Fed up with working?

isuzui

are you doing what u like right now and paid for it? enough to keep you fed?

I'm not enjoying what i'm doing now but it's just a 3hr-4hr kind of job and it is able to feed me for the day, while i'm enjoying myself for the rest of the day after finishing the job :)

lovemyself123

I'm not enjoying what i'm doing now but it's just a 3hr-4hr kind of job and it is able to feed me for the day, while i'm enjoying myself for the rest of the day after finishing the job :)

wah sounds good.. better than me in job but aspirations lie elsewhere

Milo-Dino

I'm also same age with TS and married... HDB coming next year...
Sian of my work also...

even considering doing a career switch and go sell insurance haha.

frenchbriefs

knn i thought this is a thread telling us how to get rich quick,instead its another goddam thread bitching about working.

winorlose

I was also in the financial sector for a good 7yrs from various banks. In June, called it quits and I'm now helping my dad with his business. Can't really say i'm starting out fresh since he is in this industry for 30years liao but i will want to start out on my own maybe 2-3years later.

However, took a paycut of 60% which is quite a shock and i'm still slowly adjusting to this since there are still fixed payments like insurances, telco bills. Used to earn about 90k /p.a.
First 4months, i felt very mindf*ck on whether to go back to corporate life since my boss was asking whether i want to go back. I missed the good monthly salary of at least 6k which i could easily save 50% of it. Luckily my wife is supportive since it's our family business and will my dad will need someone to take charge of it next time.

So far so good just need some more time to get a hang of it since it's a women related business. Highly competitive with low margins but still able to make do exporting overseas. Timing is very much flexible. Start work at 10-11am, leave at 7-8pm.

I've a friend in the early childhood business operating 4 childcare/tuition centres. It's lucrative but very tiring handling kids + parents. Good cashflow too without building much debts. Good thing is that alot of market leaders (mindchamps etc) are overflowing with students that they can't take in thus these parents who can't get a space will look for alternate centres.

Recently, together with another friend, we invested in an online tutor search portal.. hope this takes off well.

Personally, i find being a boss more tiring then being an employee. There are too many aspects of handling a business which can just go wrong but got problems just solve it lo right? Which business doesn't face obstacles..

NOT NOW THEN WHEN?! :D

sAVaGEmP5

Money cannot buy happiness. So what if someone is really rich? Is he truly happy? Life is too short to keep worrying so much about money. Money is important, but what is more important is your health, your family, friends, loved ones and also care for other people. These are the things which do not cost money, but yet yield the most happiness in life. How you look at your life is also very impt. Always try to be positive.

Even now i earn more than 100k, im not happy. My expenses increase by spending more on restaurants, gadgets, car etc. Unfortunately spending on materialistic things can only provide short term happiness. At the end of the day, you will feel unhappy.

I read a quote before. It does not matter how much you earn, it's how much you save.

Must always have a good attitude and dont give up on your dreams but also be realistic.

i understand u! not sure how many ppl understand, when u earn up to a certain amount, eg 6k a mth, anything more wont increase the happy factor. But ur time required for u at work increases.

U earn money to spend it tio bo. Now with a family n kid, u had wished everyday is a sunday to tk care of ur family. This part, cant feel u, cos i not married.

Ignore the part about money n financial. I hv 2 roads if im in the same situation.

#1 => work just 2-3 yrs more and while doing so, prepare all the things u need to begin the next chapter. Do whatever u wan on ur personal biz or company, study dip or what, read up the rent and all the details. U shld be best at this. Why 2-3 yrs ? Save up for ur biz n rainy days la!

To anticipate a severe pay cut, i suggest all expenses like cars, or luxury stuff to stop, and buy the impt things like eg insurance.

#2 => Switch to a teaching field as a teacher. Basically a change in job, but its abt time u gain per day. Probably not very severe pay cut wo the new stress of biz running. This was based on experience from another friend who made the same move.

Good luck

winorlose

Uptil now, im still being forced to save 50% of net earnings into joint a/c leh. After all the bills, left with maybe 300-400/mth to jiak. Come May 2015 somemore got an extra mouth to feed. hahaha

I'm sure we will pass this phrase la..luckily my wife is considered higher income earner also working in the bank. Technically, she is the bread winner liao. hahaha

It will be easier for you to startup if you can find someone who is already in the industry (childcare). Like a joint venture instead of doing everything alone..because doing it alone is super taxing.. i can guarantee that alot of your time will be devoted to your startup thus leaving less time for family.

lovemyself123

i understand u! not sure how many ppl understand, when u earn up to a certain amount, eg 6k a mth, anything more wont increase the happy factor. But ur time required for u at work increases.

U earn money to spend it tio bo. Now with a family n kid, u had wished everyday is a sunday to tk care of ur family. This part, cant feel u, cos i not married.

