[GE2025] Extensive changes to electoral boundaries due to population shifts; only 5 GRCs, 4 SMCs left intact

NTB2DO

MIW has just removed 3900 voters from Aljunied GRC ,out of 147,000 voters.
3900 voters ,less than 3 % of GRC voters,are in 2 condo and new BTO estate.
who know how many pro WP?
The removal may help WP.
Hougnag SMC and Sengkeng GRC boundary remind unchanged .

so strong holds of WP almost intact.

why miw allow such happen.

why give WP a good chance to keep the seats?

2020 and 2025 boundary

https://www.eld.gov.sg/pdf/White_Pa...lectoral_Boundaries_Review_Committee_2020.pdf

https://www.eld.gov.sg/pdf/White_Pa...lectoral_Boundaries_Review_Committee_2025.pdf

Because they know that remove or don't remove, WP still wins..

More and more are pinning hope on WP/PSP rather than the yesman of PAP..

NTB2DO

You entitled to your belief. But I personally think that PAP will rule beyond SG100. I have not seen the chosen one appearing in any opposition parties that can lead the opposition to challenge the incumbent party.
PS of WP is good. Had he not been from opposition party, I believe he would make a better leader than LHL (now ex-PM).

But of cos, that's just me.

NTB2DO

It is the hard truth that Chee has to accept in his life. There is no miracle for him. Politics are about money. He has to sell tickets at $100 each to run the campaign while the incumbent party can have political donations by the hundreds of thousand dollars within weeks. Which Singapore billionaires or millionaires support opposition?

Using US' politics as an example, even without Musk's donation, Trump has many other billionaires pouring money to his campaign.

The time will come for opposition is the day that Singapore billionaires or millionaires started to support opposition through million of dollars donations. Until then, opposition has no chance.
PAP can rely on rich individuals to make huge donation, but opposition party can rely on many individuals to donate to them.. 积少成多 - If a million make $1 donation to opposition, opposition would have $1m of fund.

And that's what I did, a small donation to WP. Perhaps I'll make donation to PSP as well. :)

NTB2DO

thats y now no one even bother to talk abt ps court case.......
all still showing support for wp

even when i talk to my pro oppo coll no one even mention
That one bo bian, Judge said RK's 'take to grave' more believable. And under SG law, we cannot disagree with Judge. So might as well don't talk about it.

Having said that, I quite agree with LMW's "公道自在人心".

mryang

上届大选战况最激烈九大区 选区划分结果是火上浇油还是釜底抽薪

选区范围检讨委员会报告3月11日出炉,针对它发言的反对党代表几乎一面倒地表示不满和抗议,损害反对党利益等等。

反对党会有这样的看法,是因为他们一向活动的选区若在重新划分后“缩水”,甚至并入另一个集选区而完全消失,等同于让他们白费力气,甚至前功尽弃。

这个说法如果成立,那选区划分的效应,理应在选情胶着的选区最为显著。

人民行动党秘书长黄循财在去年11月的干部大会上发言时提到,只要选票稍有波动,执政党可能再失去三、四个集选区。

这三、四个集选区相信是上届大选得票率低于60%的四个集选区:西海岸、东海岸、马林百列和蔡厝港。

若以行动党得票率低于60%、加上得票差距不超过20%为标准,那么本届大选值得大家关注的选区就有以下九个:

阿裕尼集选区自2011年便是工人党选区,即使在人民行动党总得票率达到69.9%的2015年大选也以微弱优势守住。

工人党在2020年大选更在该区获得近60%的选票,将得票差距拉开到19.9%。

该区在这轮选区划分中虽然有一部分划入淡滨尼集选区,但整体来说,选民人数只减少4.17%,接受媒体访问的分析员认为,这个改变对工人党在阿裕尼的表现应该不会有太大的影响。

蔡厝港集选区在这次的选区划分中变动较大,除了划出武吉甘柏区,还并入拥有1万1621名选民的登加新镇,选民人数比上届大选少了9.55%。

登加居民迁入不久,政治取向较难捉摸,对竞选蔡厝港的候选人是利是弊,仍是未知数。

马林百列集选区这次最显著的改变,借《联合早报》一个新闻标题来说,就是:“麦波申10年后重回马林百列怀抱”。

综合受访分析师的意见,由于麦波申单选区议员陈佩玲在上届大选表现优异,将麦波申并入马林百列-布莱德岭集选区对执政党有利,但只要工人党出面挑战,行动党的胜利就未必有保证。

玛丽蒙单选区的选民人数在选区划分后,仅减少0.94%,是这9个选区中波动幅度最小的选区。空军将领出身的颜晓芳在上届大选初试啼声,就获得55.04%的选票,击败前进党的洪永元医生。

据报道,后者今年1月通知前进党,其中委任期在3月结束后不会寻求连任,也不会参加大选,但前进党秘书长潘群勤早前接受《联合早报》访问时透露,前进党有意竞逐包括玛丽蒙在内的14个议席。

人民联盟也在选区范围检讨报告公布后宣布有意角逐的选区,其中也包括玛丽蒙。

对这个单选区来说,大家应该关注的或许不是选区范围的变动,而是会不会发生多角战?

