GE2020’s result - PAP had 61.24% win.

Mark8888

I just hope the voters cast their votes wisely, and not do so emotionally based on some grudges conceived within. I hope the opposition party knows what is good for the country and its people, and not just wanted to be given a chance to voice out in the parliament.

From my experience being a local travelling and living outside Singapore since 2003, there is no perfect government. Government that provides for its people is rare, and Singapore is the only one so far that cares for its people. Many government seeks only popularity, and will do anything just to win votes during the election periods. Many voters given the opportunity to vote, do so to spite the current administration by casting votes to introduce oppositions into the government to offset the balance (yoyo). In the end, who wins? None. Just see what is happening in the USA, Europe, Taiwan, India...etc.

So before you cast your vote, be objective and clear about your choice. Think of the impact on your children and grand children. Don't treat the current government as an adversary. They have done their best to satisfy everyone. Most importantly, analyse what the opposition can offer and make a projection how long and how far can they sustain what they promise. Remember, opposition can only see things from their perspectives which may not entirely true (some mere hearsay based on coffeeshop interviews). Only the current government has the means and resources to appreciate the whole picture , and takes a holistic approach to running the country.

Be wise, fellow citizens.

Staid4

I just hope the voters cast their votes wisely, and not do so emotionally based on some grudges conceived within. I hope the opposition party knows what is good for the country and its people, and not just wanted to be given a chance to voice out in the parliament.

From my experience being a local travelling and living outside Singapore since 2003, there is no perfect government. Government that provides for its people is rare, and Singapore is the only one so far that cares for its people. Many government seeks only popularity, and will do anything just to win votes during the election periods. Many voters given the opportunity to vote, do so to spite the current administration by casting votes to introduce oppositions into the government to offset the balance (yoyo). In the end, who wins? None. Just see what is happening in the USA, Europe, Taiwan, India...etc.

So before you cast your vote, be objective and clear about your choice. Think of the impact on your children and grand children. Don't treat the current government as an adversary. They have done their best to satisfy everyone. Most importantly, analyse what the opposition can offer and make a projection how long and how far can they sustain what they promise. Remember, opposition can only see things from their perspectives which may not entirely true (some mere hearsay based on coffeeshop interviews). Only the current government has the means and resources to appreciate the whole picture , and takes a holistic approach to running the country.

Be wise, fellow citizens.
From how you open your post i already know how it's going to end... "after travelling for..."

:eek::ROFLMAO: you got me there at

1. Singapore is the only that cares for it's people.
2. For our children and grand children

You do know because of their doings... alot of singaporeans now doesn't even have kids?? :ROFLMAO: then they happily import grand parents, parents and their kids from 3rd world countries to displace you and me.

Your rhetoric is what they have being parroting all the time. Let me tell you to stop painting biscuits for us. People are suffering yet you still sugar coat and says everything is fine and good. You know that's exactly why the resentment for their is getting more and more everyday with all these gaslighting and mind manipulation.

For e.g. i can't take spicy and accidentally ate something spicy and i'm jumping. Here comes you and the pappies telling me... ohh it's not spicy. It's just a little tingle on your tounge and mouth... you know spicy is good for your health? Everyone in the world eats spicy... spicy is good and it's not spicy.

I feel like giving a tight slap on the faces.

And lastly, it's because i'm wise, i'm that last one that they will never get my vote. Over my dead body. I'd vote a dog a cat even if it's running in opposition.

identity_1991

my side here is RDU.. i did not see poster or them walking around. quite gone case :s13:

base on statistics, by default have 28% to 30% oppo by default,35%++ means got quite a sizable portion of swing voters liao.. anyway see how lah, i am pretty sure PAP still gets majority due to west & north sinkies
My side also got RDU. Never see them before. Dk who are they. Never watch TV. How to vote for these jokers

vaxvms

dun worry end of 2025 GE will have 70% mandate lead by LW

huat ahhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh

BaChorMee

In PAP’s words, if below 60%,

nobody will respect Singapore
MNCS will leave
your wives and sisters will be maids in foreign countries
our reserves will evaporate
the country will go bankrupt

may I add my own,

your children will be sold as slaves

I leememeber this one ish LKY last time say one. Voucher Wong also say if no strong mandate, world leaders will not respect him

vaxvms

My side also got RDU. Never see them before. Dk who are they. Never watch TV. How to vote for these jokers
worst thing is dun even got poster!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

they wan show winning 90% of voters in their grc
more swee than walkover

vaxvms

I leememeber this one ish LKY last time say one. Voucher Wong also say if no strong mandate, world leaders will not respect him

看在钱份上 + 1 of the 3 money laundering heaven in this planet

kmkimlo

dun worry end of 2025 GE will have 70% mandate lead by LW

huat ahhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh

this might be the case. maybe later JE-BB get 80%. even higher than what Tharman get when he is around.

