Flying to Hangzhou!

Spike

Ya lor.....gotta face the reality. After months of the sticky skin, hot and humid weather later.................will look forward to the next holiday destination with a much milder weather LOL

However, don't ever go to Beijing during winter. I have never been to the Arctic or colder countries. But winter in Beijing is really a torture. Super duper cold for me. To me, it's even colder than winter in England or France. Never been to Norway or Iceland during winter so can't comment.
I went there in January.. lowest was -17..

Okie la.. but I didn't get to experience falling snow. :(

Spike

It's definitely a good price if I can afford it each time I go overseas LOL. As mentioned previously, I can only take biz class due to my back. Sian....but regardless of those who complain about SQ......I will still choose our national carrier whenever I can (afford).
Only business class! :oops:

I usually redeem miles or whenever there is a promo. :(

Firestorm1978

Only business class! :oops:

I usually redeem miles or whenever there is a promo. :(
Me too.....accumulated lots of Krisflyer miles before redeeming. Sadly, the last I heard is that in future, if you choose the 'saver' option to redeem miles, can only select limited seat choices under SQ. What the FISH?!

Firestorm1978

I went there in January.. lowest was -17..

Okie la.. but I didn't get to experience falling snow. :(
Actually snow is quite dirty one leh.........best to avoid.....esp if the country's environment you visit is not that 'green'. Of course, if you have never seen or touched snow before....then it's different la.

Full_Cream_Milk

I know right?! Their 10 deg cel (during winter) is not really 10 imo. It's really like minus 5 with the cold, bitter wind blasting your skin. Other cities in China during winter (except for the northern ones I guess) are not as harsh. Very erratic weather.......one day 10+ deg....the next day drop to minus 5 or 10.

I even went to the Great Wall during winter. I really nearly died of frostbite I think. Think it was minus 10.....but the super cold wind blasting you at such high altitude.....it's like standing naked on ice even though I had thick winter wear. Never trying it again.
@N4E.SI

Cold weather keng gai!

Spike

Me too.....accumulated lots of Krisflyer miles before redeeming. Sadly, the last I heard is that in future, if you chooses the 'saver' option to redeem miles, can only select limited seat choices under SQ. What the FISH?!
Okie la.. frankly, I don't travel very far. So I'm not terribly bothered whether I can select seats or not etc.

I try to go at least 2 new places every year since 2 years ago!

Don't want to keep going back to the same places..

Firestorm1978

Few layers okie la! I was forced to buy winter wear at Uniqlo as a result cos I wasn't prepared. 😆
LOL.....didn't prepare winter wear during winter in Beijing? You must be a hero!

At least their winter wear is of good quality and much cheaper than most in Singapore la. Keep it for future use.

Spike

Actually snow is quite dirty one leh.........best to avoid.....esp if the country's environment you visit is not that 'green'. Of course, if you have never seen or touched snow before....then it's different la.
I had never experienced falling snow! 😭

Ya..I know. Just want the experience.

Firestorm1978

Okie la.. frankly, I don't travel very far. So I'm not terribly bothered whether I can select seats or not etc.

I try to go at least 2 new places every year since 2 years ago!

Don't want to keep going back to the same places..
So what is your next target?

Firestorm1978

I had never experienced falling snow! 😭

Ya..I know. Just want the experience.
In that case, must experience at least once. Snow in Beijing usually mid Feb or early Mar onwards. If you go Tokyo in early Mar, sure can see falling snow when you go higher up Mt Fuji road.

Full_Cream_Milk

In that case, must experience at least once. Snow in Beijing usually mid Feb or early Mar onwards. If you go Tokyo in early Mar, sure can see falling snow when you go higher up Mt Fuji road.
I always experience in Paris.

First few times I still took video of myself sashaying down the place de Trocadéro that points straight at the Eiffel Tower

Carrying umbrella like Mary Poppins.

Then after that sian liao feel like lunatic never do anymore

Spike

So what is your next target?
Originally I thought of going Russia via Trans Siberian railway but it's quite challenging since there is no direct flight into Russia.

While Mongolia is better experienced driving.. I'm unsure if I can drive alone..

Firestorm1978

Originally I thought of going Russia via Trans Siberian railway but it's quite challenging since there is no direct flight into Russia.

While Mongolia is better experienced driving.. I'm unsure if I can drive alone..
Mongolia has a vast land and I believe there are roads that are really devoid of cars (watched from YT). However, one possible issue is the need to find petrol (if you self-drive) stations. It could take hours just to find one if you are out of the main city. Road conditions also unknown. I think if really want to go Mongolia, it's better to go through travel agency.

Firestorm1978

I always experience in Paris.

First few times I still took video of myself sashaying down the place de Trocadéro that points straight at the Eiffel Tower

Carrying umbrella like Mary Poppins.

Then after that sian liao feel like lunatic never do anymore
Don't need to feel paiseh or like you are a 'lunatic' la. Who cares? Just do what you like and want and it will be part of your memories there. The Parisians won't really kaypoh or stare at you (unless they are tourists). It's quite common to take poses or something like what you did there.

Spike

Mongolia has a vast land and I believe there are roads that are really devoid of cars (watched from YT). However, one possible issue is the need to find petrol (if you self-drive) stations. It could take hours just to find one if you are out of the main city. Road conditions also unknown. I think if really want to go Mongolia, it's better to go through travel agency.
I have thought about that too.

Fortunately, my younger sister is going to Mongolia with her friends later this year. Can hear from her experiences first. 😂

Full_Cream_Milk

Don't need to feel paiseh or like you are a 'lunatic' la. Who cares? Just do what you like and want and it will be part of your memories there. The Parisians won't really kaypoh or stare at you (unless they are tourists). It's quite common to take poses or something like what you did there.
Sigh

The thing about holiday in winter is that just when you feel all natural bundled up in coat sweater scarf etc

Going from place to place feeling exactly like a local believing you were born there

Thinking all those thick clothes and cold weather was born along with you…

It’s time to go :frown:

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.