First-time ICT help needed!

getsby

Yeah CSSB. Had a inward chuckle when I first saw the posting. Reminded me of csb :p

heard from all edmwer from whatever xxx CSSB unit in kranji camp III, the ICT is no need to stay in one....expect for outfield that you need to stay outfield.

Bonafider

heard from all edmwer from whatever xxx CSSB unit in kranji camp III, the ICT is no need to stay in one....expect for outfield that you need to stay outfield.

Called hotline to check (dunno why no freaking way for me to contact cssb one) and couple days later someone called me back (presumably from 6div) told me it's stay-in ICT

Devilsire

Lol the whole bag is chui-ed, not sure how to explain.. Like u know rubber bands, after being kept for too long? They get all soft n disintegrate-y?

yea the inner of old fieldpacks tend to disintegrate over time, think its kind of a plastic material coating for waterproofing.

what my batch did was placing those thick translucent white plastic bag from my BQ/CQ into the fieldpack. or if u cant find, just get those black trash bag will suffice.

Bonafider

Anyway, anyone bought uniforms from emarts before? The 'sewing' service for name n rank, is it done on the same day?

Also may I know what constitute 'standard' items to bring inside the field pack? Sorry for the multitude of questions but I was posted to a desk position after my BMT in the past so rather inexperienced with anything outfield.

derrickgoh

Anyway, anyone bought uniforms from emarts before? The 'sewing' service for name n rank, is it done on the same day?

Also may I know what constitute 'standard' items to bring inside the field pack? Sorry for the multitude of questions but I was posted to a desk position after my BMT in the past so rather inexperienced with anything outfield.
Emart doesnt do sewing. In seletar camp its our barber who double up as seamstress. Can pay for express service but also depends how many ppl. If all want express she also cant cope. Emart mount faber say wait one month!!!

So i brought to nee soon camp outside that shop to sew. Not cheap but was on the spot.

derrickgoh

Basically only things I have are the old no4's that I can no longer fit in, sbo, helmet, boots issued back in bmt.. My backpack is semi-disintegrated (the rubbers n plastics material all gooey n sticky after being kept untouched over the years).

So I suppose there is no choice but to head down to chevrons emart and buy new sets of no.4s and pt kits right? Equipments wise just bring all the baring along in my own duffel bag n show them then ask for new ones?

Sorry for these noob questions! For boots the old ones can still be worn right? Just wear one pair, need to bring extra?
Since cant fit into old uniform no choice but buy new one at emart. Suggest u buy 3 sets. They will do e-sizing during ict but u will not get to collect your uniforms during this ict. They will give u the option to deliver to your home (must pay) or u collect from emart mount faber. So no way u will get it in time for this ict. If u get only one set from emart i dunno how u are going to tahan the entire ict with one uniform.

Boots can wear old one but i hope its not falling apart or look like sh*t or sure kena from rsm. I think the only thing which they will let u exchange is helmet & sbo. All other stuff like field pack, boots, etc are sold at emart and they expect u to buy.

Having said that, helmet & sbo damn hard to spoil so if u damaged them, who knows, they may ask u to sign 1206 before issue u replacement. As for field pack items u can find on mindef website but its generic as different units list are slightly different. Our's got no pt shoes but got arc of fire stick. Wierd!

jq75

QFT...

A typical 2 week ICT, ask mon to next week fri = 12 days or 10 working days less the sat/sun.

10 working days = average 3-4days out field siong nia..
then the rest of the time i the camp is zzzzz all the way...
zhuo bo lan one......

basically, 60-70% = relax zhuo bo lan
30-40% = outfield siong nia
in the whole ICT

SAF sticks to 5 day week?

jq75

I got frd from KC3. He tells me his bunk got nice view of big longkang and sg kadut ind pk

jq75

Dump with the sewing of rank. New uniform do not need tt.
Go with a rank less old uniform will do. Go in and then adjust to what's required.

Report sick is a privilege!

Bonafider

Since cant fit into old uniform no choice but buy new one at emart. Suggest u buy 3 sets. They will do e-sizing during ict but u will not get to collect your uniforms during this ict. They will give u the option to deliver to your home (must pay) or u collect from emart mount faber. So no way u will get it in time for this ict. If u get only one set from emart i dunno how u are going to tahan the entire ict with one uniform.

Ah I see.. So I have to buy 3 sets No.4's (booking-in wearing 1 set?), get e-sizing done sometime during ICT, have additional 'free' 3 sets issued to me in the future, and have a total of 6 sets? =x Man, this is what I wanted to avoid, been hounding my unit forever to address this issue, it's 2 days to start of my ICT and still waiting for a response!

Boots can wear old one but i hope its not falling apart or look like sh*t or sure kena from rsm. I think the only thing which they will let u exchange is helmet & sbo. All other stuff like field pack, boots, etc are sold at emart and they expect u to buy.