Huat ah!

Multiversal

If below 61.24% is it considered strong mandate? I was just reading through the below news, the GRC fight very intense leh. All in the 50%-ish range. That 2-3% range is really “every vote counts”

https://www.channelnewsasia.com/singapore/ge2020-general-election-final-result-pap-wp-952471

Close percentages from 2020:
Seng Kang GRC - WP (52.13% win)
East Coast GRC - PAP (53.41% win)
West Coast GRC - PAP (51.69% win)
Bukit Panjang SMC - PAP (53.74% win)
Bukit Batok SMC - PAP (54.8% win)

May the odds be ever in our favour 🫰
I am not sure about East Coast now that Nicole Seah is no longer in politics. She had a lot of charisma, people just loved that face, while some were even willing to lick the sweat off her armpit (someone here did write that).

But we never know. PAP may lose one or two more GRCs.

Punggol might go to WP.

Dr Chee may make a breakthrough winning a SMC and GRC too. People voted against him in the past because of CST. But looking back, CST also disappointed voters and let them down with poor or zero successor planning.

And if they were willing to vote for WP even despite RK's records, her online posts, and now Singh, having lied in the COI, and Andre Low, the WP candidate, who used obscene vulgar language....why Dr Chee comes across as a saint lorh!

jq75

If below 61.24% is it considered strong mandate? I was just reading through the below news, the GRC fight very intense leh. All in the 50%-ish range. That 2-3% range is really “every vote counts”

https://www.channelnewsasia.com/singapore/ge2020-general-election-final-result-pap-wp-952471

Close percentages from 2020:
Seng Kang GRC - WP (52.13% win)
East Coast GRC - PAP (53.41% win)
West Coast GRC - PAP (51.69% win)
Bukit Panjang SMC - PAP (53.74% win)
Bukit Batok SMC - PAP (54.8% win)

May the odds be ever in our favour 🫰
Sentiment tells me this year dun look good

mike-q

I am not sure about East Coast now that Nicole Seah is no longer in politics. She had a lot of charisma, people just loved that face, while some were even willing to lick the sweat off her armpit (someone here did write that).

But we never know. PAP may lose one or two more GRCs.

Punggol might go to WP.

Dr Chee may make a breakthrough winning a SMC and GRC too. Peo-ple voted against him in the past because of CST. But looking back, CST also disappointed voters with poor or zero successor planning.

And if they were willing to vote for WP even despite RK's records, her online posts, and now Singh, having lied in the COI, and Andre Low, the WP candidate, who used obscene vulgar language....why Dr Chee comes across as a saint lorh!
people also dont mean a minister engaging in corrupt pratice a span of 8 years or a prime minister covering up his speaker of parliament’s affair for 2 years which is
more serious than pritam singh’s lies

Multiversal

people also dont mean a minister engaging in corrupt pratice a span of 8 years or a prime minister covering up his speaker of parliament’s affair for 2 years which is
more serious than pritam singh’s lies
Who says people don't mind? I did not say it. I cannot say it because I cannot speak for others.

You don't mind? I mind. And Iswaran went to jail.

Since you don't mind, no wonder you are OK with Raeesah Khan's and Pritam's lies. I suppose you don't mind Nicole Seah and Leon Pereira as well? Correct me if I am wrong. But I mind.

Now, having said that, I have only one vote.

The decision to elect Dr Chee or not is not mind to make. It's for a majority of the voters to say, whether they can overlook his mistakes, which are nothing like your RK's and PS's by any stretch of the imagination. Or Nicole Seah and Leon P. So, I say, by comparison, Dr Chee is a saint and he night just win a GRC and SMC, considering that the current voters are different from those who supported CST.

jq75

From ChatGPT

An opposition party plays a crucial role in a healthy democracy. Here are several key benefits:

1. Checks and balances: It holds the ruling party accountable, preventing abuse of power and ensuring transparency.
  2. Policy critique and alternatives: It provides alternative viewpoints and policies, fostering informed public debate.
  3. Representation of diverse views: It gives voice to minority or dissenting opinions, contributing to a more inclusive political landscape.
  4. Improves governance: By scrutinizing government actions, it encourages better decision-making and efficient administration.
  5. Prepares for leadership: It trains future leaders and offers a ready alternative government, ensuring continuity and stability.
  6. Protects democracy: It defends civil liberties, the rule of law, and democratic institutions from potential erosion by those in power.

Would you like examples from specific countries or historical contexts?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.