Exchange Rate

calkel20

Aiyo guys, small matter don't get too excited lah ya.
Ya, I hear the advices here Singapore rate isn't good, so I only changes SGD500 for my 7D trip to Taipei. If it's better at Taoyuan airport then maybe I changed somemore. Btw, I read above some saying it's better to change SGD to USD in Singapore first, bring USD to Taipei change to TWD. Correct???

Sent from Xiaomi REDMI NOTE 4 using GAGT

Not any USD, so will not advise you on that.
Too cheem for you.

So you are the few kiasu ones who change locally knowinn you lose about 50ntd for every 100sgd?

calkel20

Too cheem for you and doubt you will be able to understand.
Coz if you do wrongly, you end up losing more than gaining.
So for your case, change in Taiwan is your remedy to make up for your loss.

bloodwater

Alright. Thanks to many many. I read last two page and I will be bring cash there to change. Not even to withdraw there.

Avg NTD50 for SGD100? Thats quite a bit.

Imagine you change SGD 5000, thats like NTD2500 which is around SGD113?

calkel20

Alright. Thanks to many many. I read last two page and I will be bring cash there to change. Not even to withdraw there.

Avg NTD50 for SGD100? Thats quite a bit.

Imagine you change SGD 5000, thats like NTD2500 which is around SGD113?

TnC applies.

Haha!

LIN_JOEL

They accept Japanese Yen as well right?
I’m thinking of bringing my Yen there to change NTD.

Ruriel

I've been monitoring every few days lately coz my trip is next mth. I noticed that in SG, the rates are slowly creeping up again (was 21.1 last week, yesterday 21.3), while megabank rates are very very slowly dipping (was 21.8x last week, yesterday 21.79).

Wonder if the trend continues like that, by the time I go, both places the rates will be agar agar same rate liao? :s13:

But what I would suggest to people who are heading to tw soon to seriously just keep checking both sides on your own instead of keep asking here... Make your own decision. Calkel bro already given the URLs for you to check, and they are updated everyday. So you can make your own informed decision.

calkel20

I've been monitoring every few days lately coz my trip is next mth. I noticed that in SG, the rates are slowly creeping up again (was 21.1 last week, yesterday 21.3), while megabank rates are very very slowly dipping (was 21.8x last week, yesterday 21.79).

Wonder if the trend continues like that, by the time I go, both places the rates will be agar agar same rate liao? :s13:

But what I would suggest to people who are heading to tw soon to seriously just keep checking both sides on your own instead of keep asking here... Make your own decision. Calkel bro already given the URLs for you to check, and they are updated everyday. So you can make your own informed decision.
Ruriel 萬歲!

LIN_JOEL

Yes they do.
But you may wanna compare if it is actually better to do yen to ntd or sgd to ntd.

Ya I will compare when date is nearer but should be better than I change the yen back to SGD and bringing SGD to change NTD there :)

dede1217

21.25 at arcade, seems like getting better ...
21.30 at marina square fountain ...
weird their rate is higher, most of the times their rates not so good compared to arcade rates ... maybe now they have changed ...

SillyJason

bro, quick qn.. i see that DBS tw rate is slightly better then megabank one. is that right based on your experience?

calkel20

bro, quick qn.. i see that DBS tw rate is slightly better then megabank one. is that right based on your experience?

You need to go DBS.
Their administrative fee is 100ntd, min or 1% whichever is higher.
Do you want to waste your time to go there?

bloodwater

Gamxia for the USD tip. :D:D
Enough to hoot 5X big 金峰魯肉飯 for every SGD1k changed
Will continue to monitor another 2 weeks.

hmm.. sounds good. I heard from my friend saying something about new USD cash will have a better price? Kinda not believing it she say she sees it somewhere here.

Any buddy can help confirm? :D

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.