Executive Condo (EC) bubble?

x_ariff_x

sorry to dig old thread
what do you think of EC's future? will it be scrapped by HDB soon? within next 5 yrs?
Don't think it will be scrapped. HDB just allocate another plot of land for EC in Tampines North and Sengkang late last year.

ECs sell out faster than private condos, I think they won't phase it out. Now got OLA, Parc Canberra, and the upcoming Parc Central Residences in Tampines. Can check out Parc Central Residences here: parccentralresidences-official.com.sg

Makes sense. Which probably explains why CDL priced Sumang units on average around $1.2mil. The 4 bedrooms are the "stretched goals" to make buyers go dig out even more cash.

It feels like they are thinking, you want to buy, then we 吃定你.

no leh, Piermont Grand price from $899k onwards oni leh.. oni the 3+ Utility high floor pool / waterway facing is ard $1.2XM.. 4bdrms is from $1.3xM

infernolord

Interesting to pull this tread out.. its stopped at 2020. we were still screaming at 900k EC 3bedroom.. lol
Now the price? eh...

elvintay07

Interesting to pull this tread out.. its stopped at 2020. we were still screaming at 900k EC 3bedroom.. lol
Now the price? eh...
Lol! Don’t make many ppl squeeze balls la. 😆! $900k EC expensive? Now EC is $1.3mil. $1.3mil super super expensive? You see what is 2026 price. 😆

yufee

As i read through some of the comments….some talk like `experts’ back with data and whatever Bala or Sala table….some even call people `suckers’….wonder what’s on the mind of these people now?

I hope they went on to buy a private condo coz they were saying EC not worth it at 1100, better value to buy private condo….otherwise….both boats also missed……those who listened to such `experts’ ……

Indeed interesting to look back at some of these comments from the past….

cyberklan

As i read through some of the comments….some talk like `experts’ back with data and whatever Bala or Sala table….some even call people `suckers’….wonder what’s on the mind of these people now?

I hope they went on to buy a private condo coz they were saying EC not worth it at 1100, better value to buy private condo….otherwise….both boats also missed……those who listened to such `experts’ ……

There r still listing of 5-8 year old EC units in PropertyGuru and some r not moving. So imo, location is a big factor regardless of property type

Clazav

Ya indeed interesting. But many commenters are not active anymore. In fact now at 1300psf EC will still be safe and be profitable of some extent, when you see the condo price.

8zaoyu

Which place not moving?
And which BTO HDB 5 room and Multi-Gen BTO not highly bidded? EC flippers also wish to come back for these bigger spaces after they flip their small ECs. And also current day HDB 5 room and Multi-Gen is no bigger than 115 or 120 sq. metres?

lao3hero

Lol! Don’t make many ppl squeeze balls la. 😆! $900k EC expensive? Now EC is $1.3mil. $1.3mil super super expensive? You see what is 2026 price. 😆

got any 'high see' (高见) on projected EC prices in 2026 anot ah? And issit too late now to enter ECs? Thx in adv bro

momoeagle

And which BTO HDB 5 room and Multi-Gen BTO not highly bidded? EC flippers also wish to come back for these bigger spaces after they flip their small ECs. And also current day HDB 5 room and Multi-Gen is no bigger than 115 or 120 sq. metres?
Got a friend sold Esparina to buy old HDB mansionette.
When younger that time, no kids and he can't afford bigger, it was big enough.

Now with kids, not big enough. Lucky the price he sold at was higher than the purchase price + reno price of the mansionette. Is his retirement home liao.

mikki23

got any 'high see' (高见) on projected EC prices in 2026 anot ah? And issit too late now to enter ECs? Thx in adv bro

really depends on the HDB income ceiling and MSR, and the market conditions of private condos. assuming it doesnt change my wild guess in 2026
5 full sized BR: $2.1m onwards (Tenet was $2.07m)
4 full sized BR: $1.7m onwards
3 full sized BR: $1.3m onwards

You dont have much options now. Only North Gaia and Bukit Batok EC which both are overpriced imo.
BB will be a better option if you get in during launch day as you will be on the same entry price with the rest and it will be a better exit strategy. It's too late for Tenet now.

lao3hero

really depends on the HDB income ceiling and MSR, and the market conditions of private condos. assuming it doesnt change my wild guess in 2026
5 full sized BR: $2.1m onwards (Tenet was $2.07m)
4 full sized BR: $1.7m onwards
3 full sized BR: $1.3m onwards
You dont have much options now. Only North Gaia and Bukit Batok EC which both are overpriced imo.
BB will be a better option if you get in during launch day as you will be on the same entry price with the rest and it will be a better exit strategy. It's too late for Tenet now.

thanks much bro 🙏

elvintay07

dun wanna answer just ignore. no need sarcastic

And I politely asked u for 高見

The answer is quite obvious. Khaw Boon Wah already said buying EC is like give you Lexus at Toyota pricing. He said before. A lot of government tiam tiam. Many ppl also act blur and keep quiet because can huat till siao.

If we want to use data. Then I would say if today you can buy a new condo at the same price as EC, then EC cannot make money. A new 3 bedroom condo at $1300psf? If can find, then EC over priced already. I think in kuku bird don’t lay egg region, new condo will also launch at $1550psf. Even ppl say simi Treasure Trove @ Punggol got this simi M house also sell $1300-1400 after 11 year old lease. If today a new condo launch in Punggol, easily $1600psf starting price.

But in life, difficult to say.

Nofear40

I want to buy EC too
But singles can’t buy
N I have friends who can buy but did not want to as it is inferior to condo

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.