武吉巴督、武吉班让
武吉巴督和武吉班让这两个单选区在上届大选分别由民主党的徐顺全和淡马亚角逐,两人的得票率也相近,分别为45.20%和46.27%。

只是,这轮选区划分之后,武吉班让的选民人数只减少了4.79%,武吉巴督单选区却被并入裕廊东-武吉巴督集选区。

民主党认为,成功为武吉巴督区竞选活动举行筹款参会后,该区旋即消失,“太过于巧合”。

民主党接下来会如何出招,是孤注一掷,将淡马亚调往武吉巴督,再找另外三人凑齐五人团队,竞逐裕廊东-武吉巴督集选区?还是让他继续深耕武吉班让?答案或许就在于民主党能否找到足够人选,组队出征裕廊东-武吉巴督集选区了。

东海岸
东海岸是这次选区划分之后选民增加最多的选区,达25.32%。

但它也是行动党上届得票率最低的选区之一,即使副总理王瑞杰在提名日当天“空降”到那里竞选,仍只获得53.39%选票。

时隔五年,行动党团队今年早些时候在该区举办路演,展示“东海岸计划”这些年来如何提升该社区,加上汤申-东海岸地铁线多站通车,本届大选是行动党团队验收成果的时刻了吗?

只是,上届同样角逐东海岸集选区的工人党这些年来仍持续不断在该区活动,近日的新脸孔也包括高级律师尼荷哈佩星,预料会给行动党团队带来不小的挑战。

盛港
上届大选爆出冷门的盛港集选区,本届大选范围不变,但选民人数增加7.74%。

至于辣玉莎的“莎谎门”事件,去年7月接受《联合早报》访问的盛港居民多数已经淡忘,一小部分受访者甚至已经忘了辣玉莎是谁。

行动党今年稍早前改变了该区的阵容,能不能撼动工人党的地位,日后自有分晓。

西海岸
西海岸集选区上届大选仅以3.36%的差距险胜的前进党团队,经过选区划分后,与裕廊集选区合并成为新的西海岸—裕廊西五人集选区,选民人数也增加9.73%。

值得注意的是,新集选区保留了新加坡前进党主席陈清木医生服务长达26年的亚逸拉惹区,以及尚达曼总统过去负责的达曼裕廊区。

陈清木早前表态会在西海岸竞选,上届大选由尚达曼领军的行动党团队又在裕廊区收获74.61%的高得票率。这两区的选民会如何左右选情,值得关注。

https://www.redants.sg/good-reads/story20250313-8928?utm_source=telegram

buzzlightyear852

That one bo bian, Judge said RK's 'take to grave' more believable. And under SG law, we cannot disagree with Judge. So might as well don't talk about it.

Having said that, I quite agree with LMW's "公道自在人心".

yes.

but the fact that ppl also dont bother to mention means it has little impact on their voting decision. it shows that even with pap going to the extend of making this clown show has very little effect on trying to 'destroy' wp image.

NTB2DO

During PE, didn't we all want " pull down pap overall % vote" but just look at the overall result. never count on divided sinkies :o
BTW I voted for Tharman. Simply because I think he'll make a better President than the other 2 (though NKS is not bad too).

Nothing to do with him being ex-PAP or not.

Travis_Touchdown

Yes it didn't pull down at as people know president can do very little thing. So why bother. Plus they just pull in a lousy candidates to contest. So what do you say ...

But GE is different lot of hidden treasures candidate for people to pick.
Just that they wear different uniforms only.

The most important is choosing someone dare enough to speak up and fight for you in the parliament. Where bill and policy are make.

mybfd... everything oredi strategized sweez sweez by them riaoz... the only thing they focused most intensively on ish this event every 4-5 yrs... :s12::frown:

tokong

I think the main intention is to subdue Aljunied via Tampines… so high chance will station popular MPs to contest..

Yes, we think the same frequency. They want to take back Aljunied.

Small parts of Aljunied being sliced off means increased probability of losing for WP (assuming the majority of the small parts are WP supporters). Yup, so it is very simple mathematics.