Ignore the part about money n financial. I hv 2 roads if im in the same situation.

#1 => work just 2-3 yrs more and while doing so, prepare all the things u need to begin the next chapter. Do whatever u wan on ur personal biz or company, study dip or what, read up the rent and all the details. U shld be best at this. Why 2-3 yrs ? Save up for ur biz n rainy days la!

To anticipate a severe pay cut, i suggest all expenses like cars, or luxury stuff to stop, and buy the impt things like eg insurance.

#2 => Switch to a teaching field as a teacher. Basically a change in job, but its abt time u gain per day. Probably not very severe pay cut wo the new stress of biz running. This was based on experience from another friend who made the same move.

Good luck

i think i will understand. even though just started my pay not say very high but im also not very excited by the prospects of future higher income. give me 100k per annum now i also dunno how to spend and wont be happier spending anyway

yup path #1 is what i am currently looking at now too. make use of free time as much as possible

Parka

I read a quote before. It does not matter how much you earn, it's how much you save.

I happen to disagree with that quote. Saving requires only discipline. Earning requires more than just discipline. You need a dollar first before you can even save that dollar.

Parka

I'm 31 married with a one year old. More than 100k per annum including bonus. Feel like going into something to do with kids cos I feel that there is demand and people are willing to spend on kids. I personally like kids as well.

Nowadays I just feel abit depressed and this affects my motivation to work. But if I switch industry or try something different, most likely pay cut as well.

Whatever business you want to start, it should help solve a problem, a problem that people are willing to pay money for.

100K/year, you can hire your own employee or two to run your business and see how it goes.

I guess people get burnt out because jobs are mostly routine based. You're always doing the same thing. So try something different outside of work for a start. Pick a hobby. Writing is a good place to start, and you can reflect on your thoughts in the future.

Milo-Dino

Uptil now, im still being forced to save 50% of net earnings into joint a/c leh. After all the bills, left with maybe 300-400/mth to jiak. Come May 2015 somemore got an extra mouth to feed. hahaha

I'm sure we will pass this phrase la..luckily my wife is considered higher income earner also working in the bank. Technically, she is the bread winner liao. hahaha

It will be easier for you to startup if you can find someone who is already in the industry (childcare). Like a joint venture instead of doing everything alone..because doing it alone is super taxing.. i can guarantee that alot of your time will be devoted to your startup thus leaving less time for family.
congrats!!!!
lucky i'm not aiming so soon....

my wife quit to do a total career switch so I still need to bring in the constant dough for our HDB

simon_84

I've a friend in the early childhood business operating 4 childcare/tuition centres. It's lucrative but very tiring handling kids + parents. Good cashflow too without building much debts. Good thing is that alot of market leaders (mindchamps etc) are overflowing with students that they can't take in thus these parents who can't get a space will look for alternate centres.

the thing about education in sg is, where got this kind of business with no AR ?
just like our uni, we need to pay for sch fees before starting a new sem, same concept applies for early childhood industry.

Majestic12

Not sure how some of you guys do it with being satisfied with $6k monthly income. Most of the banker peers I see and know gun for at least $200k to $300k+ and beyond per annum. Private Banking desk heads I know of make $500k+ per annum. Top guy gets over a million.

Have always figured that having more capital acts as both an opportunity net and a disaster buffer.

neanea

Not sure how some of you guys do it with being satisfied with $6k monthly income. Most of the banker peers I see and know gun for at least $200k to $300k+ and beyond per annum. Private Banking desk heads I know of make $500k+ per annum. Top guy gets over a million.

Have always figured that having more capital acts as both an opportunity net and a disaster buffer.

What banker earns $200k ?

limster

What banker earns $200k ?

Top 100 Jobs In Singapore (2014) | Salary.sg - Your Salary in Singapore

At the 25th percentile:

• Trade broker (including oil and bunker trader) – $21,667
  • Foreign exchange dealer/ Broker – $19,083
  • Financial/ Investment adviser – $13,005
  • Financial/ Insurance services manager (eg financial institution branch manager) – $12,968

Most important qualification stated in the webpage is :
The MOM wage data exclude bonuses and profit sharing. So if finance industry give big bonuses, salary easily cross that amount.

Bedokian

Side topic, those who are high earners tend to stay in bigger houses, and not-so-high earners stay in apartments (HDB or condo). Thing is, with the busy lifestyle of high earners, it seems that they will tend to spend less time in their big homes than the not-so-high earners, who spend more time at their smaller homes.

winorlose

Let's talk about median la..why you so elitist? :s13:

if everyone 200k-300k p.a, singapore no poor people liao la.

The bank is so huge, profit centre or cost centre? obviously those profit centre are performance based.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.