[GE2025] SDP Discussion Thread

Feeling down, anxious and need help? Mental Health Helpline: 6389-2222 (24 hours) More info

Senfai

Ah but they fail to understand the sinkie pawn sinkie mentality

let’s say I fresh grad just bought BTO for 500k last year

now BTO worth 270k? My value just drop by half?

how I flip my 500k BTO for 1 mil! I rather pawn future sinkies
Conversely, if I’m looking to buy a house this year, I will support right?

so this policy will gain favour when the number of home seekers voters exceed the home owner voters.

and since more people own homes than homeless, not likely to be anytime soon.

sukukia

majority of sinkies wants to buy premium hdb in choice location near mrt station on high floor with nice view at $270k. how do sdp propose to satisfy these sinkies? what do sdp propose to do for those sinkies who are not so lucky to get a flat?

snapp

To address housing affordability, the SDP proposes introducing the non-open market (NOM) scheme.

SDP argues this will make homes cheaper because the cost of an HDB flat will only include the cost of construction and administration.

It said HDB flats with 99-year leases will be built on land specially zoned for public housing and not contain a land cost component. This is unlike the current HDB practice of including the cost of land in public housing.

SDP said it believes the NOM scheme can offer 2-room flats at around $90,000; 3-room at $120,000; 4-room units at $200,000; and 5-room apartments at $270,000.

It added that studio apartments with 30-year leases can be sold for around $40,000.

SDP proposes NOM flats only be sold back to HDB at the purchase price less the consumed lease, and their leases cannot be transferred in the HDB resale market.

It suggests current owners of open market flats will have the option of converting to the NOM scheme, where the Government will return an amount based on the original purchase price from the HDB and the price of an NOM flat of the same type.

HDB will also hold a buffer stock of HDB flats to enable Singaporeans to obtain their flats with minimal waiting times.

For education, SDP’s manifesto proposes doing away with the PSLE, offering interest-free student loans for all undergraduates, and nationalising all preschools to make preschool education affordable for everyone.

Source: https://www.straitstimes.com/singap...ts-to-sell-for-up-to-270000-do-away-with-psle

mike-q

This is what we called raiding the reserve. Sell to edmwers at $270,000 so that edmwers can sell for $1,300,000, fleeching one million dollars from the government?

Absolutely not!!!
so HDB giving out grants are not fleeching the govt and taxpayers?

li9ht5peed

so many people are addicts. addicted to monetary gains. they can never accept paper losses even if it will benefit their children. thankfully trump is around to bash singapore

Manofmanypro

They should gave motherhood statements instead of putting a price tag on hdb flat. Now a lot of property owners are concerned. :O

CCCustom

Personally felt that CST was a MP that was simply contented to hold onto his PP seat all along, by the time he get to the stage where he felt it was necessary for him to contest a GRC was already too late.
It goes deeper than that.

He tried with SDP and grooming a successor i.e. CSJ, and failed.

He tried expanding with SDA and grooming a successor i.e. Desmond, and failed.

These made him withdraw into his shell and not trust people. Yaw Shin Leong shared before that before he joined WP he tried to join SPP and they suspected he was a PAP plant or something … he said that they asked, why would a young person want to join SPP?

And like I was saying … Chao Botak left because CST did not see him as someone he can trust to hand Potong Pasir over to, instead the only person he could trust was his wife … don’t say Chao Botak, even Wilfred as the official Assistant Sec-Gen also he don’t trust to take over Potong Pasir, so Wilfred also kenna psycho-ed to leave with Chao Botak.

jeffprobst

They should propose buy and sell regulate thru hdb. And if crosses a certain profit threshold, the money will go into public funds.

sglandscape

Ah but they fail to understand the sinkie pawn sinkie mentality

let’s say I fresh grad just bought BTO for 500k last year

now BTO worth 270k? My value just drop by half?

how I flip my 500k BTO for 1 mil! I rather pawn future sinkies
Correct lor, more people owns home than those who do not. Why would most who are home owners want to pander to the needs of the minority.

arcturuz

i expected better from dr chee and prof tambyah

this 270k is a joke

MaskedRider555

Anyone who owns a HDB or private property will denounce him.

The rest are just sour grapes who missed the boat but claims they are thinking for "the younger gen who cannot afford a house".
yah lor...people waiting to make money

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.