Engineers pls share your insight on why working overseas is not for you

yeenfei

SG ppl dont buy the idea of start low and climb up one, thats why you seldom see technicall managerial role in MNC from local (these position cannot parachute one, what MBA come also die without ops knowledge)

lampano

Frankly sinkies no longer got advantge compared to 80s working overseas... the rest asia are good now, angmoh speaking can be better also and more exposure thank sinkies.

Ts why u need sinkie for this job i wonder

wwenze

u got 20years to clear ur MR mah....

unless u siam many times.....

Not easy when you consider the efficiency of our government

Unit already graduated when I was 33yo now I just hang there

Only skipped 1 ICT which is the 8th

I followed gahment call to get overseas experience and look what happens when things don't go according to SAF's plan

lampano

Lol. Look at the prospect of STEM degree holders surely everyone wants to go finance trust fund. For race to bottom job, hard work low pay. Engineering jobs can nvr achieve equity with other professionals. On the end need FT to supplement the workforce. So far in my engineering career I havonly seen 1 case of a person who has no need to slog in terms of soft skills or hard skills and managed to earn high salary doing a entry level job. Most ppl long hours thankless job and greatly disrespected by society
This is the truth of sinkie engineering career.

I see my cousin engineer do until so sad life like hard labour worker, no respect and can be replaced by jhk or any cheaper FT wo knowlegde

Min Min

Frankly sinkies no longer got advantge compared to 80s working overseas... the rest asia are good now, angmoh speaking can be better also and more exposure thank sinkies.

Ts why u need sinkie for this job i wonder

eventually moving ops to SG

standarture

Quite simple actually.

Undesirable countries, low pay, long attachment commitment. Your pay package is unlikely to be attractive enough.

nyvrem

not just engineering. my friend in b&f got offer relocated to Canada with decent pay, he also turned down cause he calculated the extra $$ earned not worth the need be away from family/friends for too long

AcquiT

I had a hard time getting people to work in the semiconductor Industry

good benefits etc and overseas exposure and yet don’t get enough fresh nor qualified experienced engineers/researchers coming forward

And then we have the fresh grads with no family burdens also refuse to get out of SG to venture for a good career ahead

So it’s not really no jobs it’s more like people have many conditions they set for themselves, how to make money or get a good career if not ready for change?
This industry is already quite niche here

Even graduate for designer only handful

Not like Taiwan ,India Vietnam
Especially Taiwan,their grad no issue to go into this industry.

The focus here is different in the industry like finance etc

AcquiT

Sg engineering are really low paying tbh.
Like deg holders being beggers
Engineer many different industry

Related to building one pay lower

But related to IC or semi con one,average higher
Grad easily close to $5000 nowadays if not mid $4000s

iluvchickenwing

not many will wana go cos of family or future fam commitments. 6 years max then wana come home liao. non amdk countries will see even fewer takers.

rstopel

my 2 cts. out of the semicon industry for 10+ years but from my experience the designers don't really like to get out of their comfort zone. some have filial responsibility to parents. sine can't miss SG food. the Pinoy mask engineer are most keen to go USA and stay on. got some PRC/ indo engineering talent move to Europe and live there happily but still sinkies not so much

theMKR

Not easy when you consider the efficiency of our government

Unit already graduated when I was 33yo now I just hang there

Only skipped 1 ICT which is the 8th

I followed gahment call to get overseas experience and look what happens when things don't go according to SAF's plan
unit grad, u still can go ICT what.....

will become the zou boh group lor....

theMKR

my 2 cts. out of the semicon industry for 10+ years but from my experience the designers don't really like to get out of their comfort zone. some have filial responsibility to parents. sine can't miss SG food. the Pinoy mask engineer are most keen to go USA and stay on. got some PRC/ indo engineering talent move to Europe and live there happily but still sinkies not so much

IC design ish high level bro......

prusswan.net

Chiu micron ar

this one every a few yrs mass layoff

someone said semicon ish dying industry for SG anyway

best game plan ish to quickly make enuff marney n pivot to property speculation

collect rental can survive liao y nid to work

Min Min

Engineer many different industry

Related to building one pay lower

But related to IC or semi con one,average higher
Grad easily close to $5000 nowadays if not mid $4000s

ya had a fresh grad solid engineering BG from NUS ask for 4.8k I say ok then he ask if he can bring his gf over at my cost? 🙄

needless to say he rejected my offer

then another memorable one 34yo ask if I can uproot his entire fam over? 🙄🙄

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.