Genting FAQ - Part 2

enigmastar

Ate there a few years ago. Huge restaurant but only a few tables occupied. Soon found out why. Slow service, lousy cooking and ultra expensive. Avoid all Genting run restaurants.

So which restaurant you will recommend?

Godbrother

Can anyone recommend some coach to take from Singapore to Genting? Would be great if it's cheap and comfortable. Thanks! :)

kevinlaikf

How much truth about rumours on Genting Highlands dropping Century Fox and taking up Disney as their theme park?
I heard construction freezed pending outcome.

Sent from my friend's phone using GAGT

enigmastar

Can anyone recommend some coach to take from Singapore to Genting? Would be great if it's cheap and comfortable. Thanks! :)

Take 707. Cheapest i can find in singapore plus now got promotion also. Even cheaper if take from jb.

kia0042

So which restaurant you will recommend?

There is restaurant outside Genting Casino call 云华宫 (near the lift) is big enough to accommodate more than 100 people, they have big tables too, can try lor. The food quite ok lah and the price is reasonable. We usually (6 paxes) have our dinner there, 5 dishes about RM300-350, 2 vegi dishes, 1 chicken dish, 1 toufu dish and 1 others with 6 bowls of rich and a pot of tea (refillable).

The other 2 restaurants that provide Chinese cuisine hear Maxim hotel, take the escalator up 1 level and you can see the 2 restaurants side by side. 老友记 and 名人. 老友记 is bigger with big tables, 名人 is smaller, they provide about the same types of food, maybe 名人 a little more expensive and better than 老友记.

Other restaurants I tried were either expensive or no big table for 13, unless you are willing to split, can try those at Sky Avenue, so far I tried 阿一小厨, food ok, price very much depend what you eat, a small piece of cod fish is RM120, other than that vegi and chichen/meat are reasonable. Another restaurant I tried, 龙的传人 iDragon, the food not so nice...

Each time I visited Genting, I see long Q outside Lobster and Burger, I haven't got a chance to try because of the long Q. Have to wait 2-3 hours for a meal, I really don't know why people are so willing to wait? Is it really that good!?

zeropix2

There is restaurant outside Genting Casino call 云华宫 (near the lift) is big enough to accommodate more than 100 people, they have big tables too, can try lor. The food quite ok lah and the price is reasonable. We usually (6 paxes) have our dinner there, 5 dishes about RM300-350, 2 vegi dishes, 1 chicken dish, 1 toufu dish and 1 others with 6 bowls of rich and a pot of tea (refillable).

The other 2 restaurants that provide Chinese cuisine hear Maxim hotel, take the escalator up 1 level and you can see the 2 restaurants side by side. 老友记 and 名人. 老友记 is bigger with big tables, 名人 is smaller, they provide about the same types of food, maybe 名人 a little more expensive and better than 老友记.

Other restaurants I tried were either expensive or no big table for 13, unless you are willing to split, can try those at Sky Avenue, so far I tried 阿一小厨, food ok, price very much depend what you eat, a small piece of cod fish is RM120, other than that vegi and chichen/meat are reasonable. Another restaurant I tried, 龙的传人 iDragon, the food not so nice...

Each time I visited Genting, I see long Q outside Lobster and Burger, I haven't got a chance to try because of the long Q. Have to wait 2-3 hours for a meal, I really don't know why people are so willing to wait? Is it really that good!?

Bro I think you mean 好有记 right :p

aLeX84

First one in S-E Asia mah, that's why so many suaku queuing outsai constantly. Must try only if you love overpriced western cuisine :s13:

rollanddie

Ate there a few years ago. Huge restaurant but only a few tables occupied. Soon found out why. Slow service, lousy cooking and ultra expensive. Avoid all Genting run restaurants.
The food there is not too bad, price a little on the high side.

Taste is subjective though.

enigmastar

云华宫 is also call Genting Palace Restaurant in English. Since many people recommend and the price sound reasonable, will book that restaurant for my family dinner. Thanks a lot for the help guys.

Btw is there anyway I can email them to book table?

kevinlaikf

I had tried morganfields, lobster & burger, and Kyochon. All are taste nice, but lobster and burger quite disappointing due to its size unless u buy by weight, dont go set meals..
If you buy by weight, you pick the lobster from the tank, they bring it to your table.
Take turns taking selfies with lobster holding by its claw before they bring to kitchen to it got served.

Just to give u an idea the portion.
The lobster meat for a typical set meal is about hotdog sausage flatten or less.

youhsueh

云华宫 is also call Genting Palace Restaurant in English. Since many people recommend and the price sound reasonable, will book that restaurant for my family dinner. Thanks a lot for the help guys.

Btw is there anyway I can email them to book table?

AFAIK, restaurants in Genting don't take reservations over email. You can book table once you arrive in Genting either by walking in to the restaurant directly or calling them via Hotel Guest Services centre. One day in advance is more than enough for non peak period.

Oinkize

How much truth about rumours on Genting Highlands dropping Century Fox and taking up Disney as their theme park?
I heard construction freezed pending outcome.

Might be possible. Fox was bought by disney recently.

kenzie

can I know which coach company confirm got toilet onboard from sg to genting?

samcw2

I don't think this type of coach allowed in malaysia anymore, bcos their MOT got rules stated that coach driver must stop and rest. If I am not wrong.

kia0042

I think it is the stress that make one feels like always want to go toilet, specially traffic jam...... I have the same problem and that's why I avoid taking coach and choose private car which I can avoid the traffic jam.

Anyway, I read someone post before that you can actually ask the driver/bus assistant to stop for toilet if you are really urgent. I don't think anyone inside the coach wish to smell your s**t during their journey. Avoid drinking too much water and heavy/spicy meal few hours before taking the coach and during the journey. Heading up is not a problem if you take night coach, I heard 4-5hours can reach liao, the problem is coming back, almost all the coaches reach Woodlands at the same time during the peak hour 6-8PM... I heard some took 11AM bus but reach home at 11PM.... that's tough~~~

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.