[GE2025] Extensive changes to electoral boundaries due to population shifts; only 5 GRCs, 4 SMCs left intact

Sad Panda

To be fair... PAP had done a good job for Singapore economically... But at what expense?

We have become too crowded... everything become expensive... social behaviours getting worse... unemployment and underemployment for locals... etc all these are byproducts of the immigration and manpower policies that made Singapore grow... to the extent that it is affecting our social compact... which was indirectly acknowledged by TSL when he refused to show more detail and raw data regarding SC vs PR/Work permit holders...

Without the data... we are unable to see and justify for ourselves if this amount of economic growth is good for Singapore AND Singaporeans or not...

I mean... In the past... we are brainwashed that whatever that is GOOD for Singapore... is GOOD for Singaporeans... but I am not so sure now... I am now more leaning towards that What is GOOD for Singapore... is NOT NECESSARILY GOOD for Singaporeans... not at the expense of social compact... We are slowly losing our Singaporean identity...

So we as voters... need to decide... do we want to have such growth... or do we want to slow down for the locals to catch some breaths... give more time for locals to integrate with our new citizens... etc and risk falling behind other economies that are catching up... do we need to be No1 in everything? Is the current growth sustainable... is giving out vouchers or increasing grants/subsidies sustainable... etc

You can decide that with your vote...

WYVIWYG... What You Vote is What You Will Get

good job lifting fishing village to global market. but now the feeling of country rich people poor abit too close to comfort

misterGomez

The latest being SM LHL asserting that

https://www.straitstimes.com/singap...lee?_nei=6d645d70-330b-4bf5-9e08-a021d9329d20

The fact that PAP is welcoming immigration to 'bring more competition and put pressure on Singaporeans to work harder and meet higher standards'.. yet PAP politicians themselves have been utilising all means eg changes to electoral boundaries, fixing oppositions , etc to block their own competitors, is disgusting.

Really is double standard hypocrites.
the whole PAP should be replaced by FTs to cut costs, don't ask people to do something and yet they themselves never do it

wongkc

the sad thing is actually many voters dunno whats best for them or even for their children.

they can complain everything so expensive, but continue to give birth to 5-7 kids and still vote for pap. and when they struggle with living expenses have to come out work part time instead of being sahm because obviously cannot sustain, then complain hard to find job at their age. there are ppl ard me who are like this. like, why put yourself in hardship in the first place?

These voters can only see the short term gain... cannot see the big picture... or plan for the future... and these are the pple that are the easiest to manipulate...

buzzlightyear852

These voters can only see the short term gain... cannot see the big picture... or plan for the future... and these are the pple that are the easiest to manipulate...

its funny to me that parents cannot think far for their own generation.
or maybe they feel all their kids able to afford 1million hdb each :spin:

Sirlighty

Progress at the expense of citizens

Well, it can be good and it can be bad too.

Personally, I feel and see that we are losing our identity and Singaporeans can never be better than FT in our own soil based on the current regime.

Singapore is too big to fail as over the years, our balloons get bigger and bigger such as public sector jobs that needs to create jobs for certain people.

In order to feed this big balloon, somewhere and somehow money has to come in.

muji4832

Because Sinkies do not care or mind about the price hike of below items for the past 5 years.

GST / Electricity / Water / S&CC / Carbon / Gas / VES / ERP / Transport / Petrol / Waste Disposal / Parking / Stamp Duty / Workers Levy / Property Tax / Airport Tax etc.

They are happy as long as they continue to receive "Handout Vouchers" every year !

truly the PAP has failed us completely, so why are we still voting for them?? why not be brave for once?? How many 5 years can one have?

alvincy

I think LHL's biggest issue is he's used to flattery and won't take 'no' for answer, ie he prefers yesman. I notice that many who got promoted to ministerial post, eg CHT, DL, JT, Indranee are those who's been attacking opposition party members in the past.

Didn't help that he's no where near his father's calibre. A mediocre leader who prefers yesman.. how much progress can we make under him?

If people follow Parliament will know. Look at Sitoh, Murali and even the NMP Raj.

theballstopshere

I think LHL's biggest issue is he's used to flattery and won't take 'no' for answer, ie he prefers yesman. I notice that many who got promoted to ministerial post, eg CHT, DL, JT, Indranee are those who's been attacking opposition party members in the past.

Didn't help that he's no where near his father's calibre. A mediocre leader who prefers yesman.. how much progress can we make under him?
agree. i guess it comes from his privileged upbringing, not used to having people say no to him. and when these people cock up, he does nothing to them because they are his yes man, and he does not have the conviction of lky to do the right thing for the country.

all these attack dog ministers are very well looked after. you see Shan and Vivian, such a big fiasco over rideout but still no issues as compared to iswaran.

muji4832

Don't you know that the Strawberries nowadays mostly already have their entire life path paved out ?

Before they were born already got a big fat insurance policy waiting for them.

They will straightaway become millionaire when they turned 21.

In short, you don't have to worry for them. Worry for yourself better.

its funny to me that parents cannot think far for their own generation.
or maybe they feel all their kids able to afford 1million hdb each :spin:

charleslee1989

70% love their properties to go up to 5 million and above lah.. so is okay one . :o
Dun say 5 million...Once it hits 2 mil for the most expensive hdb resale flat and hit 1 million in those more ulu area and people cannot buy a flat and go on with life even with the most generous loans, then the ruling party will be in a cul-de-sac...

Remember, those prime and plus can only sell the whole flat or rent out rooms nia even after MOP....

What Desmond Lee done with the prime and plus model is just build up a dam of housing pressures (with new "locals" joining in every year) at those sites hoping that the newer BTOs in non-mature estates will attract SC-SC or SC-PR couples to go there rather than join in the Resale market for Prime and Plus sites that PR-PR couples can also join in.

However, this will inevitably affect the TFR which cascades its sai into other areas.

In other words, what Desmond Lee has done is to kick the can down the road for the next minister of national development and pray hard that the resale prices dun sky rocket uncontrollably especially for the P&P areas. He and his party did nothing to relieve demand pressures while only increasing supply in not so well connected places for the Singaporean Electorate.

Really weird that the electorate cannot see this....

buzzlightyear852

Don't you know that the Strawberries nowadays mostly already have their entire life path paved out ?

thats not even true

i am better off than those parents who have 5-7 kids and squeeze in 1 hdb flat yet i dont even want more kids.
there's no point to put ownself in financial hardship if its smth u can control like birth. but some ppl dont want to control. then they just wait for chicken wings handouts

Travis_Touchdown

Because Sinkies do not care or mind about the price hike of below items for the past 5 years.

GST / Electricity / Water / S&CC / Carbon / Gas / VES / ERP / Transport / Petrol / Waste Disposal / Parking / Stamp Duty / Workers Levy / Property Tax / Airport Tax etc.

They are happy as long as they continue to receive "Handout Vouchers" every year !

and appreciating property prices... :s12::frown:

AuraKUPO

Exactly. I don't even have 1k when I was 21. No need to worry for the next gen as they will be ultra rich. 30 years ago our salary is 2.5k very satki already. Next time, their salary would be 20k at least.

I see no reason to worry for our next gen.

NTB2DO

Exactly. I don't even have 1k when I was 21. No need to worry for the next gen as they will be ultra rich. 30 years ago our salary is 2.5k very satki already. Next time, their salary would be 20k at least.

I see no reason to worry for our next gen.
But then back then housing price was also more than 10x cheaper. So they earn more, they need to pay more.

Back to square one.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.