[GE2025] PAP Discussion Thread

Okeirkkire

First time hear this from hardcore PAP supporter ... I think PAP is in for a roller coaster.
Usually hardcore PAP supporter very proud to say PAP all the way one..

*I think he means that he's gonna vote for OPPO.
*correct me if i'm wrong : From my experience, last time is pretend to be OPPO but vote for PAP
Many pap voter will void their vote
Edit : no more advantages as year goes by with new citizen eroding into their space

JonWeak

Every elections people will say oppie got chance.

But end up pap faceroll to a supermajority as usual
This time Oppo really got chance especially WP. Most of their candidates so far are well established and good portfolios. Now depends if sinkies want to vote them in or continue to kpkb

dambio

The man has died and the son undid all the work, did not respect last wishes. If the morons still buy the milking I got nothing left to say already.

Sheep will be sheep.
Last time alot of ppl r uneducated. Can't blame them also. As lky is sg's hero to them.

dqwong

They didn't lose their way

They just decided to go another way

5679275592_2a240249d1.jpg

dambio

Boomers brainwash by papies already
Some youngsters also leh. Those still in unis. Believe wat d school n those miws who go give speeches say. Till they get a rude awakening after stepping into society. N realised it's all a lie.

Spike

I si bei dislike the amount of free, and paid publicity a PAP candidate can get vs members of opposition parties.. 1 PAP candidate gets 10X exposure of 1 opposition party. :mad:

Monstruo^

OYK is like the supersmart kid in school who did triple science, and then still got time to join NPCC and basketball school team, and score straight As while also piano grade 8 and volunteering in church.

there are people like that one.
But don’t recall him contributing to anything leh.

dambio

if you look at the introduction of WP candidates... no kpkb .. only talking about their cause and motivation to be running.

WP really is the strongest party at the moment.

PSP and SDP would do well to merge to form a more formidable party. they got quite a few good candidates among them but have to be pair with mediocre candidates to form GRCs.

PAP need to quickly fire their PR and media team. Groupthink is so strong even among the PR and marketing team... that they are still stuck in the past way of doing media and publicity for the PAP.

It will be just like how groupthink make every candidate introduce themselves with kpkb story...

it will be just like how groupthink have created the only solution to every problem is Increase foreign population to work, increase taxes, charge whatever you can.

LTK really is a leader. influence so many people to join him.

But I think we can see real progress ...
last time.. anyone can be candidate.

nowadays.. WP side.. it seems the threshold keep moving higher and higher..
most are accomplished professionals.

Maybe cannot be call Workers Party anymore. blue collar workers really .. always is get thrown out no matter which party is involved.

There r myths n beliefs among elderlies tat cdc plus other goodies Oni pap will give. If vote oppo then no more Liao. Hard to fight tis mentality of theirs.

TimsTom

Even 前线追踪 recently mentioned the politicians are all going other media platforms to appeal to the younger voters. Why would this publicity stunts of theirs be seen as lost the way and not just following trend to garner more votes leh??

highsulphur

First time hear this from hardcore PAP supporter ... I think PAP is in for a roller coaster.
Usually hardcore PAP supporter very proud to say PAP all the way one..

*I think he means that he's gonna vote for OPPO.
*correct me if i'm wrong : From my experience, last time is pretend to be OPPO but vote for PAP
He is very confused. Ask him so what he wants exactly

Food_Lover

It was an unexpected win, driven very much by Jamus and He TR, especially the former’s televised debate with VB. And that is just one additonal unexpected result. So I won’t say it is 100% impossible for WP to make further inroads but we should manage our expectations that it may or may not happen (WP capturing a 3rd GRC this time round)
If Sylvia Lim + Harpreet Singh + popular Malay candidate contest East Coast GRC, there will be fighting chances.

smellyfish

Depends what's the agenda and what topics are they talking about on radio. If there's no propaganda then maybe still ok. But end of the day we vote them into Parliament is to voice and handle our concerns. Why he so much time can part-time at radio station for a month?
one hour a week, four hours a month cannot squeeze out meh?

couch.potato

New gen of Z pissed off already, and can't milk LKY any more. Old folks dying and decomposing alone at home.

