[GE2025] Jalan Kayu SMC

valkyrie112

It's not a matter of empathy, it's his willingness to serve the residents. If you want to be a politician, and say you want to serve residents with all your heart, yet swear at them behind their backs, this is hypocrisy at its max. This applies to both PAP and the opposition.

Frankly, I am disappointed, I thought WP would have a fighting chance, given how unpopular NCM is. But now, I think NCM would win.

Why does WP fail to attract good candidates with integrity? Is it because of the predominant sentiment that they would lose their jobs etc if they step forward for the opposition?

But this was a few years ago. If he doesn't have the heart to serve, he would have given up. It is not easy to be a volunteer and many don't stay long. People do mature and learn. I am more concerned over the Income Allianz issue.

Hakuna Matata

I think more than the F-bombs, he sounds like a raging hormonal teenager who is upset at every small thing not going his way. Like, everything.

This is going to cost him. NCM must be thanking his lucky stars now.
Planted Star. Never seen this Facebook page before. Only now, suddenly. πŸ˜‰

Itsthatguy

He say he will serve and help his residents wholeheartedly in front of National TV. Behind the back, he ask his residents to FxxK Off. Hypocrisy to the max.

Same logic as "Every school is a good school....", then mic leaked " Must be from a lousy school..."

wakaozphuhu

My Aunt staying in Fermvale (Jalan Kayu SMC) say she and her family will still vote for Andre from WP. Because he dared to take responsibility for his past doings and apologized.

For the scold resident part, it's because the resident called his private number everyday and he can't call back as the fella never picked up the phone. Who won't be angry?

Not like Ng Chee Meng, who not only did not apologize for the NTUC Allianz deal, but doubled down saying it was done on good faith. What nonsense.

Everyone know once Income sold, there was no guarantee the German company will uphold the social mission of Income, which was to give affordable insurance policies to the masses.

krikering

to some parent they even curve fxxx to their kids..... seriously its private matter and hey everyone curses in their own way and pap mps sure do tht too just suay he was baotou out by "friends" in sheep colthing
My grandmother is one example, she is 90++ years old and has dialysis. She is super demanding, gets upset at every little single stuff. Don't know how to switch to HDMI1 for the tv settings, help her write down medicine quantity amounts (so that know which specific ones to request more from the doctor at dialysis centre), tell her I am full le she still keep on forcing me to eat and we all need to sit down with her to eat when our off-work hours all different, tv + fan controller keep misplacing then we need to help her find delay abit she will kpkb, etc.

The maids also keep changing because they all cannot tahan her, then each time change the amount of administrative work is no joke one, the previous maid even stole my mother's handbags and some valuables at home. Btw, maid salaries + levy + her food and other costs also no joke.

Need to keep topping up her maid's Grab account balance because she need to accompany my grandmother to hospitals, my grandmother sits in a wheelchair and the hospital is out of town area so public transportation is virtually impossible.

Sometimes, grab drivers worried that my grandma's wheelchairs accidentally scratch the back of their cars as well.

But I do Not blame them (We need to be considerate for one another, show compassion and sympathy to each other).

After all the car is their likelihood. If it is damaged then, will affect their ricebowls. They also got family one, need to pay bills, etc.

Most important, my grandma's monthly hospital bills are expensive due to being private (public dialysis services not cheap and quality is really bad now in the general hospitals with nurses understaffed, etc.).

We all still try our best to accommodate her as she is our grandma but if privately curse her (not that we wish anything bad to her, but just that we need to vent our anger if not will kisiao) then we are in the wrong meh?
We still properly fulfill our obligations to her, at the expense of our own free time after work.

North Tree

Nothing wrong with ranting your personal opinions with a group of close friends. If you have to watch what you say even with your close friends, and that is before declaring to run for elections, then you live a very sad life.

Having say that, please choose your close friends wisely. Someone obviously backstabbed you with the leak if you get what I mean.

