Actually the US mid year sale is good. I've already gotten some of the AAA ones previous, so for a change, this time quite a number of smaller titles caught my eyes.
Even if you go for AAA, Fallout 4 for $20, Shadow of Mordor GOTY for $4, pretty good deals. (Those are PS+ prices, non-members slightly higher.)
fallout 4 on console is suicide...
Just to highlight some of the smaller PS4 titles that I find interesting:Anyways, which smaller titles caught your eye?
Just to highlight some of the smaller PS4 titles that I find interesting:
- Broken Sword 5 (already have on pc, so not getting, but I like point & click)
- AC chronicles trilogy (have the China one, like it, not sure if I want to get for India and Russia, those don't seem so good, formula wears thin already)
- Flower (have this long time ago since ps3, a must-play)
- Hitman GO (good if you havent played on mobile, can be difficult if you go for the complete within certain number of moves challenges)
- Lara Croft GO (another good one, this one is easier as it doesn't have move limits)
- Shadwen (already have this, like it a lot, though it's not very logical, but if you play it like a board game with preset rules, it's an enjoyable stealth game)
- Steamworld Dig (I am still waiting for a bundle, with Heist, to be on sale)
- The Little Acre (played this already, nice little point-and-click adventure, great old school Disney art style)
- Submerged (just bought this from the sale, reviews not good but I don't mind a little exploration game without combat)
- Wheels of Aurelia (just bought from the sale also, interesting concept of narrative car ride)
- Adam's Venture: Origin (still not cheap enough for me, this is a remake of the Adam's Venture game on PS3, which I have played already)
- Ms Pac Man (bot this just to see how these old games play on ps4, there's another bundle with pac man, dig dug and one other)
- Bound (I'm interested but still not cheap enough)
- Giana Sisters (have it on pc, good platforming game but quite difficult, getting too old for these liao)
- Gryphon Knight (nice side scrolling shooter)
- Puzzle Showdown 4k (bot this day-1 a few weeks ago, I simply like jigsaw puzzles in real life, this one has lots of options for customising the puzzles)
- Stikbold (based on streaming that I saw, this one is very fun mp casual game, but only if you have ppl to play with you)
Some others that are good but might have been cheaper before:
Ratchet & Clank, Murdered Soul Suspect (good story), Trine Trilogy (was cheaper in the flash sale last week, where I finally bot the 3rd game to complete the set), Journey, Unfinished Swan, Mad Max
I am waiting for Inside to be on sale also. Already have Limbo, didnt like it, but Inside feels right to me (tried the demo and watched some streaming). Asia psn have both on sale now but Inside is not cheap enough to me.
fallout 4 is very nice to play. hoping got complete edition with all the dlcs then will play again.
Mad Max is a ******* boring and repetitive game. There's practically no story, no link to the movie either. As a trophy hunter (who can usually make the extra effort to grind stuff), I couldn't force myself all the way through for the plat trophy. Playing it makes me want to fall asleep. For the current price it's an ok buy I guess.Some others that are good but might have been cheaper before:
Ratchet & Clank, Murdered Soul Suspect (good story), Trine Trilogy (was cheaper in the flash sale last week, where I finally bot the 3rd game to complete the set), Journey, Unfinished Swan, Mad Max
mad max is gorgeous on pc, making less it "annoying generic"
I hated MachinariumSince you like point & click, have you tried Machinarium? Awesome soundtrack and clever puzzles. Not in this sale though.
The Bridge - I finished this game, it may look boring black and white but the mechanics are pretty interesting and some of the puzzles are real challenging. Waiting to do a new game+ when I feel like.
, that time bought a special edition steel book or something on PC, totally regretted it. The puzzles are illogical, pretty much pixel hunting even if you know exactly what to do on a screen, it just doesn't work properly technically (it was a flash game and it shows). The Inner World (not on sale) has some similarities, esp art style, is a much much better point-and-click, with good logical puzzles, and it's funny too (Machinarium doesn't have dialog iirc?).I haven't started Mad Max yet, but I tend to have good tolerance when it comes to repetition in open world games, so maybe (I hope) it's ok to me. I do like racing games so the vehicle combat should suit me. It's the melee combat that I may not like, since I don't like Batman Arkham combat. I know, I am the odd one out, but I just don't like reactive combat (wait for ppl to attack and counter), I subscribe to the school of "a good offense is the best offense"Mad Max is a ******* boring and repetitive game. There's practically no story, no link to the movie either. As a trophy hunter (who can usually make the extra effort to grind stuff), I couldn't force myself all the way through for the plat trophy. Playing it makes me want to fall asleep. For the current price it's an ok buy I guess.
No need to stalk me lah, I don't actively hunt trophies for years liao. Go stalk ckleowOi faster enable leh
I wanna stalk u and your trophy la lol
The Bridge I have on PC, tried it but couldn't continue. In the game you basically have to rotate the environment, but I find the rotation speed too slow. Like a puzzle may have you turning the scene so that a ball drops down and you are supposed to continue rotating to catch the ball on its way down. But the rotation speed is so slow that the ball will drop out into oblivion before you have a chance to reach it. I have not tried the PS4 version, dont know if it controls better. What I have played I do like. The black and white art actually reminds me of Escape Plan (on sale too), which is a good puzzle game as well (though I also did not finish, didn't have time back then).
Very different games. The PS3 "Ratchet & Clank Collection" is HD remaster of the 3 PS2 era games. This PS4 "Ratchet & Clank" is a 2016 remake of the first R&C game. It's a complete overhaul of the graphics and gameplay, upgraded to new staple of weapons, latest UI etc. It's tie-in to the R&C movie and uses movie clips as cutscenes (though most ppl consider the movie as a tie-in to the game, cos the movie is only average but the game is fantastic). Seriously, the difference is night and day, it's no double dip at all.Double dipped on racket & clark for 1080. Already had the collection on ps3.
this month psn asia has not reveal the list of free games?
My complaint with the game has nothing to do with graphics though. It looks fine on PS4.
Very different games. The PS3 "Ratchet & Clank Collection" is HD remaster of the 3 PS2 era games. This PS4 "Ratchet & Clank" is a 2016 remake of the first R&C game. It's a complete overhaul of the graphics and gameplay, upgraded to new staple of weapons, latest UI etc. It's tie-in to the R&C movie and uses movie clips as cutscenes (though most ppl consider the movie as a tie-in to the game, cos the movie is only average but the game is fantastic). Seriously, the difference is night and day, it's no double dip at all.
At one point I was farming bolts, I kept killing infinitely respawning enemies from a safe distance, the whole field was filled with thousands and thousands of bolts (they don't disappear). Then I jumped down and have all of them flying to Ratchet. Super awesome! It's the type of PS4 showcase that Knack attempted, to show massive particle counts. (Have to say though, of cos there's frame rate drop when they were all flying in. Those with PS4 Pro can try it and see if the improvement is significant.)
thanks for the thumbs upon R&C , PL.
As for Knack, I will wait for Knack 2.
Still considering Disgaea 5 looks decent for $23 USD but it already has been offered as free asia psn game. I feel like of dumb to be paying for it.