Yeah they should be scared.
Gen Z’s thoughts are still quite volatile. You can tell from Reddit…

while they are affected by the high housing prices and uncertainty of unemployment, a lot of them are still very unsure about opposition, regardless of the fact that the WP is fielding more “reliable” candidates.

And with people who are unsure, they typically lean towards the incumbent come polling day. Unfortunately.

Evcats

The shift in voter sentiment toward Lawrence Wong—even among previously pro-opposition circles—boils down to a mix of strategic rebranding, generational change, and perceived relatability. Here’s why he might pull more votes than LHL did:

1. The "Underdog" Effect (Even Though He’s PAP)​

• LHL = Political blue blood (son of LKY, groomed for leadership).
  • LW = Unexpected successor (wasn’t the first-choice DPM, survived a near-miss in 2011 GE).
    Opposition-leaning voters often root for "non-legacy" figures, even within the establishment. LW’s rise feels less entitled and more earned—a narrative that softens anti-PAP sentiment.

2. Relatability: The "Everyman" Illusion​

• LHL’s Style: Aristocratic, statesman-like ("I know what’s best").
  • LW’s Style: Awkward-but-likeable ("I’m just trying my best").
    His cringe TikTok dances, unpolished speeches, and "I’m not perfect" vibe make him seem less "wayang" than typical PAP elites. Even critics admit: "At least he doesn’t talk like a textbook."

3. Opposition’s Weak Hand​

• Workers’ Party (WP): Stuck between attacking PAP and not looking like sore losers.
  • Other Parties: No credible PM alternative (PSP’s Tan Cheng Bock is 84, SDP’s Chee Soon Juan still polarizing).
    Result? LW benefits from "least-worst option" logic. Protest voters think: "If PAP must win, better him than another elite."

4. Policy Repackaging​

LW’s "Forward Singapore" initiative is classic rebranding:

• Same PAP policies, but framed as "listening to you".
  • Small concessions (e.g., tweaks to housing/CPF rules) marketed as "major reforms".
    Opposition can’t easily counter this without looking nitpicky.

5. The "Post-LKY" Dividend​

LHL governed under his father’s shadow—every criticism of him felt like criticism of Singapore’s founding. LW has no such baggage. Voters project their hopes onto him: "Maybe he’ll be less authoritarian?" (Spoiler: He won’t, but the perception buys goodwill.)

6. Opposition’s Own Goal​

By over-focusing on PAP scandals (Ridout Road, Iswaran) instead of articulating a vision, they’ve let LW define the narrative. His response? "I’m here to fix things"—a blank canvas voters fill with their wishes.

The Catch? It Won’t Last.​

LW’s honeymoon will end when:

• He makes unpopular decisions (e.g., another GST hike).
  • The economy stumbles (global recession, job losses).
  • Voters realize "new face" ≠ new policies.
But for now? He’s the Teflon PM—criticism slides off because "he just started mah!" Smart politics, but the real test comes when voters’ patience runs out.

Final Thought:
LW’s secret weapon isn’t charisma—it’s low expectations. After decades of LHL’s polished statesmanship, Singaporeans are disarmed by a leader who feels human. Whether that translates to long-term votes depends on if he can deliver more than just vibes.

jackiehuat

I see nothing wrong

if want to pick on pap issues, this should not be the one

OYK engaged many influencers to do publicity for him. Did he use his own money or MOH funding? That is why LOTO said that Pappies are very well-resourced.

dxdx999

It was an unexpected win, driven very much by Jamus and He TR, especially the former’s televised debate with VB. And that is just one additonal unexpected result. So I won’t say it is 100% impossible for WP to make further inroads but we should manage our expectations that it may or may not happen (WP capturing a 3rd GRC this time round)
It was

He was a nobody on the debate day. VB didn't even prep for Jamus, and only focused on SDP.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.