Focus on Sengkang and East Coast. Place more heavy weights there like what WP did in 2011: LTH's very bold move from Hougang to helm the Aljunied team in 2011. But I reckon WP might lose Aljunied (reasons: RK case + redrawn boundary + quite a number of people lost their jobs since 2022-now, youngsters very difficult to find jobs, so more people will anyhow vote or sit on the fence). Sigh, trouble times, where both oppo and incumbent have no advantage over one another on the topic of high cost of living.

misterGomez

Given that general election is around the corner, GE topics became common topics at coffee shops, F&B outlets, offices, etc.

If one has observed carefully, the time for a change in Singapore has not arrived. It could be in the next few hundred years later until the chosen one from the opposition appeared.

Forget about the opposition forming the government to lead the country, it will never happen in the next few hundreds years until the chosen one appears.

What the opposition should be focusing on is to win 1/3 seats in the parliament, and not forming the government. Before learning how to walk, you wanted to run. You will fail miserably. By winning 1/3 seats in the parliament, you will learn how to run Singapore, etc. Learn from the PAP, be humble, learn from them on the good things that they have done, and ignore those who are bad practices, etc. Opposition needs a few decades of skills to maneuver in politics.

A reality check - look at what all the opposition parties are doing. All of them have their own hidden agendas, killing one another if possible. There is no unity. Each wanted to be an Indian chief. Singapore is a very small country, and we have so many opposition parties. For what? You will definitely lose in all elections because of dilution of votes. Until the main opposition is strong enough, the landscape will then create a more favorable time for more opposition parties. The time has not come, and there is no need to have so many opposition parties.

In this up coming election, PAP will have a landslide victory due to the redrawn of the electoral boundaries. None of the opposition is ready to face the new boundaries.

There is no need to KPKB about why the new boundaries are created, etc. One must always remember that the victor says it all. In politics, it is even more paramount.

Interesting moves by PAP.

1) Chee was defeated by a newbie PAP candidate Murali. This clearly shows that Chee will never win in any elections. You can't even defeat a newbie, that alone other heavy weights from PAP. What Chee should be doing for the past years should be grooming new candidates that are creditable, etc.

However, PAP notices that SDP is only strong in Bukit Batok. The best way to get rid of the root of SDP once and for all is to merge Bukit Batok into Jurong East new GRC. This will completely wipe off any potential threats from SDP. SDP has no chance at all in other constituencies as they are too weak.

2) PSP led by Dr Tan is a real threat at West Coast GRC. Again, PAP notices that PSP is only strong in West Coast. The best way to get rid of the root of PSP is to merge West Coast GRC into West Coast-Jurong West new GRC. This will completely wipe off any potential threats from PSP. PSP has no chance at all in other constituencies as they are too weak.

3) WP led by PS and SL at Aljunied GRC with minor changes. The threat is relatively low now given that LTK has stepped down and both PS & SL reputations are tarnished in the RK's saga, PAP stands a very good chance to reclaim Aljunied.

Almost all the GRCs and SMCs are guaranteed win by PAP except Hougang SMC.

Aljunied, Punggol and East Coast GRCs will be a close fight between WP and PAP.

West Coast-Jurong West GRC will be a close fight between PSP and PAP.

The rest of opposition parties stand zero chance at all. Some of them could even lose their deposits.
dun anyhow say lah, do you wish to see 100% PAP? then election for what?? Just become a communist country???

pspandwp

bro, agree with you

also, must not forget to include

Progress_Singapore_Party_logo.png
(y)(y)(y)(y)(y)(y)(y)(y)(y)(y)(y)(y)

misterGomez

No need to speculate. The writings are on the wall. If the ground so sweet already quickly call for early errection. Wait till last min to do means “bey Zhai” already. Need to draw boundaries till tear up opposition wards means lagi bey Zhai. So many old pappies way pass retirement still hemming the GRC wards and not letting go is another sure sign of lack of talent. Imagine asking Gary Neville to still play for Man U now. It’s the exact situation. No need to guess we already know shaky.
well said. the PAP are no longer relevant and ran out of ideas. Only can keep harping about past glories.

StoicGuy

Woker party should already indicate where they are contesting to other opposition. So others can make their preparations.

Sometimes I do feel the way woker party communicating with other oppositions is the same as how PAP communicate with woker party.

Same hao Lian..

theballstopshere

Not necessarily IB.. I think there really are die-hard PAP-supporting posters. If we are seeing fewer and fewer of them, chance is, they too are beginning to lose faith in PAP liao..

I suspect PAP is also aware that they losing people' trust, else if PAP is still confident that majority of voters still support them, why the need to redraw electoral boundaries which, 'coincidentally', happens to work in their favour?
Possibly less ib cos of pap having gone from bad to worse.

pap know that this ge is going to be tough for them. Hence such major gerrymandering, even more than previous GE.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.