First-time ICT help needed!

Bonafider

Hi all,
I've been called up to my first ever ICT starting next week, will last for 14 days. As I've never been assigned a unit nor called up for any ICT since ORDing back in '06, may I know what to expect and more importantly what am I required to bring along for in-pro? For eg besides reporting in smart4, sbo etc, am I supposed to bring along all personal items like towels, toothbrushes etc?

I've long outgrown all my uniforms and pt attire so will be heading down to chevrons to purchase new ones, just need an idea of what and how many sets to buy. Really at quite a loss.

I made an enquiry and was told it would be a stay-in ICT, does that include weekends as well? I'm taking part-time evening classes at SIM so not sure if will be given any time off to attend lessons, and my pregnant wife's detailed scan at the gynae falls right smack in the middle of my ICT as well. Can anyone advise if there's any chance of being granted time off?

Thanks in advance for any help rendered!

vasilli07

3 sets of uniform/pt attires should be enough. Then wash it over the weekend. Should be able to book out on Sat.

As for time off, talk to your pc. They should be able to give u time off if there is no important training or outfield ex on that day. But final decision up to them lah.

getsby

Hi all,
I've been called up to my first ever ICT starting next week, will last for 14 days. As I've never been assigned a unit nor called up for any ICT since ORDing back in '06, may I know what to expect and more importantly what am I required to bring along for in-pro? For eg besides reporting in smart4, sbo etc, am I supposed to bring along all personal items like towels, toothbrushes etc?>>>(if stay in, of course must bring tower, toothbursh, shampoo, shower foam, slipper, running PT shoes, PT kit, shaver.., underwear.....etc....maybe pokercard to play game)

I've long outgrown all my uniforms and pt attire so will be heading down to chevrons to purchase new ones, just need an idea of what and how many sets to buy. Really at quite a loss.>>>(please dun be stupid and waste your emart credit to buy uniform, your unit will issue 3x new pixalise no.4 for FREE)

I made an enquiry and was told it would be a stay-in ICT, does that include weekends as well?>>>(normally can book out on friday evening, if your unit is siao on type, the book out on sat night) I'm taking part-time evening classes at SIM so not sure if will be given any time off to attend lessons, and my pregnant wife's detailed scan at the gynae falls right smack in the middle of my ICT as well. Can anyone advise if there's any chance of being granted time off?

Thanks in advance for any help rendered!

Bonafider

Thanks for the reply.. I was "TOLD" by someone to go to emart and get my uniforms myself. I originally assumed they'll be issuing me new uniforms since I haven't gotten any new pixelised ones. This is really confusing now :(

vasilli07

I would suggest getting 1 set 1st since u going to book in smart/long 4. Then if they really never issue, then go emart buy again.

SIM37_

Just bring in whatever you have, then whatever you DON'T HAVE, they will re-issue to you. Don't spend emart money unnecessarily.

In any case, during Day 1-2 (in fact almost every darn day), you can go emart to buy all the **** you need. If you're a unit man (not spec/ocifer), you have KNN a lot of time to do things one.

In normal everyday life, you wake up... you close your eyes to snooze for "5min" you re-wake up again, its 45min later.

In ICT!!!! You snooze "5min", u wake up. KNN only 2mins pass. For some strange reason, time passes VEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEERY Slowly in camp one.

kazuki666

ICT really is fun if we think it a positive sense lah. But if your unit or vocation is sibey shiong de, then no choice lah :p

Basically, go back eat, sleep, play cards, wait, wait wait
14days HK, probably 2-3days in the field, 1 day at range. The rest of the time is do nothing much de.

What usually I do for day1 is book in clean fatigue, no sbo, helmet or fieldpack. Coz we all know cfm no bunk de, and we won't bother till the end of wk1 or start of wk2.
Just rem to cut your hair and color it back black. If your RSM is as strict as mine, then is sianz liaoz. His hair is squaretop that short de lor :S
BUT after in-pro, he is a fun pax liaoz. He will play table soccer with us in the spec mess though we are eating snake there. Talk cock with us during outfield

getsby

I would suggest getting 1 set 1st since u going to book in smart/long 4. Then if they really never issue, then go emart buy again.

if they never issue , i will just wear the old no.4....

if you buibui....cannot wear liao then LLST have to waste $$$ buy new one.

I still maintain my shape

getsby

ICT really is fun if we think it a positive sense lah. But if your unit or vocation is sibey shiong de, then no choice lah :p

Basically, go back eat, sleep, play cards, wait, wait wait
14days HK, probably 2-3days in the field, 1 day at range. The rest of the time is do nothing much de.

QFT...

A typical 2 week ICT, ask mon to next week fri = 12 days or 10 working days less the sat/sun.

10 working days = average 3-4days out field siong nia..
then the rest of the time i the camp is zzzzz all the way...
zhuo bo lan one......

basically, 60-70% = relax zhuo bo lan
30-40% = outfield siong nia
in the whole ICT

derrickgoh

Bring your helmet, SBO & field pack with standard field pack items. If you have extra needs, bring your own civvie bag with your other stuff e.g. shampoo, face wash, pyjamas :s13: or what not).

I would say book in with your current uniform as they will issue you 3 sets of pixelised uniform BUT you said you can't fit. Plus they will have to do the e-sizing this time round and you'll probably have to wait for your next ICT to get your new uniforms.

So I guess no choice but for you to go e-mart and get some pixelised uniforms first to tide you over.

Bonafider

Basically only things I have are the old no4's that I can no longer fit in, sbo, helmet, boots issued back in bmt.. My backpack is semi-disintegrated (the rubbers n plastics material all gooey n sticky after being kept untouched over the years).

So I suppose there is no choice but to head down to chevrons emart and buy new sets of no.4s and pt kits right? Equipments wise just bring all the baring along in my own duffel bag n show them then ask for new ones?

Sorry for these noob questions! For boots the old ones can still be worn right? Just wear one pair, need to bring extra?

vasilli07

Basically only things I have are the old no4's that I can no longer fit in, sbo, helmet, boots issued back in bmt.. My backpack is semi-disintegrated (the rubbers n plastics material all gooey n sticky after being kept untouched over the years).

So I suppose there is no choice but to head down to chevrons emart and buy new sets of no.4s and pt kits right? Equipments wise just bring all the baring along in my own duffel bag n show them then ask for new ones?

Sorry for these noob questions! For boots the old ones can still be worn right? Just wear one pair, need to bring extra?

Yes. Some equipments can be changed, some cannot. SBO I believe you just need to re-adjust/loosen the scraps so that it fits you again. Boots emart buy using credits, same as for your fieldpack.

Kiwi8

If got any part sticky, can try to remove it. If cannot remove, then sprinkle some powder on it lor.

Bonafider

If got any part sticky, can try to remove it. If cannot remove, then sprinkle some powder on it lor.

Lol the whole bag is chui-ed, not sure how to explain.. Like u know rubber bands, after being kept for too long? They get all soft n disintegrate-y?

SpinFire

If my helmet is lost, can I get it from eMart? I heard its $200+ :(

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.