Forett

koster

So has anyone went for preview and able to share more on his views pls? Really checking out Forett for own stay but I am apprehensive after hearing multiple views.

Agent sure say buy one.

Can some honest bros here pls give me brutal, honest feedback pls?

P/S pls don't roast me - I have read most of the posts in this thread liao... :)

Honest comment. Daintree is more liveable and atas than Forett. Forett selling point is the FH.

Camelkick

Honest comment. Daintree is more liveable and atas than Forett. Forett selling point is the FH.

Thanks bro I really need brutal, honest feedback. Even if homestay, I need to get value for the dollars. Pricing I think a bit steep.

koster

Thanks bro I really need brutal, honest feedback. Even if homestay, I need to get value for the dollars. Pricing I think a bit steep.

Yes bro. I have shortlisted these 2 developments but cannot get myself to commit due to the steep prices. Unfortunately it seems that there is no sign of softening of the prices in near future.

nydeidith

So has anyone went for preview and able to share more on his views pls? Really checking out Forett for own stay but I am apprehensive after hearing multiple views.

Agent sure say buy one.

Can some honest bros here pls give me brutal, honest feedback pls?

P/S pls don't roast me - I have read most of the posts in this thread liao... :)

never go to showroom...but i think Setia is a better developer than Qingjian...china developer interior will cui after a while...unless they have changed...

and FH status has no advantage whatsoever if you not staying there forvere...like more than 15 yrs

Camelkick

never go to showroom...but i think Setia is a better developer than Qingjian...china developer interior will cui after a while...unless they have changed...

and FH status has no advantage whatsoever if you not staying there forvere...like more than 15 yrs

That's the problem. I want to stay there forever cos I am tired of moving, reno, research, paying stamp duty, etc. Is really tiring. But I do hear you, developer does have a role to play even if I'm staying there perpetually - the quality of finishes etc. Thanks a lot!

Camelkick

Yes bro. I have shortlisted these 2 developments but cannot get myself to commit due to the steep prices. Unfortunately it seems that there is no sign of softening of the prices in near future.

Yah man! So not softening is one thing, getting value is another thing, and making sure it does not end up like KAP Residences as shared by other friendly people here is yet another thing!

Hyruga

Buy KAP better. Once the legal issues settle, the price will rocket up.

koster

Yah man! So not softening is one thing, getting value is another thing, and making sure it does not end up like KAP Residences as shared by other friendly people here is yet another thing!

My 2 cents. Unlikely that it will end up like KAP because both Daintree and Forett are not much of a mixed development.

Ps : There are 2 shophouses at Forett though. Was told by the agent that public can access to it cos it is situated near the main road?

halfclaw

Just on face value, $2k psf for D21 can hardly be called value for money.

However you might want to make a list of pros and cons and see if: (1) your list of pros outweigh your cons; and/or (2) if your cons can be mitigated.

List of cons as provided by others + an overlay of my own views as an ex Goodluck Gardener:
- MRT is walkable but not walkable
- Potentially limited capital appreciation (but who knows for sure? Goodluck Garden was going for $1k psf literally <3 years ago..now people are queuing up to pay $2k psf!+1 to capitalism)
- Low rental yield (this I believe)
- Oversupply in the area (I think so)
- Cramped blocks (We know so)
- Not really bukit timah but having bukit timah in its name (that's more personal as to whether or not it is acceptable to you. In my many years of living there I always told my friends I kinda stay in Bukit Timah, but more like in the slums cos you know, paiseh)

Then you look at potential pros:
- FH status (Does it really matter to you?)
- Good feeling from staying in a newbuild condo (That will wear out quickly + you can find cheaper options elsewhere)
- Food (Near Cheong Chin Nam and Bt Timah Food Centre. It is convenient but the food isn't great. Also where in Singapore are you not relatively close to food?)
- Distance to MRT (I think can be considered a pro as before downtown line was built, the closest MRT to Goodluck Garden was Clementi, with only 1 feeder bus there! Now you have an MRT only 3 bus stops away / ~15 minutes walk to one of the newer MRT lines in Singapore, which can take you to all the condos along Bukit Timah that you cannot afford)
- Greenery (it is quite nice to take a walk in Bt Timah Nature Reserve / Bt Batok Nature Park. But it is also near enough / far enough for the walk there to be considered exercise in itself)
- Proximity to Pei Hwa and BTPS (Only relevant if you have kids studying there. Pls don't buy a place near Pei Hwa just to get priority admission as the odds are really stacked against you even if you live nearby)
- Shopping: "Bukit Timah Shopping Centre, Beauty World Centre, Beauty World Plaza and Bukit Timah Plaza. Your shopping needs will definitely be fulfilled with plenty of shops and megastores such as Giant Supermarket" (not my words...copied this from one of the Forett websites. Yes, I am sure this list of world class retail options will increase the value of your home. Also please do not be fooled, the Giant in Beauty World is very not giant. NTUC finest in BTP is quite good tho)
- Others??? Maybe you grew up in the area and wanna live there for sentimental reasons?