TopGun

It's not a matter of empathy, it's his willingness to serve the residents. If you want to be a politician, and say you want to serve residents with all your heart, yet swear at them behind their backs, this is hypocrisy at its max. This applies to both PAP and the opposition.

Frankly, I am disappointed, I thought WP would have a fighting chance, given how unpopular NCM is. But now, I think NCM would win.

Why does WP fail to attract good candidates with integrity? Is it because of the predominant sentiment that they would lose their jobs etc if they step forward for the opposition?

An expression of frustration against a person who buzzed him on his personal phone. I think that excusable.

Just because I want to help a person does not preclude me from being angry, frustrated or even venting to my friends, using swear words.

Audio8

My Aunt staying in Fermvale (Jalan Kayu SMC) say she and her family will still vote for Andre from WP. Because he dared to take responsibility for his past doings and apologized.

For the scold resident part, it's because the resident called his private number everyday and he can't call back as the fella never picked up the phone. Who won't be angry?

Not like Ng Chee Meng, who not only did not apologize for the NTUC Allianz deal, but doubled down saying it was done on good faith. What nonsense.

Everyone know once Income sold, there was no guarantee the German company will uphold the social mission of Income, which was to give affordable insurance policies to the masses.
NCM has apologized during his walkabout though it is not entirely his fault..

TopGun

Was actually hoping he get in after listening to his rally speeches

guess this is a big blow to him getting in
He’s here to serve the people
You meet all kind of unreasonable residents
But to use vulgar words on them will no doubt turn some voters off.

I think it's legit to express one's frustrations using swear words in a private group chat.

Someone else spoke up for Andre.​

https://www.reddit.com/r/SingaporeRaw/comments/1kb7ajd/i_know_the_real_andre_low/

I know the real Andre Low

Serious Politics
Since someone who claims to know Andre personally has decided to bring his private life and messages into public discourse, I wanted to also share a few of my personal experiences with Andre.
Andre and I went to university in London together, where he was two years my senior in our three-year law course. I can confirm that he is indeed brash, opinionated and prone to going off on a bit of a rant sometimes.
But in my first few months of university in a foreign country, I saw that Andre was the first to welcome his fellow Singaporean juniors and provide a space for us to find community in each other by hosting us at his place. As a senior member of our faculty’s law committee, he also took care of us as his fellow Singaporeans during the freshman events, where western sensibilities on alcohol consumption could sometimes prove a challenge for our local livers. When he was the senior mooting officer, he even took the time to give me feedback personally about my mooting style and speak candidly about what I could do better (like speaking slower for the ang mohs).
Even thousands of miles away, Andre’s heart was for his countrymen.
When we became lawyers, Andre once told me that he had gone a month on two hours of sleep every night working for one of the best lawyers in Singapore. And although we had always known he wanted to be the next Davinder Singh, he gave that dream up not because he couldn’t hack it, but because he told us one day that he didn’t want his parents to die before he found the time to spend with them. He made a decision to change career paths and shelve his dreams for his family.
So sure, Andre can be an opinionated jerk that’s dissatisfied with a lot of things. That’s not surprising for someone who’s been through all of the things that young Singaporeans like us have been through, and have been clamoring on about to our friends (often in less than kosher terms).

But to anyone reading this: I wouldn’t doubt the sincerity of Andre’s compassion and empathy for a nanosecond.
Why else would he put himself out there at great personal cost to himself and to his family to try and change Singapore for the better? Why else would he open himself up to intense scrutiny, where even his private messages have now found their way to CNA and ST?
The real Andre Low is a man who’s dissatisfied, but who has channeled that dissatisfaction into a life of sacrificial service for his nation. If he seems more calibrated in his speeches than he does in his texts, that is only because he’s sensible enough to know that screaming firebrands don’t effect lasting change.

