSM/dollardex/POEMs retail share class.

You cannot just deduct like that. Details matter especially when you are calculating to 5-10 basis point difference, and dealing with products not found on other platform.

i think i understand wht u mean. agree with it.
if i wan an advised portfolio solution, i wud take up their eg 60-40, 80-20 ... portfolio and let them rebalance as and when necessary. i suppose it is similar to any other robos or adviser as well.

but then again, juz thinking, was it fair when endowus compares its fees with other platforms, since their funds are different?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.