Flu outbreak in Japan

Feeling down, anxious and need help? Mental Health Helpline: 6389-2222 (24 hours) More info

s3nt1n3l

initially wanted to go to Japan with family on June this year

but I think I'll skip it for now as my kid only 1yr+. Anything happen jialat liao

GundamG

japan got flu and radiation water. still got people go, sibei song.

One Month Notice

U work at Namba?

My current projects at kyoto so traveling between kyoto and osaka frequently . So go Namba frequently .

Edit. Mask up and use hand sanitizer.

Whether sick or not . It's quite normal here in japan especially here super crowded with tourists and all..

NintendoSwitch

edmwer damn funny..

50 people die from flu each month in Singapore. nobody gives a sheet.

just because a celebrity died of flu, everyones start jumping on their feet.

btw.. flu has been deadly for decades.. and most of the runny nose, sore throat, cough you get are caused by cold virus and not flu. flu in strictly influenza virus.
Celebrity worship still alive in the East, unlike in the West where it mostly died down.

N4E.SI

japan got flu and radiation water. still got people go, sibei song.

I will still choose Japan anytime over SG for holidays

Perfect cooling weather, great service, fresh seafood at reasonable price, lots of activities, nice scenery

SG is hot as hell, over crowded and damm smol

wwenze

My current projects at kyoto so traveling between kyoto and osaka frequently . So go Namba frequently .

Whether sick or not . It's quite normal here in japan especially here super crowded with tourists and all..
Swee lah

What do you think about 551 Horai

twosix

I dun see a lot of japanese masking up nowadays from yt walking videos leh...

One Month Notice

I dun see a lot of japanese masking up nowadays from yt walking videos leh...

got 126m japanese not including tourists.. what you see might not be representative.. anyway flu season just play safe. mask up keep hygiene. stay healthy.

Brionic

Increasing flu cases in Japan putting hospitals under strain​

Japan's medical institutions dealing with emergency patients are struggling with the spread of influenza as their beds are often filled to capacity.

A hospital in Yokohama City near Tokyo says the number of patients brought by ambulance with complaints of high fever or other symptoms increased from mid-December.

The Saiseikai Yokohamashi Tobu Hospital is now accepting 1.5 times more emergency patients than usual. In some cases, elderly people and those with chronic diseases are being hospitalized long-term there.

The hospital says its capacity of about 550 beds is currently under strain. The hospital also struggles with securing medical staff as the infection spreads to doctors and nurses, making them unable to work.

Last Friday, NHK crewmembers observed that the hospital was unable to accept any more emergency patients except for those in need of urgent surgery. Acceptance of emergency patients has resumed there, but the situation is still critical.

On the same day, over 40 percent of medical institutions accepting emergency patients in Yokohama City were full.

The head of the Saiseikai hospital's emergency medical center, Shimizu Masayuki, points out that hospitals also need to accept patients besides flu cases, and stressed the need for a fundamental countermeasure.

He says he feels the need to work with officials of administrative authorities and local medical institutions to tackle the problem.

https://www3.nhk.or.jp/nhkworld/en/news/20250120_21/

https://www.nippon.com/en/japan-data/h02284/

https://www.dimsumdaily.hk/panic-grips-japan-as-deadly-flu-outbreak-rages-a-warning-for-travellers/

noticed lots of sinkies coughing as well

lalalalalala

noticed lots of sinkies coughing as well
Sinkies forever sick one. 6m ppl on the island, every morning mrt like some disease outbreak, everyone coughing sniffing, then u can hear the sinus moving when they do it. Then u see some wipe nose and hold bar.

And yes, no one wears mask. Whole year round is flu season in sg

treeskull

In December 2024 Japan have recorded 300k cases in 1 week, highest since 1999. Around 9.5million cases from Sept 2 2024 to jan 24 2025.

those going there good luck

twosix

got 126m japanese not including tourists.. what you see might not be representative.. anyway flu season just play safe. mask up keep hygiene. stay healthy.
I agree with u to mask up during this flu period.

but i believe what i saw in namba, tokyo, are quite representative. i was in taipei recently. i can say at least 40% of them mask up. kudos to them. i also came back from korea last dec. some wear only. but i do wear mask when i'm there. i also wear mask when using singapore public transport. i always have a mask with me when i'm out as there r many inconsiderate people around.

Bumperbee88

I agree with u to mask up during this flu period.

but i believe what i saw in namba, tokyo, are quite representative. i was in taipei recently. i can say at least 40% of them mask up. kudos to them. i also came back from korea last dec. some wear only. but i do wear mask when i'm there. i also wear mask when using singapore public transport. i always have a mask with me when i'm out as there r many inconsiderate people around.

We need more people like you. The world will be a better place.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.