Flying to Hangzhou!

carey

Side topic question:

If really curious about NZ and don’t want to self drive or follow tour group,

Which is the best city to start for a beginner?

Or there is really no point go NZ without self drive to those scenic spots?
The first time I went to NZ, I booked a 15-day tour with Dynasty Travels which covered both South and North islands

Then it was self drive in South cos I already know which spots I wanted to visit and spend more time there

Firestorm1978

Yes, I am a meat lover and when I was in NZ, it was steak and BBQ most of the time

I can go without Chinese or local food for quite a long time, so not a big issue for me hahah

The North is just so grimy and Auckland is full of drunks when I was last there - maybe it has improved (not holding my breath)

The South is more pristine and full of beautiful sights - we had one of the best horse rides there in a sheep farm that came complete with flowing stream, rugged hills etc (almost made me want to be a sheep farmer in NZ) hahah

We also stayed on the shores of Lake Te Anau - it's so big that it was also like being at the seaside

There was also a glow worm cave there but we were badly bitten by sand flies :confused:

Walking and hiking on the glacier was also an unique experience
Yes, as mentioned, their meat is really next level. The farmers take pride in the quality of their livestock. I remember staying at a host's large house (she was from China and migrated there) with a garden. Bought so much meat from the supermarket and had a lovely BBQ session during the night. That's where I saw the southern lights......the host's house was like really in the middle of nowhere with little to no light pollution. It was truly incredible.

The south island experience was truly memorable. Didn't go to the glow worm cave but seeing what you have shared, I am thankful I didn't manage to go! LOL

DId you get to see the southern lights during your trip?

Makes me wanna visit NZ again......but still have so many countries to visit on my wishlist LOL

Firestorm1978

The first time I went to NZ, I booked a 15-day tour with Dynasty Travels which covered both South and North islands

Then it was self drive in South cos I already know which spots I wanted to visit and spend more time there
Dynasty Travels is not bad. I travelled with them decades ago. Much better than many other reputable travel agencies, imo.

I managed to skip a travel agency during my first trip to NZ as I did quite a bit of research on the different places as well as the routes to take. It was self-drive during my 1st trip there and travelled more than close to 2000km during my near 1-month trip there. So easy to drive and the rates is quite competitive too.

Firestorm1978

Yes, but even some of the lie flat beds can still be quite uncomfortable

Recently took ANA to Tokyo and back - couldn't sleep on their flat beds so my red-eye flight left me with red eyes :spin:
Did you try their latest ANA biz seats? To me, it is one of the widest and comfortable seats (other than the older SQ wide biz seats on the A350).

Full_Cream_Milk

Did you try their latest ANA biz seats? To me, it is one of the widest and comfortable seats (other than the older SQ wide biz seats on the A350).

J class I only go for SQ.

In fact Y class I also take SQ only.

I only go cities where SQ fly then take connecting train to the actual destination

Firestorm1978

J class I only go for SQ.

In fact Y class I also take SQ only.

I only go cities where SQ fly then take connecting train to the actual destination
SQ's flight time and connections to the different countries is really one of the best (esp regional countries). Their landing is also one of the smoothest (imo). Sadly, it is also one of the most exp.

Full_Cream_Milk

Cos it reminds me of my China trip a few months ago. I can totally empathise how he is feeling right now. First thing that hits you is really the hot and humid air awaiting you once you step out from the plane zzzzzzzzzzzzzz
Actually too cold and dry I also don’t like.

My skin will get rashes from the abrasion of garment.

Then before leaving hotel need to gor moisturiser. Come back need to wash properly.

Go out need to bundle up like bak zhang. Come back take off don’t feel like bathing cos winter neber sweat don’t feel “dirty”.

Full_Cream_Milk

SQ's flight time and connections to the different countries is really one of the best (esp regional countries). Their landing is also one of the smoothest (imo). Sadly, it is also one of the most exp.
It’s a good price to pay.

You forgot to mention their exceptional safety record.

Firestorm1978

I accept my country's heat until my next holiday! 😆
Ya lor.....gotta face the reality. After months of the sticky skin, hot and humid weather later.................will look forward to the next holiday destination with a much milder weather LOL

However, don't ever go to Beijing during winter. I have never been to the Arctic or colder countries. But winter in Beijing is really a torture. Super duper cold for me. To me, it's even colder than winter in England or France. Never been to Norway or Iceland during winter so can't comment.

Firestorm1978

Actually too cold and dry I also don’t like.

My skin will get rashes from the abrasion of garment.

Then before leaving hotel need to gor moisturiser. Come back need to wash properly.

Go out need to bundle up loke bak zhang. Come back take off don’t feel like bathing cos winter neber sweat don’t feel “dirty”.
That was what happened during my winter trip to Beijing. It was pure torture. Skin cracked, lips cracked....shivering after a hot bath at night in my hotel room.........winter in Tokyo/England e.t.c. is not as horrible as the one in Beijing. I think it was minus 12 or 13.. I know there are colder countries but I think anything below minus five is pure torture.

Full_Cream_Milk

However, don't ever go to Beijing during winter. I have never been to the Arctic or colder countries. But winter in Beijing is really a torture. Super duper cold for me.
I made that mistake once.

And it wasn’t even winter. Just late October!

First two days afternoon 24c still feeling uncomfortable while queuing at forbidden palace

Then third day onwards wah jitao 10c plus wind chill

The thermometer drop like no need money

The clothes I brought not enough to tahan

Firestorm1978

It’s a good price to pay.

You forgot to mention their exceptional safety record.
It's definitely a good price if I can afford it each time I go overseas LOL. As mentioned previously, I can only take biz class due to my back. Sian....but regardless of those who complain about SQ......I will still choose our national carrier whenever I can (afford).

Firestorm1978

I made that mistake once.

And it wasn’t even winter. Just late October!

First two days afternoon 24c still feeling uncomfortable while queuing at forbidden palace

Then third day onwards wah jitao 10c plus wind chill

The thermometer drop like no need money

The clothes I brought not enough to tahan
I know right?! Their 10 deg cel (during winter) is not really 10 imo. It's really like minus 5 with the cold, bitter wind blasting your skin. Other cities in China during winter (except for the northern ones I guess) are not as harsh. Very erratic weather.......one day 10+ deg....the next day drop to minus 5 or 10.

I even went to the Great Wall during winter. I really nearly died of frostbite I think. Think it was minus 10.....but the super cold wind blasting you at such high altitude.....it's like standing naked on ice even though I had thick winter wear. Never trying it again.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.