[GE2025] SDP Discussion Thread

Feeling down, anxious and need help? Mental Health Helpline: 6389-2222 (24 hours) More info

OddEye

I won't be surprised Paul tamyah join psp if psp wins west coast tbh. Generally psp is more left than wp but more right than sdp

Philipkee

his rally yesterday

the crowds were not so great but Ariffin, tambyah and Chee were popular with the crowd

Almost fainted when one of the guys gave a speech in Chinese. My friend told me he probably doesn’t know the language just reading the hanyu pinyin off a script

messidona

Paul Tambyah looks to be the only decent guy in SDP.

Too bad got brought down by the new candidates in the party.

I was disappointed that Dr Chee fielded Arrifin given his background as wakeupsg activist and his case with KKH. Sad to say I was proven right. Woke politics can be really divisive.

but I guess for Dr Chee, birds of a feather?
Next time Arrifin will stir woke topics like Chinese privilege and play race. You disagree with him kena labelled as racist. SDP attracts those sjw activists likes Kirsten han

Vicodin

As long as CSJ and Paul Tambyah gets in even though everyone knows chances not high, am happy liao.

We need more voices in the parliament to speak out on bread-and-butter issues like healthcare (which Paul Tambyah is an exprt), manpower, housing, transportation and other COL, etc.

MPs are not estate managers, and should prioritize national-level issues 1st.

Ariffin has potential, as long as SDP senior members guide him gradually he might be a strong candidate in a SMC 5 years later.

Other than him, the only ones which can leave an impression imo are perhaps Surayah Akbar and James Gomez.

As for Gigene Wong, after this election she can go liao la.
Ariffin cannot la.

He spent his rally speech talking about his pet activist topics. Even his own audience also shout at him to shut up and move on.

If he's considered a rising star, then SDP will always be a mosquito party appealing to the far left. :s13:

RinoaX

Very long nvr see this ts already. Suddenly election come back.

Election sold account, desperately need money?

Can Or Not

fearmonger again.

u think everyone born the 1st day can know how to walk and run?

same analogy i put across to you, when you started your first job, who took a leap of faith and give u a chance when u have no experience at all?
You don’t understand something. If you read Romance of Three Kingdom, only Zhuge Liang can be strategist. Some are good but just not good enough…

kimsix

Actually another way to bring ALL HDB prices down maybe to start building bigger flats only but keeping prices the same.

pap answer is plh, those are smaller

Dont that tell us their asset appreciation of public housing is unsustainable?

Just think, in what ways hdb can appreciate?

why oyk never tell us? Pap like to question alternative, but why they never give us clear answers

dambio

reminder desmond lee introducing PLH scheme, even smaller more expensive public housing.

pap enjoy inflating land costs gaolat, while sinkies enjoy another round of shrinkflation. :o

what is pap end game for hdb? 60 years lease next time?

Increase population so must build smaller to house more ppl.

Unless they all go rent in jb.

NOfLine

pap answer is plh, those are smaller

Dont that tell us their asset appreciation of public housing is unsustainable?

Just think, in what ways hdb can appreciate?

why oyk never tell us? Pap like to question alternative, but why they never give us clear answers
There maybe truth to many commentators' assessment....OYK or PAP cannot give clear answers because they don't have any! Just monitoring....kicking the can down the road.

Once you touch one part, the other part will fall away and they are fearful to anger voters.

carlongerdidu93

First lunchtime rally by opposition party
https://www.channelnewsasia.com/singapore/ge2025-campaigning-day-7-general-election-5090646

494285942_1235299431294772_981823117255164533_n.jpg

SDP is holding its lunchtime rally - the first by an opposition party this election - at the promenade area beside UOB Plaza from 12pm to 3pm.

Eight SDP candidates will be speaking, including party chief Chee Soon Juan, chairman ⁠Paul Tambyah and founder of alternative news outlet Wake Up Singapore, Ariffin Sha.

The party will also be staging a rally tonight at Beacon Primary School in Bukit Panjang SMC, where Professor Tambyah faces the PAP’s Liang Eng Hwa in a straight fight.

IN PICTURES: Preparations under way for SDP’s Fullerton rally
https://www.straitstimes.com/live-singapore-election-nomination-day-2025

The Singapore Democratic Party (SDP) will be holding a rally today at UOB Plaza’s promenade from noon to 3pm.
Merchandise, including bear plushies and mini flags bearing the party’s logo, have been laid out for sale. Police officers have also been dispatched to the area.
eea4ac.jpg
dcd5fb.jpg
35578f.jpg
c92419.jpg

ST PHOTOS: KEVIN LIM

TUV2008

Can CSJ confirm once he wins he will be full time MP, as committed in the rally, so he has to sell off his restaurant?

SCHNOTTZ

I think the voters of Sembawang West SMC are smart enough not to vote for this megalomaniac clown. He's been secretary-general of SDP for 32 years, can't even win with an NCMP seat, let alone MP seat.

http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/asia-pacific/7841485.stm - Megalomaniac Chee asking the then-President Obama to interfere with SG affair

Chiam See Tong spilling the beans on Megalomaniac Chee.

This traitor can screw off and go back to running his restaurant.

simonthunbsdown.jpg

Down with the megalomaniac clown. I live in Marsiling-Yew Tee GRC, will vote wisely.

Prof. Utonium

When CST nominated his own wife, he lost all his credibility in my books.
I think the voters of Sembawang West SMC are smart enough not to vote for this megalomaniac clown. He's been secretary-general of SDP for 32 years, can't even win with an NCMP seat, let alone MP seat.

http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/asia-pacific/7841485.stm - Megalomaniac Chee asking the then-President Obama to interfere with SG affair

Chiam See Tong spilling the beans on Megalomaniac Chee.

This traitor can screw off and go back to running his restaurant.

simonthunbsdown.jpg

Down with the megalomaniac clown. I live in Marsiling-Yew Tee GRC, will vote wisely.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.