Exchange Rate

kevin301

do not wan to take the risk of changing there as in the exchange rate. So if I can get my desired exchange rates here, why not ? :)

It's a gamble I suppose. You're changing quite a large amount. If the rate is 23.1 when you're there, maybe you'll be very upset? :D

edit: Actually the difference between 23 and 23.1 is NT$600+ (for S$6800), so not enough to cause serious anger.... LOL

calkel20

It's a gamble I suppose. You're changing quite a large amount. If the rate is 23.1 when you're there, maybe you'll be very upset? :D

edit: Actually the difference between 23 and 23.1 is NT$600+ (for S$6800), so not enough to cause serious anger.... LOL
Can buy 2 rounds of bubble tea!

Elantra1529

Managed to get the desired rate of S$1 ~ NTD23 from a nice Taiwanese 'boy' studying in Singapore :) :s12::s12::s12:

Looking forward for my 5th Taiwan trip on 20 Feb lo :p

NTD still needed. Please text me if you have balance from your trip and willing to let go @ the exchange rate of S$1 ~ NTD23. Thanks

calkel20

you mean I tan dio or that young man ? looks to me like win-win situation :)

U lose.
Coz even if you bring to Taiwan, no matter how hard you try, u get 23.1.
He will need to lose 23.4-6 to get 1sgd.
I am sure you know what is avg?
Best to both world is to use sgdtwd=x on yahoo.com

Since u are done changing, so just bear with what you have and spend up.

calkel20

in fact, we only have NTD29790/pax to spend for the 8D7N trip. Still think that it is a lot ? :s22:

Yes.
Split it into 8 days, why will anyone need 4.2-3k a day?
Sibeh gao lat lor.
Unless your first time, if not , you must be a big dealer.

Elantra1529

haha thanks for the explanation but in order to save me trouble to look for DBS bank in Taiwan and to risk getting lesser than S$1 ~ NTD23 in airport money changer, I decide to take the plunge to change privately with forum'er @ S$1 ~ NTD23 since I won't get this rate anytime soon and lazy to keep monitoring :p

U lose.
Coz even if you bring to Taiwan, no matter how hard you try, u get 23.1.
He will need to lose 23.4-6 to get 1sgd.
I am sure you know what is avg?
Best to both world is to use sgdtwd=x on yahoo.com

Since u are done changing, so just bear with what you have and spend up.

calkel20

haha thanks for the explanation but in order to save me trouble to look for DBS bank in Taiwan and to risk getting lesser than S$1 ~ NTD23 in airport money changer, I decide to take the plunge to change privately with forum'er @ S$1 ~ NTD23 since I won't get this rate anytime soon and lazy to keep monitoring :p

The airport charges is only one time off.
So still worthy to grab there.
Seems like ntd will not fall soon, but anyone's guess.
換了就算了。
=D

Elantra1529

NTD4200/day considered a lot ? 1 Stayreal tee shirt already costs NTD1388 at least :( this is my 5th trip to Taiwan ... I usually spend S$6k (inclusive of reasonably good accommodation, jetstar airfare & tour guide/transport cost) for me and wife for Taiwan trips.

Yes.
Split it into 8 days, why will anyone need 4.2-3k a day?
Sibeh gao lat lor.
Unless your first time, if not , you must be a big dealer.

calkel20

NTD4200/day considered a lot ? 1 Stayreal tee shirt already costs NTD1388 at least :( this is my 5th trip to Taiwan ... I usually spend S$6k (inclusive of reasonably good accommodation, jetstar airfare & tour guide/transport cost) for me and wife for Taiwan trips.

If really is buy expensive items, sometimes, pay by card can get more points out of it.
U spend 6k include hotel, guide, airfares, tour etc.
So very different.
Even accomodation, who will go pay cash when now even cc give you back about 6-7% back by using inhouse code, only transaction another 6-7% percent back for online transactions.
Isn't it better?
Since i am not spending, i am sure you get it work out better.
Oh yes, if you want, there is another shopback option, another 10% back into pocket per rooms booked.

Elantra1529

I am a lazy person to do all these cc stuffs :) I booked 3 days accommodation using cc but only 30% prepaid and will pay cash to hotel for balance :) dun really like to use cc when overseas. using which s'pore in Taiwan gets the best rates huh ? maybe I can choose to pay by cc this time round :)

accommodation costs for first 4 nights will be settled by tour guide and I pay him a lump-sum for the whole service de

If really is buy expensive items, sometimes, pay by card can get more points out of it.
U spend 6k include hotel, guide, airfares, tour etc.
So very different.
Even accomodation, who will go pay cash when now even cc give you back about 6-7% back by using inhouse code, only transaction another 6-7% percent back for online transactions.
Isn't it better?
Since i am not spending, i am sure you get it work out better.
Oh yes, if you want, there is another shopback option, another 10% back into pocket per rooms booked.

rayban

I am a lazy person to do all these cc stuffs :) I booked 3 days accommodation using cc but only 30% prepaid and will pay cash to hotel for balance :) dun really like to use cc when overseas. using which s'pore in Taiwan gets the best rates huh ? maybe I can choose to pay by cc this time round :)

accommodation costs for first 4 nights will be settled by tour guide and I pay him a lump-sum for the whole service de

since 5th time still need tour guide??? i mean is your money you want how to spend is up to you, just trying to understand how is it spend that all ^^ no offence

Elantra1529

tour guide cum driver :) I always hire him to bring us around ... going Tainan, Taichung & Taipei for this trip.

First 2 days in Tainan (fully guided)
3rd day in Taichung (fully guided)
4th day in Xin Zhu (fully guided)
5th - 8th day in Taipei (only 7th day F&E)

tried going without pre-planned transport and took public transport previously but cannot tahan the hassle of lugging the luggage here and there in public transport ah :(

so my personal conclusion is to charter a vehicle throughout the trip except for last few nights of F&E in Taipei but this trip exceptional cos bringing a few first timer friends along :)

since 5th time still need tour guide??? i mean is your money you want how to spend is up to you, just trying to understand how is it spend that all ^^ no offence

calkel20

Ya la.
I hope he is not offended too. 5th time and with some on virgin trips.
So maybe scared they not enough money to go ard.
Best part all mentioned places have DBS existence.
Got driver makes life easier. If only he would have thought is get driver make a pitstop at dbs, which the rest grab breakfast, makes ultimate sense.
Driver cannot be charging him more for just a visit to DBS.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.