[GE2025] Extensive changes to electoral boundaries due to population shifts; only 5 GRCs, 4 SMCs left intact

dezzo69

"populations shifts" is synonym for "these places have more old ppl and new citizens so they will vote incumbent" and "these places are new estates that are undeveloped and filled with newly married families so they have to vote for incumbent"

mryang

Watch Leong mun wai reply

Watch Building Progress or Just Pain

Watch change is needed

Watch Election Choices_ Who Really Represents Us

mryang

Exactly, they always like to use the bazooka effect
1. Shouting doesn't solve or getting done
2. Using insults don't get thing move
3. Using power and authority power don't dissolve anything.

Suggest
1. Soft power
2. Agree to disagree

carey

Suggest
1. Soft power
2. Agree to disagree
Ideally, yes

But we do not live in an ideal world

The current batch is still using the same old playbook from LKY's time - now so dependent on it that they are scared to do anything else

Honestly, they dare meh when they really damn boh liao i.e. no substance at all

buzzlightyear852

Suggest
1. Soft power
2. Agree to disagree
thats y now no one even bother to talk abt ps court case.......
all still showing support for wp

even when i talk to my pro oppo coll no one even mention

mryang

Ideally, yes

But we do not live in an ideal world

The current batch is still using the same old playbook from LKY's time - now so dependent on it that they are scared to do anything else

Honestly, they dare meh when they really damn boh liao i.e. no substance at all
They don't have any card on deck for negotiation from the activities or the press.

Maybe they can learn from Bloomberg.

NTB2DO

summary--PSP have not been fixed in GE boundary..

let me compare the PSP contested areas in 2020 and 2025 boundary below.

PSP still get almost the same turf to fight in 2020 GE.
unlike some hard core opp supports think miw to fix psp in 2025.

let me explain
pl refer to maps of various GE at the last of this news
https://www.channelnewsasia.com/interactives/ge2025-singapore-electoral-boundary-map-changes-4992996

PSP contested constituency area in 2020
Cck GRC--changed

unless you think the portions removed are more psp supporters than pap, then

no one get the advantages of the change.

Opp get more SMC to fight too, For Opp, they can easier to fight in SMC, because GRC need

minority candidate.

Hong Kah North SMC—removed-- some PSP supporters will cry .

this is the only fixed constituency area..

Kebun Baru smc—unchanged
Marymount smc—unchanged

Nee Soon GRC—unchanged
Pioneer smc--unchanged

Tg pg –portion become Queentowns smc, and Added constituency area.

not a disadvantage to psp.. they can fight in new smc..

Wc—2020 plus Added constituency area,, same lah ,,psp not fixed..
YCK smc — removed small portion.

summary--PSP have not been fixed in GE boundary..

They are 'fixing' PSP's then West Coast GRC team (as well as other deemed 'risky' wards) la..

Why would they need to fix constituencies which they deem are in little/no risk of losing to opposition party?

mryang

thats y now no one even bother to talk abt ps court case.......
all still showing support for wp

even when i talk to my pro oppo coll no one even mention
Yes ...they can show support but still able to engage with you .

Just need to know ps is a human also who will make mistakes also. But at least he been through the trial and standing tall plus he is going for appeal . Lastly he also engaged consultant to do profiling to select candidates for the coming GE isn't it.

Likewise we must also follow pap. Make mistakes still can carry on
Cannot be double standards

Ethan_

Watch Leong mun wai reply

Watch Building Progress or Just Pain

Watch change is needed

Watch Election Choices_ Who Really Represents Us

Think perhaps alot have to do with the system adopted for power. FPTP system result in a one party rule and two party system at best, where even if there are multi parties inside. All except the ruling are insignificant. Have not much say or voice. Thus, not most of the people are represented.

Certain perspectives see. Think FPTP seems somewhat like a modern democratic alternative to the old dynastic system. But won't say PR is better. Both have their pros and cons.

Think maybe would tend like to see something taking the best of FPTP and PR. Better for stable system and yet better representation for most of the people. The people then have more voice.

mryang

Remember this GE is about selecting someone brave enough to speak up and fight for you in the parliament.

NTB2DO

U realise now seldom ib post? Cut cost?
Cost of living high?
Edit : Maybe ib oso give up liao
Not necessarily IB.. I think there really are die-hard PAP-supporting posters. If we are seeing fewer and fewer of them, chance is, they too are beginning to lose faith in PAP liao..

I suspect PAP is also aware that they losing people' trust, else if PAP is still confident that majority of voters still support them, why the need to redraw electoral boundaries which, 'coincidentally', happens to work in their favour?

askxyz

PE is different from GE.
PE got gerrymandering?
Just that they disqualified and let in lousy candidates that all.
During PE, didn't we all want " pull down pap overall % vote" but just look at the overall result. never count on divided sinkies :o

NTB2DO

Yah… Our President also not a politically affiliated… but u know I know…
He isn't because it's people who chose him. Not PAP. So he need not let PAP dictate what he should or shouldn't do. Just like the late OTC, from PAP but not necessarily pro-PAP since it was the people who had voted him in.

Unlike Hailmah's case. - she's there because PAP put her there, not we choose one.

mryang

During PE, didn't we all want " pull down pap overall % vote" but just look at the overall result. never count on divided sinkies :o
Yes it didn't pull down at as people know president can do very little thing. So why bother. Plus they just pull in a lousy candidates to contest. So what do you say ...

But GE is different lot of hidden treasures candidate for people to pick.
Just that they wear different uniforms only.

The most important is choosing someone dare enough to speak up and fight for you in the parliament. Where bill and policy are make.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.