Fundsupermart's FSMOne $8.8 flat fees

sibeiTrolled

Hi , can u pls explain why will u charged extra for rsp sell of fractional? Thanks
So for context, I bought all my ETF through rsp.

As I was intending to liquidate all then head over to ibkr, I sold the ETF through the normal sell way as I didn't want to wait. This didn't had any problem until I encountered a few ETF that for some reason didn't allowed fractional sell but I still proceeded on, which was a mistake on my part.

And so I had left overs of some ETF and thus I had to use the rsp sell function to bring it down to zero, thus incurring additional fee.

Was a good lesson for me and not to rush without thinking through.

sibeiTrolled

Such profound wisdom! Thank u so much. Ok i will take time to think it thu. My sincere thanks Again
LOL.
It's just casual newbie user talking about past experience. Nothing more, nothing less
No matter how much "review" you read online, sometimes it is still better to really just try it out.

No matter which broker you choose, just have "fun" and stay invested

CrashWire

As I was intending to liquidate all then head over to ibkr, I sold the ETF through the normal sell way as I didn't want to wait. This didn't had any problem until I encountered a few ETF that for some reason didn't allowed fractional sell but I still proceeded on, which was a mistake on my part.
Why didn't you just do ACATS transfer? No charge from FSMone.

sibeiTrolled

Why didn't you just do ACATS transfer? No charge from FSMone.
Since I learnt how to buy, wanted to experience the selling.

Also taking the chance to clean up my messy collection of ETF that I didn't want anymore as well as to cash out on the semicon luck I had back then

Fossilised2023

So for context, I bought all my ETF through rsp.

And so I had left overs of some ETF and thus I had to use the rsp sell function to bring it down to zero, thus incurring additional fee.

Was a good lesson for me and not to rush without thinking through.

LOL.
It's just casual newbie user talking about past experience. Nothing more, nothing less
No matter how much "review" you read online, sometimes it is still better to really just try it out.

No matter which broker you choose, just have "fun" and stay invested
I cant really set up ibkr . Frustrating. I ended up trying fsmone to buy just 2 lots of Voo. And 1 lot of apple. If is ‘fun’ indeed.

Thank you for the encouragement. Have been hesitating on buying US ETF/ stocks cause cant decide between Apple and fsmone. Decided on fsmone since poems custody’s fee is only free until 2027.

Gd tip on selling using the right platform. Didnt know non rsp dont allow selling fractional shares.

reddevil0728

I cant really set up ibkr . Frustrating.
what happened?
I ended up trying fsmone to buy just 2 lots of Voo. And 1 lot of apple. If is ‘fun’ indeed.
u only bought 2 units of VOO and 1 unit of AAPL?
Thank you for the encouragement. Have been hesitating on buying US ETF/ stocks cause cant decide between Apple and fsmone. Decided on fsmone since poems custody’s fee is only free until 2027.
why need to decide between Apple and FSMone?

reddevil0728

The experience part. I put 2 years or 3 years, both cant get thru… and alot to key in unlike poems/ fsmone. Guess i was impatient.
don't miss the forest for tree
Yea ,super beginner. Wanna try out first. I wanna buy more lots of voo at 464 but didnt manage to get the sale done.
don't use lot which can mean many different things to different people

wutawa

I see. What do you call it then? Share?It is stated as quantity : lot size in the fsmone app.
yes, lot is a group of shares. when lot size : 1, it is 1 share. i.e. a bunch of bananas. share is also a breakdown of a company or fund, where the shareholders share it.

reddevil0728

When u said voo/apple lot, I know u super beginner. US market doesn't have lot.
I see. What do you call it then? Share?It is stated as quantity : lot size in the fsmone app.
yes, lot is a group of shares. when lot size : 1, it is 1 share. i.e. a bunch of bananas. share is also a breakdown of a company or fund, where the shareholders share it.
Technically 1 lot = 1 share lor

That’s why should just avoid using lot.

cause it means diff thing for diff people.

Old bird on SGX will say it’s 1000 units

new birds will say is 100 or even 10 or maybe 1

then us is like 1

hence very confusing

Jirachi

Was considering ibkr to buy US etfs but my friend said dont try as it will be too hard for me.
1. I prefer IBKR and I also recommend friends to use IBKR. It is one the best and easiest broker to use. Just need a bit of familiarisation from the beginning.
1. Considering RSP plan, non promotional, is it cheaper to buy voo/ cpsx, (considering all costs above) using fsmone or do i just buy voo from poems? I understand Fsmone does not charge maintenance or custody charge but Poems will charge after 2027. So in the long haul, for 10 to 20 years, i should buy from fsmone?
I personally do not have good impressions of POEMS, so I would recommend FSMOne
2. I already bought some spore bank stocks through poems. And also had keppel infrastructure trust in fsmone account. Is it ok if i transfer my keppel infrastucture trust back to poems (since no charge incurred) and just use fsmone to focus on US etf? Or i should not transfer anything, keep as they are.
I wanted to transfer to poem so that its easier to make 1 quarterly trade on Poems cash plus (so that i house all spore stocks there) and also to waive off $15 maintenance charge. Super regret buying the spore stocks on poems cash plus (cause fsmone acct is cheaper) but i had poems cash plus account before i just started fsmone account
You do not need to transfer stocks. And transfer of stocks can come with a heavy price tag.

If you do really want to consolidate all the holdings into one brokerage account, you can consider continue buying the stocks on the broker of your preference, including the existing one you are holding which you would like to transfer out from. Once everything is in place and both sides are in the profit, you can choose to sell the one from the broker that you wish to leave.

Jirachi

Technically 1 lot = 1 share lor

That’s why should just avoid using lot.

cause it means diff thing for diff people.

Old bird on SGX will say it’s 1000 units

new birds will say is 100 or even 10 or maybe 1

then us is like 1

hence very confusing
I guess it is simpler to mention contract size then. No confusion. 100 shares = 100 shares

reddevil0728

I guess it is simpler to mention contract size then. No confusion. 100 shares = 100 shares
not everybody familiar with options contract though

why don't just say the number of units? dun need add complexity?

reddevil0728

I think your units has the same interpretation of shares from my context
ya i mean units / shares.

but i am not talking about that. you are saying use contracts right?

1 contract = 100 shares/units is that what you are talking about?

Jirachi

ya i mean units / shares.

but i am not talking about that. you are saying use contracts right?

1 contract = 100 shares/units is that what you are talking about?
Oh when I said contract size, I thought it's basically just means.

If X buys 100 shares, that's 100 contracts of common stock. Maybe contracts was the wrong word. Units or shares is better.

reddevil0728

Oh when I said contract size, I thought it's basically just means.

If X buys 100 shares, that's 100 contracts of common stock. Maybe contracts was the wrong word. Units or shares is better.
Ya don’t make it complicated.

just say the number of shares / units to buy can liao

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.