I’m damned proud of him for rising to the challenge and I’d gladly send a bulldog like him to parliament. I encourage the voters of Jalan Kayu to judge Andre’s sincerity and commitment based on his actions - not on some out of context screenshots of his personal messages posted by someone with a vendetta.
And to Andre - your friends support you 100%. Not all of us are snakes.
(P.S saw a comment that Andre seems like a good dude to have a beer with. Can confirm this is true - man is a beast)

Audio8

Someone else spoke up for Andre.​

https://www.reddit.com/r/SingaporeRaw/comments/1kb7ajd/i_know_the_real_andre_low/

I know the real Andre Low

Serious Politics
Since someone who claims to know Andre personally has decided to bring his private life and messages into public discourse, I wanted to also share a few of my personal experiences with Andre.
Andre and I went to university in London together, where he was two years my senior in our three-year law course. I can confirm that he is indeed brash, opinionated and prone to going off on a bit of a rant sometimes.
But in my first few months of university in a foreign country, I saw that Andre was the first to welcome his fellow Singaporean juniors and provide a space for us to find community in each other by hosting us at his place. As a senior member of our faculty’s law committee, he also took care of us as his fellow Singaporeans during the freshman events, where western sensibilities on alcohol consumption could sometimes prove a challenge for our local livers. When he was the senior mooting officer, he even took the time to give me feedback personally about my mooting style and speak candidly about what I could do better (like speaking slower for the ang mohs).
Even thousands of miles away, Andre’s heart was for his countrymen.
When we became lawyers, Andre once told me that he had gone a month on two hours of sleep every night working for one of the best lawyers in Singapore. And although we had always known he wanted to be the next Davinder Singh, he gave that dream up not because he couldn’t hack it, but because he told us one day that he didn’t want his parents to die before he found the time to spend with them. He made a decision to change career paths and shelve his dreams for his family.
So sure, Andre can be an opinionated jerk that’s dissatisfied with a lot of things. That’s not surprising for someone who’s been through all of the things that young Singaporeans like us have been through, and have been clamoring on about to our friends (often in less than kosher terms).

But to anyone reading this: I wouldn’t doubt the sincerity of Andre’s compassion and empathy for a nanosecond.
Why else would he put himself out there at great personal cost to himself and to his family to try and change Singapore for the better? Why else would he open himself up to intense scrutiny, where even his private messages have now found their way to CNA and ST?
The real Andre Low is a man who’s dissatisfied, but who has channeled that dissatisfaction into a life of sacrificial service for his nation. If he seems more calibrated in his speeches than he does in his texts, that is only because he’s sensible enough to know that screaming firebrands don’t effect lasting change.

I’m damned proud of him for rising to the challenge and I’d gladly send a bulldog like him to parliament. I encourage the voters of Jalan Kayu to judge Andre’s sincerity and commitment based on his actions - not on some out of context screenshots of his personal messages posted by someone with a vendetta.
And to Andre - your friends support you 100%. Not all of us are snakes.
(P.S saw a comment that Andre seems like a good dude to have a beer with. Can confirm this is true - man is a beast)
Yup, Hypocritry to the max in front of National TV. His FxxK Off to his residents already show his character already.

TitanSmall

Hypocrisy to the MAX.

In front of National TV, say one thing. Behind the back, FxxK Off those who seek help from him.
im sure a lot of our politicians are... you think they saint meh...

Edit: politicians include those from PAP and WP

krikering

NCM has apologized during his walkabout though it is not entirely his fault..
The fact that you are endorsing NCM really makes me wonder alot.

The NTUC Income-Allianz Insurance is so consequential to everyone, we all literally will 100% pay more insurance premiums on top of our already high insurance costs (Not talking about investment kinds but just the basic e.g helathcare, etc.).

The news broke up in July 2024, Tan Suee Chieh himself confirmed he emailed NCM a few times but he Did NOT bother to reply at all.

He only spoke about it a few days ago, even now he still depends on LHL, etc. to speak up for him despite being the Secretary-General of NTUC since 2018 and was once the CDF.

He is not young, he will be 57 years old this year.

Even now, PAP still cannot decide whether him/GKY is the person responsible and changes there narrative when Tan Suee Chieh posts something new everyday.

