FNB owner asking for help from govt to help subsidise rental..

English Teacher

Many years ago, the British government here enacted the Rent Control Act to prevent rents from escalating. Our present government can enact a similar Act to prevent current rents from escalating. However, this would make them unpopular with the capitalists.

you must be new in Singapore

We never set any price ceiling for anything. Its a free market here in Singapore.
Don't make us to be like Malaysia

Money no have

Cannot survive please just shut it down, now. No need to wait/ hope for miracle just close it

RichardXyn

you must be new in Singapore

We never set any price ceiling for anything. Its a free market here in Singapore.
Don't make us to be like Malaysia
To be exact, it is called the "Control of Rent Act". It was enacted in 1953. I am aware as my family rented a coffee shop then and the Landlord were for this legislation not able to raise rent. Check before saying anything.

HushiePuppies

Lol... Even commies dun dare to meddle with the market and is still now being forced to open up to the world.
U wanna revolutionize our free market into commie style?
15% profit limits the amount of greed/profiteering that companies / company owners can aim for. It does not affect supply and demand.

8zaoyu

I got no sympathy for the FNB . Period .
Depends, whether they are part of hotels serving to hotel tourists/conventions OR foodcourts /coffeshops serving officeworkers/ heartlanders / elderly retirees - Own self judge your market then open/close shops

English Teacher

To be exact, it is called the "Control of Rent Act". It was enacted in 1953. I am aware as my family rented a coffee shop then and the Landlord were for this legislation not able to raise rent. Check before saying anything.

are we still under British rule now?
You might well say the benefits are better under Japanese rule

people talk about modern PAP times, you talk until British rule.

might as well say last time Jurassic time no rental cost. Life is good compared to now

Big Chicken

GE is over, suck thumb and wait 5 years.

Also, MIW has been telling sinkies to eat insects so we should all just go to the nearest bush for our meals.

RichardXyn

are we still under British rule now?
You might well say the benefits are better under Japanese rule

people talk about modern PAP times, you talk until British rule.

might as well say last time Jurassic time no rental cost. Life is good compared to now
Please read my post carefully. I was using it as a reference to propose that legislation can be made along that line. There is no need to be rude when your ignorance is uncovered.

English Teacher

Please read my post carefully. I was using it as a reference to propose that legislation can be made along that line. There is no need to be rude when your ignorance is uncovered.

like i said, PAP is all about free trade.
And like i said, we are talking here about modern Singapore and you bring up an example of British ruling to show we did it before.
your ignorance is the bigger one here.

your idea is stupid. End up we become like Malaysia. Just because you can, dont mean you should.

chaiscool

Actually, there are wage subsidies for certain groups of employees liao....
You mean for old or special need ppl ah? Imo still ok lah cuz alternative to that will be gov need to give them money so splitting with biz is a good solution.

RichardXyn

like i said, PAP is all about free trade.
And like i said, we are talking here about modern Singapore and you bring up an example of British ruling to show we did it before.
your ignorance is the bigger one here.

your idea is stupid. End up we become like Malaysia. Just because you can, dont mean you should.
This is a free forum. Members are free to post their views and suggestion. I referred to the Control of Rent Act and you replied that there is no such thing. This is evidence of your ignorance. Now you babble about modern time and pre-historic time to hide your patent ignorance. You should go back to primary school to be a student. Certainly not fit to be a teacher.

fortunehunter

During COVID they have free rental, salary paid by government.
Do they help to reduce their price during that time?

People still think this FNB have low rental will sell you to you? Wait long long.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.