Camelkick

Just on face value, $2k psf for D21 can hardly be called value for money.

However you might want to make a list of pros and cons and see if: (1) your list of pros outweigh your cons; and/or (2) if your cons can be mitigated.

List of cons as provided by others + an overlay of my own views as an ex Goodluck Gardener:
- MRT is walkable but not walkable
- Potentially limited capital appreciation (but who knows for sure? Goodluck Garden was going for $1k psf literally <3 years ago..now people are queuing up to pay $2k psf!+1 to capitalism)
- Low rental yield (this I believe)
- Oversupply in the area (I think so)
- Cramped blocks (We know so)
- Not really bukit timah but having bukit timah its name (that's more personal as to whether or not it is acceptable to you. In my many years of living there I always told my friends I kinda stay in Bukit Timah, but more like in the slums cos you know, paiseh)

Then you look at potential pros:
- FH status (Does it really matter to you?)
- Good feeling from staying in a newbuild condo (That will wear out quickly + you can find cheaper options elsewhere)
- Food (Near Cheong Chin Nam and Bt Timah Food Centre. It is convenient but the food isn't great. Also where in Singapore are you not relatively close to food?)
- Distance to MRT (I think can be considered a pro as before downtown line was built, the closest MRT to Goodluck Garden was Clementi, with only 1 feeder bus there! Now you have an MRT only 3 bus stops away / ~15 minutes walk to one of the newer MRT lines in Singapore, which can take you to all the condos along Bukit Timah that you cannot afford)
- Greenery (it is quite nice to take a walk in Bt Timah Nature Reserve / Bt Batok Nature Park. But it is also near enough / far enough for the walk there to be considered exercise in itself)
- Proximity to Pei Hwa and BTPS (Only relevant if you have kids studying there. Pls don't buy a place near Pei Hwa just to get priority admission as the odds are really stacked against you even if you live nearby)
- Shopping: "Bukit Timah Shopping Centre, Beauty World Centre, Beauty World Plaza and Bukit Timah Plaza. Your shopping needs will definitely be fulfilled with plenty of shops and megastores such as Giant Supermarket" (not my words...copied this from one of the Forett websites. Yes, I am sure this list of world class retail options will increase the value of your home. Also please do not be fooled, the Giant in Beauty World is very not giant. NTUC finest in BTP is quite good tho)
- Others??? Maybe you grew up in the area and wanna live there for sentimental reasons?

Solid lah! I'm familiar with the area so THANK YOU for your time in encapsulating all the essence into your post!

Only point I beg to differ is... Food there OK leh! Love the satay bee hoon!

OK i know I digressed but yah a big THANK YOU!

drkcynic

The guy up there said it and it's all you need to know.

3 years ago, GL Gardens was struggling to move at 1k psf.

3 years later, after some new concrete, a fresh coat of paint and a fancy new name it is 2k psf.

You decide.

Hyruga

The guy up there said it and it's all you need to know.

3 years ago, GL Gardens was struggling to move at 1k psf.

3 years later, after some new concrete, a fresh coat of paint and a fancy new name it is 2k psf.

You decide.

Power la bro.

1k don't want to buy, now want to buy at 2k psf.

Good luck don't want but now want forest.😂

1993newbie

Colleague went last weekend just to see see,not interested in buying. My Guess less than 100.

He dropped check & fill up form for Penrose lo!
Not sure how many potential forett buyers read this homeseeker forum and change their mind in the end after realising D21 oversupply. :D

NiShiZhu

Colleague went last weekend just to see see,not interested in buying. My Guess less than 100.

He dropped check & fill up form for Penrose lo!

70-90 thereabout.
Will have die hard supporters for FH status and beauty world upgrading stories.

atopatop

i was one of those who submitted a cheque cos there was so much hype from agents/websites about this supposed FH gem.

But thanks to this thread (was a lurker but i set up an acct just to say thanks to everyone here), i finally found some objective voices - (honestly a rarity if you just google/fb/talk to agents/read property reviews) and went to do more research on the transactions of the other D21 properties... they were not very inspiring. I did a google walk from the site to the MRT and it took me many clicks to reach the MRT station... definitely not a fun walk daily since it's mostly unsheltered. I couldn't really convince myself of the location despite its freehold status, and potential rental will prob go for the many sites near the MRT.

So yes, my cheque is now destroyed haha.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.