Forex/Cryptocurrency General Chit Chat Thread

Mr.Canberra

Hi all,

Just opened Fx trading account with Oanda, SGD account. Heard from some people, is better to convert to USD account.

Something along the lines of 1 lot size, at 1 pip = $10 USD, so easier to calculate how much lot size to risk. If use SGD account, need to do more calculations or some; so USD account is better.

Does this actually matter? What's the way to go? What's the pros and cons of a SGD or USD account?

USD balance for the win.

Few years ago USD/SGD 1.2X. Now 1.3X.

With rising interest rate environment what do you think?

If you intend to trade USD pairs more then hold an USD balance account.

revhappy

I do not think so. But IB pays interest for your USD balance in account.

Non leverage right?
Correct. But you need to have 100K portfolio and interest is paid only on cash balance of above 10k. I think leveraged will also get paid interest. But the negative balance currency they will charge interest. The interest they charge is higher than what you get for the positive balance. So I guess even if you choose a pair where you long a high yield currency and short a low yield currency, still you end up paying them on a net basis.

I a but surprised though, because IB is very competitive in all other products. Then FX why is it so bad?

Sent from Xiaomi REDMI NOTE 4 using GAGT

Mr.Canberra

Correct. But you need to have 100K portfolio and interest is paid only on cash balance of above 10k. I think leveraged will also get paid interest. But the negative balance currency they will charge interest. The interest they charge is higher than what you get for the positive balance. So I guess even if you choose a pair where you long a high yield currency and short a low yield currency, still you end up paying them on a net basis.

I a but surprised though, because IB is very competitive in all other products. Then FX why is it so bad?

I guess it is better you seek other brokers that specialise in Forex margin trading to suit your needs.

Mr.Canberra

Here is my strategy:
1. Transfer all OA to SA every month until minimum sum is reached.
2. Don't buy a house. Live with parents or rent (if kid is getting big).
- Don't invest in properties. Buy a REIT and make someone work for you.
3. Invest at least 50% of monthly salary and 100% of bonus to:
- Stocks (NO ETFS or DCA strategy)
- Forex (No Stop Loss)
4. Minimise expenses:
- Parents: 1000
- Family: 500 (Future)
- Personal: 200

I am just an ordinary guy sharing some secrets to getting wealthy.

I had a good laugh on a boring Saturday afternoon! :s13:

Mr. Wood

hi guys,
hav not been posting in forum regularly this week and I think for the following few weeks is also busy. juz got a new assignment which will keep me away from trading for a few weeks/mths. maybe on and off still come scalp a few pips for coffee money :D
also good start so dat I hav can hav more equity after assignment end to upsize trading acctn in future.

everyone huat ah! :s12:

Mr. Wood

USD account easier to track. no need to have to convert to usd back to sgd and vv.

Mr. Wood

Boring Monday. but shud see more volatility Tuesday onwards
All in SST.

Tue Aug 7
12:30pm AUD RBA Rate Statement
AUD Cash Rate
3:30pm GBP Halifax HPI m/m
10:00pm CAD Ivey PMI

Wed Aug 8
11:00am NZD Inflation Expectations q/q
11:05am AUD RBA Gov Lowe Speaks
8:45pm USD FOMC Member Barkin Speaks
10:30pm USD Crude Oil Inventories

Thu Aug 9
5:00am NZD Official Cash Rate
NZD RBNZ Monetary Policy Statement
NZD RBNZ Rate Statement
6:00am NZD RBNZ Press Conference
8:30pm CAD NHPI m/m
USD PPI m/m
USD Core PPI m/m
USD Unemployment Claims

Fri Aug 10
6:30am NZD Business NZ Manufacturing Index
7:50am JPY Prelim GDP q/q
9:30am AUD RBA Monetary Policy Statement
4:30pm GBP GDP m/m
GBP Manufacturing Production m/m
GBP Prelim GDP q/q
GBP Goods Trade Balance
GBP Prelim Business Investment q/q
8:30pm CAD Employment Change
CAD Unemployment Rate
USD CPI m/m
USD Core CPI m/m

** 7th-10th USD Mortgage Delinquencies

Mr. Wood

Week ahead (Aug 06 - Aug 10)

After a significantly busy week, things are understandably going to be quieter next week. After all, we’ve already had three major central bank rate decisions from the likes of the BoJ, BoE and Fed and also some really important economic data, including the US nonfarm payrolls report. But despair not, we will still have two more central bank meetings to look forward to in the first half of the week and some rather important economic data at the end of the week, too.

Could the RBA turn hawkish?

The Reserve Bank of Australia (RBA) will make its rate decision on Tuesday while the Reserve Bank of New Zealand (RBNZ) will follow suit on Wednesday evening (or Thursday morning NZ time). Neither central banks are expected to make any changes, so interest rates in Australia and New Zealand are likely to remain at 1.5 and 1.75 per cent, respectively. But the Aussie and/or kiwi could move nonetheless, particularly if one or both of these central banks drop their dovish views.

