[GE2025] SDP Discussion Thread

Feeling down, anxious and need help? Mental Health Helpline: 6389-2222 (24 hours) More info

ShinnAsuka

Other than IBs and miw supporters who think they are not IBs, what the 3 sdp candidates should make sense to anyone else.

miw fear of losing control, because having been high up in ivory towers, nothing should go out of track. They are afraid to acknowledge their own weaknesses when they made not the best decision, and that there can be others more capable than them.

When things start to go out of hand, they become defensive and protective, trying all means to call out their “attackers”, playing “victim”

krikering

Is Chee Soon Juan right about PAP ministers being no longer exceptional?

Capture-12.jpg
CCS is even worse than LW on producing motherhood statements. His speeches alot of those army rhetorics one, no substance at all.

priore

High pay also got iswaran case...the whole high pay no corruption theory out the window liao la.

I mean this is a classic case of not abt inability to buy lei...u see the items that iswaran was given? Nothing there is morbidly out of touch with his pay.

Its always the things that ppl give that tempts u, regardless of ur pay scale.

krikering

High pay also got iswaran case...the while high pay no corruption theory out the window liao la.

I mean this is a classic case of not abt inability to buy lei...u see the items that iswaran was given? Nothing there is morbidly out of touch with his pay.

Ngiam Tong Dow mentioned about this issue before. Using high pay to prevent corruption actually bring a new problem.

https://mothership.sg/2022/07/ngiam-tong-dow-singapore-loving-critic/

"In the early days, Lim Kim San and Goh Keng Swee worked night and day, and they were truly dedicated. I don’t know whether Lee Kuan Yew will agree but it started going downhill when we started to raise ministers’ salaries, not even pegging them to the

national salary but aligning them with the top ten,” said Ngiam. “When you raise ministers’ salaries to the point that they’re earning millions of dollars, every minister – no matter how much he wants to turn up and tell Hsien Loong off or whatever – will hesitate when he thinks of his million-dollar salary. Even if he wants to do it, his wife will stop him"

86technie

High pay also got iswaran case...the while high pay no corruption theory out the window liao la.

True greed like your best friend or someone you know.
You think can gain favor from him.
Like he treat you 1 time F1 means next time also can.
F1 ticket to these Minister are actually peanuts.
So he got no $ for such ticket?
Sinkies where got pay $1million?
Even last night $10 million Toto draw also kelong one.

SCHNOTTZ

whats your take on ncm?
Negative. Income-Allianz is just one reason. I don't think this former 3-star general will stand up for ordinary Singaporeans. He's just another yes man. If I lived in Jalan Kayu SMC, I'd vote for Andre Low. But I give credit to NCM for contesting in an SMC where he could potentially lose.

I just think Chee Soon Juan and his party are one of the mosquitos. Only Paul Tambyah deserves to be elected. WP and PSP are the only opposition parties with "normal" people that I'd vote for. Not SDP (except Tambyah) or any other parties.

Hope PSP will flip West Coast-Jurong West. Hope WP will flip Punggol, Tampines, Jalan Kayu. But I don't hope for CSJ's victory because I despise him.

TUV2008

Negative. Income-Allianz is just one reason. I don't think this former 3-star general will stand up for ordinary Singaporeans. He's just another yes man. If I lived in Jalan Kayu SMC, I'd vote for Andre Low. But I give credit to NCM for contesting in an SMC where he could potentially lose.

I just think Chee Soon Juan and his party are one of the mosquitos. Only Paul Tambyah deserves to be elected. WP and PSP are the only opposition parties with "normal" people that I'd vote for. Not SDP (except Tambyah) or any other parties.

Hope PSP will flip West Coast-Jurong West. Hope WP will flip Punggol, Tampines, Jalan Kayu. But I don't hope for CSJ's victory because I despise him.

Top on the list for "not normal" people will be none other than Lim Tean

MrAwesomeX

High pay also got iswaran case...the whole high pay no corruption theory out the window liao la.

Culture rooted and cheapo human nature I guess .

They are mostly driven by financial perks not passion nor ambition to make sg great again.

That's why I feel they often minimal effort one like part time minister liddat.

TrollAndOgres

First time to a rally and was at beacon pri briefly. Realised they have a sign language interpreter! Wow quite inclusive ah.

And caught Paul Tambyah in the wild when i was walking in hahaha. He's quite gentlemanly.

lingusthefungus

regarding salary, since pap ministers like to say "it is humbling, an honour and privilege to serve", why do they want to take such high salaries. seriously like $500k is mediocre? need $660k per mayor to be aggregate?

come be like our NS men take psychological pay lah.
:crazy:

Hiling care

sdp has to take such candidates because they want to appeal to that audience. otherwise they'll be fighting for the same crowd as pap and wp.
The logic don't make sense leh.

fighting for unwanted votes which are likely the minority?

Hiling care

Ariffin cannot la.

He spent his rally speech talking about his pet activist topics. Even his own audience also shout at him to shut up and move on.

If he's considered a rising star, then SDP will always be a mosquito party appealing to the far left. :s13:
This guy seems to value his activist antics over his party unity.

Pity Paul Tambyah having such running mates.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.