Having said that, helmet & sbo damn hard to spoil so if u damaged them, who knows, they may ask u to sign 1206 before issue u replacement. As for field pack items u can find on mindef website but its generic as different units list are slightly different. Our's got no pt shoes but got arc of fire stick. Wierd!

I've got boots still in working order, helmet and sbo back from BMT days in '05 too, just don't have my field pack since it self-destructed over the years in my storeroom lol...

Guess from what I gathered from responses here it's inevitable I have to buy all 3 sets of no.4s just for this ICT =( what a good waste of credits!

On a sidenote, PT shoes can be our own running shoes right? No need to be standard 'SAF' running shoes from emart? Cos mine is Asics and full-black color, not sure if there are 'rules' pertaining to designs of PT shoes...

jq75

TS, day 1 go back w basic personal item. SAF item wait till after settle down day 1. Day 1 is admin and briefing stuff.

U can then decide on uniform and other eqipment after u go in on day 1

vasilli07

On a sidenote, PT shoes can be our own running shoes right? No need to be standard 'SAF' running shoes from emart? Cos mine is Asics and full-black color, not sure if there are 'rules' pertaining to designs of PT shoes...

yes...but saf may not be responsible for any injuries that u suffer if you are wearing your own shoes.

getsby

SAF sticks to 5 day week?

So far as for my case is 5days weeks for all my 8 ICT, 2 more to go...

Well some of my friend unit is 6 days weeks, they book out on saturday evening or sat 10pm+.....

Kiwi8

Can just buy 2 sets No 4 lor. I think that's a good balance between uniform rotation and economics (of course best is dun buy, but u can't). After the resizing u will get 3 more, so total 5 sets (slightly overkill).

Buy 1 set also can, provided u have the diligence to wash and quick dry the uniform everyday. :o

jq75

So far as for my case is 5days weeks for all my 8 ICT, 2 more to go...

Well some of my friend unit is 6 days weeks, they book out on saturday evening or sat 10pm+.....

wah lans, sat 10pm++??

jq75

TS, u must go in and look like lao jiao, and not bring everything in and out for first few days, very siong for those with no own transport

derrickgoh

Bonafider:

My unit was fine with any PT shoes. Can't speak on behalf of your unit.

As for uniform its up to you. I'm speaking from experience as during my 2011 ICT, those who did not do e-sizing yet were told to do so and told that in 1 to 2 month's time emart will contact them to say collect from Safra unless they had chosen the home delivery option.

There is no way they can size you and give you the new uniforms in the same ICT. Those who can fit into their old uniforms is fine. No hurry. Problem now is you can't fit. So if you don't buy the new uniform as some have suggested, what are you going to wear?

As for how many sets to buy its up to you. If I was in your shoes I'd buy 3. If you are comfortable with 2 that's up to you. But 1 set is definitely nuts 'cos what you are going to wear when you wash it? Unless you are fine with wearing 1 uniform for the whole week.

If you need to buy any emart items like field pack, field pack items, etc I suggest you go to emart at SAFRA Mount Faber before your ICT. That's the largest emart and they open everyday. Not as crowded too.

Some people suggested waiting till you go for ICT and then buy from your camp's emart.
Call me "siao on" if you like but again I'm speaking from experience. 3/4 of your battalion will have the same idea of going emart during ICT and you will have MASSIVE queues at the emart.

Some ppl are slow shoppers. Some don't even know what they want. Some are pain in the arses. It is not fun having to queue up. And that is assuming you have time to queue. I've seen people having to leave after queuing up for half an hour as they were told to fall in.

Which is why I always avoid buying from my camp's emart during ICT unless absolutely necessary e.g. I need something urgently. If its not urgent, I would rather go to SAFRA emart. Much shorter queues and don't have to worry about being told to fall in while you are queuing up. And because that emart is so huge, they have tons of stuff so chances of you being unable to find something is less.

Again I say, its your call. Since you have time now, why not prepare whatever you can rather than in-process and then last minute kan cheong spider because everything not ready and then have to fight with the other kan cheong spiders at your camp's emart?

Suleyman

derrickgoh is pretty much spot on.

I'll also suggest 2 sets. With the 3 sets they will issue you, you should have 5 sets that will last you the rest of your cycles (unless they don't fit again lah... lol). 6 sets is a bit overkill.

Try to get your stuff before going for ICT. While it is true you have a lot of time to go to your camp emart to shop, 99.9% of your unit mates will have the same idea. First day emart is always super packed. Second day emart is empty, no people & no stock of everything also.

If your backpack is cui, buy the new one. Not very ex and you will need it anyway when you have mob later on.

No helmet, then just get ready to sign 1206. Cannot buy from emart. Think it's about 200+. If you have friends who MR, get from them, and bring back to camp, and tell your PC that helmet cannot fit, need exchange.

Finally, it's possible to get your uniform during the same ICT. My last ICT (dec 11) was LK, 5 days. Monday am e-sizing, friday am issue new uniforms. Friday pm all change into new uniform and go for CO COC parade. :s13::s13:

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.