Foreigner can buy car in Malaysia and park there for local use?

Kum Jit Pow

I been to the mall frequently but nv see it.. near the pond mean near those outdoor play there.. was there but notices... nvm n2xt time I am.there I go recee see see

there are 2 go-kart tracks there... 1 is indoor and another kind of indoor. tia gong they are going to build the track near the big pond. I think there is a restaurant next to the pond, and they have ATV trail and ATV and kayaks for rental also.

lycanboy

Actually I don't know how some people are brave enough to drive their nice and shiny SG car into JB/MY and park everywhere.

I reach there, park at the house and my SG car doesn't move till I leave for SG. I will change to my MY car.
Because you had an option?

Or it could be because they are rich and can always buy another car if anything happens?

:o

madcampus

Foreigner can buy car in Malaysia and park there for local use?
Buying a car in other countries is like buying a fridge or washing machine. It's that simple. Only Singapore is like a A maths question.

drkcynic

Recently drove my MY car kenna stopped by polis in the middle of the road at 1+am.

We jitao balls shrink. Stopped and wind down window, asked me go where in Malay. I responded as best as I can in my limited Malay. Then they ask for driver license.

Weirdly, see SG license, they become friendly. Start to talk in their limited english, friend friend with me. Asked me to get out of car and open boot. ** i thought GG again. Opened liao ask me if I contractor when they see safety helmet I just say ya.

In the end, smile smile let me go. Heng but sibei stressed.

lasnoblur

Foreigners can get Malaysia cars, but can't drive to SG.

If u frequent Malaysia, it is a good idea. Next you have to find parking lot for your car, which is either u purchase property or you buy a parking lot in a condo or mall.

kkboy1

Foreigners can get Malaysia cars, but can't drive to SG.

If u frequent Malaysia, it is a good idea. Next you have to find parking lot for your car, which is either u purchase property or you buy a parking lot in a condo or mall.
How about renting a 1bed rm condo with carpark, should be safe to park in condo.

ProLogic

Foreigners can own and drive cars in Malaysia. Maintenance and parking may have some issues if you only go there once in a blue moon... The battery will likely not work unless you don't mind the trouble of disconnecting it before leaving Malaysia... Parking wise, while there are smaller neighborhood that you can park for free but people will discover your "abandoned" car sooner and things start to go missing, maybe starting from the wheels... Parked inside a house also means you have to own one. So how? Spend RM1M or RM0.5M to buy a house in JB just to drive a RM80K second hand car?

I still have not figure out this hack yet.
TKL also taking public transport in Malaysia??? Maybe there isn't a solution since he has a place to park and afford most cars and chosen not to own one?
Tiagong chiu can rent a parking lot at RnF Mall at Princess Cove for RM450 a month. :o

po1BDtc.gif

coyote

Tiagong chiu can rent a parking lot at RnF Mall at Princess Cove for RM450 a month. :o

po1BDtc.gif

That is Singapore dollars $136 a month, more expensive than season parking in HDB carparks. 🤣 RNF mall is safe for long term parking? I don't know.

ProLogic

That is Singapore dollars $136 a month, more expensive than season parking in HDB carparks. 🤣 RNF mall is safe for long term parking? I don't know.
Tiagong that ish still a cheaper option than buying a condo just to park chiur car, tio boh?:o

giphy.gif

bobo07

already got car dealers there offer car with msian driver to chaffer chiu around sinkland everyday like your personal limosine ..... so basically car is yours and you hire a msian driver to bring you ard in your own car......

ProLogic

That's true.👍
Tiagong gotch even cheaper parking but depends on chiur risk tolerance. Roadside street parking at MBJB lots ish RM100 per month. Other parts of JB away from city centre can even park along the streets for free because those parking lots don't need to pay.:o

po1BDtc.gif

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.