While recent New Zealand data have been mixed, Australian macro figures over the past couple of months have been rather good. For example, the latest quarterly GDP came in at 1.0% in early June which was better than expected and double the figure from the previous quarter, although quarterly CPI was in line at 0.5 per cent. What’s more, retail sales have grown by 0.4% for a few months in a row now and have been better than expected on all those occasions. More importantly, Aussie employment rose sharply by 50,900 month-over-month, easily surpassing expectations. These macro pointers suggest the Aussie economy is perhaps gaining momentum and if the run can be sustained then inflation could accelerate in the months ahead. This may make the RBA a little bit more hawkish at this particular meeting. If so, then there is a good chance that the Aussie may rally.

Handful of market-moving data on Friday

Also next week, we will have a handful of very important economic data. Among them will be the quarterly GDP estimates from Japan and the UK, both on Friday. The Japanese economy is expected to have expanded by 0.3% in the second quarter compared to a contraction of 0.2% in Q1. The UK economy is expected to have expanded by 0.4% compared to its rather weak 0.2% performance in the first three months of the year. If GDP readings from these nations turn out to be stronger then the yen and pound could benefit, especially in light of the BoJ’s tweaking of QE purchases which has resulted in JGB yields rising and the BoE’s rate hike this week. Also on Friday, we will have important macro data from North America: US Consumer Price Index (CPI) measure of inflation is expected to show a 0.2% month-over-month reading, while Canadian employment figures could show another surprise after the 31,800 print last month.

Overall, next week is going to be quieter in terms of data releases, but we could still witness sizeable moves in the FX and other markets nonetheless. The handful of macro data and two central bank meetings should provide plenty of volatility for traders.

AUD/USD in focus

The AUD/USD is our featured chart for next week. We think there is a decent chance for it to break higher as recent improvement in Aussie data could see the RBA turn hawkish or at least less dovish than expected. The fact price has held above the long-term 61.8% Fibonacci level is also supporting the bullish view, although we have not yet seen a clean break of resistance, which, in this case, comes in around the 0.7450 area.

Mr.Canberra

In the land of dry mango now, less time to trade this week, managed to clear my stuck EJ only left with NU, this NU really zzzzz

My EUR/JPY long position still stucked.

EUR/USD short position finally unstucked and closed with US$123.90 Din Tai Fung profit.

No stop loss? Tot u disciplined to put stop one...

TRY gg haha

Haha yes TRY really GG today! Chua sai or not? :s13:

Mr.Canberra

EUR/USD

Back to trading desk! :s13:

Took US$72.00 KFC profit at 1.5529 (5:34am). Heng as this afternoon shot up.

Woke up in the afternoon and limit sell order triggered at 1.157. Now down 20 pips. Slight EUR strength coming back. I believe by US opening the gains will be pared.

edwardZ

Pui pui pui! :vijayadmin:

EUR/USD chiong up! Tio stucked liao! :s22:

i went in EU short from 1.16250, quite lucky :s13: , slowly distributing and dropping now, should see a bounce at 1.162 and stronger bounce at 1.161 based on supports not tested

Mr.Canberra

EUR/USD

i went in EU short from 1.16250, quite lucky :s13: , slowly distributing and dropping now, should see a bounce at 1.162 and stronger bounce at 1.161 based on supports not tested

From the looks of it EUR/USD is heading towards 1.17 near term.

You shorted at a good level. However take note of option expiries at 10:00pm SGT. Once prata very fast. 100 pips up or down at a flip of the switch is very normal for EUR pairs. Good luck if you have STOP LOSS.

For past few weeks the big boys have been piling in at the 1.155 and 1.15 level so take note. There are many who wants EUR to drop like a ton of bricks below 1.15. :s13:

The strength of the USD is still in play especially risk off mood due to trade tariffs and Fed rate hikes.

Nowadays London traders sibei buay kan. All humji do not dare to push. Always need the New York traders come in liao then can whack.

Option expiries for Aug8 NY cut 1000ET (Source DTCC): EUR/USD: $1.1500(E783mn), $1.1615(E310mn), $1.1645(E471mn), $1.1700-05(E695mn), $1.1800(E389mn)

Larger option pipeline: EUR/USD: Aug9 $1.1500(E1.17bn), $1.1550(E925mn); Aug14 $1.1600-05(E1.0bn); Aug16 $1.1500(E1.11bn), $1.1600(E1.26bn)

edwardZ

From the looks of it EUR/USD is heading towards 1.17 near term.

You shorted at a good level. However take note of option expiries at 10:00pm SGT. Once prata very fast. 100 pips up or down at a flip of the switch is very normal for EUR pairs. Good luck if you have STOP LOSS.

For past few weeks the big boys have been piling in at the 1.155 and 1.15 level so take note. There are many who wants EUR to drop like a ton of bricks below 1.15. :s13:

The strength of the USD is still in play especially risk off mood due to trade tariffs and Fed rate hikes.

Nowadays London traders sibei buay kan. All humji do not dare to push. Always need the New York traders come in liao then can whack.

this is good info (Options expiry thing) thanks! gonna read it up...i am usually more of a Technical Chart and Scalp player :s13:

i closed off my short at 1.161x...can go for premium cai png add fish and sotong tomorrow

Mr.Canberra

this is good info (Options expiry thing) thanks! gonna read it up...i am usually more of a Technical Chart and Scalp player :s13:

i closed off my short at 1.161x...can go for premium cai png add fish and sotong tomorrow

Zero profit for me today so far. Not even cai png profit. :s13:

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.