Do you think he is sincerely apologetic and has been accountable for his actions?

NTUC Income-Allianz Insurance deal is not a private chat setting scenario hor, it concerns you, me and everyone else.

Are you honestly aware of how SERIOUS the implications are, if it did indeed went through?

oOsiMm

My grandmother is one example, she is 90++ years old and has dialysis. She is super demanding, gets upset at every little single stuff. Don't know how to switch to HDMI1 for the tv settings, help her write down medicine quantity amounts (so that know which specific ones to request more from the doctor at dialysis centre), tell her I am full le she still keep on forcing me to eat and we all need to sit down with her to eat when our off-work hours all different, tv + fan controller keep misplacing then we need to help her find delay abit she will kpkb, etc.

The maids also keep changing because they all cannot tahan her, then each time change the amount of administrative work is no joke one, the previous maid even stole my mother's handbags and some valuables at home. Btw, maid salaries + levy + her food and other costs also no joke.

Need to keep topping up her grab because she need to accompany my grandmother to hospitals, my grandmother sits in a wheelchair and the hospital is out of town area so public transportation is virtually impossible. Sometimes, grab drivers worried that my grandma's wheelchairs accidentally scratch the back of their cars as well.

Most important, her monthly hospital bills are expensive due to being private (public dialysis services not cheap and quality is really bad now in the general hospitals with nurses understaffed, etc.).

We all still try our best to accommodate her as she is our grandma but if privately curse her (not that we wish anything bad to her, but just that we need to vent our anger if not will kisiao) then we are in the wrong meh?
We still properly fulfill our obligations to her, at the expense of our own free time after work.
bro, i agree and uderstand your situtation a lot!!! I am also a main caregiver now and its stressful and tired.

Aside from managing a healthcare work myself (help patients and being a part of recovery journey, show empathy etc etc) is already tiring but thats what we like to do. Then come home (or sometimes at work) having to manage home matters taking care of a elderly frail parent, msgs come by email, phonrcall abt near falls, to buy this that before coming home, medicine not enough etc etc, aside from the need to send parent to multiple medical r/v each month, its taxing (esp if most siblings not helping).

so ya i am not perfect so are my siblings, they do curse and say its parent karma (not at good terms and not close with one parent since young). but ya we still need to support and help elderly parent as much as we can, aka return the favour.

without venting, cursing and kpkb, we all will kisiao. This is me, I am normal dude, not a saint.

cloudnim

bro, i agree and uderstand your situtation a lot!!! I am also a main caregiver now and its stressful and tired.

Aside from managing a healthcare work myself (help patients and being a part of recovery journey, show empathy etc etc) is already tiring but thats what we like to do. Then come home (or sometimes at work) having to manage home matters taking care of a elderly frail parent, msgs come by email, phonrcall abt near falls, to buy this that before coming home, medicine not enough etc etc, aside from the need to send parent to multiple medical r/v each month, its taxing (esp if most siblings not helping).

so ya i am not perfect so are my siblings, they do curse and say its parent karma (not at good terms and not close with one parent since young). but ya we still need to support and help elderly parent as much as we can, aka return the favour.

without venting, cursing and kpkb, we all will kisiao. This is me, I am normal dude, not a saint.
IMH not enough beds liao ,is only human to curse and swear during low periods of their life

krikering

when they cannot convince you sincerely, they will try every tactic and use every tool at their disposal including the media to confuse you :s15:
If NCM gets voted in, he most probably will get a high level post since there is a reason why he is in the CEC.
Somemore, even though he lost in 2020 GE they still kept him as Secretary-General of NTUC.

I hope everyone, especially JK residents can try to think of the consequences about him being in a important post (e.g cabinet-level) where his actions will impact everyone.

It is practically impossible for WP MPs to be office-holders in a PAP-dominated government. Andre Low will just be a MP to help his residents in the municipal level and speak up for us ordinary Singaporean Citizens in the bread-and-butter issues as an opposition MP not being bounded by the party whip.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.