Genting FAQ - Part 2

Smarty2

Maybank Singapore ATM card also can. They also no service charge.

Their exchg rate definitely not as gd as CIMB...confirmed n chopped! 😉...IF u hv CIMB MY account as well even more jolly gd...as u can txfr fr CIMB SG to CIMB MY account with exchg rate that will put SG money changers to shame 😊...confirmed & chopped as well! Go n chk out - dun trust me 😉

Smarty2

This is cimb reply:
you may wish to contact CIMB Malaysia at +603 6204 7788 directly regarding your enquiry. Thank you

Damnit, equally useless.

Go & open up CIMB savings account & request for overseas card activation as well at one go. But i remember i din hv to request n my atm card works on CIMB MY atm's.

vsvs24

Go & open up CIMB savings account & request for overseas card activation as well at one go. But i remember i din hv to request n my atm card works on CIMB MY atm's.

Last few years most banks started to deactivate credit cards and ATM for overseas usage by default due to fraud cases. You can ask for temp activation stating actual dates of travel so that no need to call to deactivate when you return. Same for credit card.

Smarty2

Sounds good, going to make inquiry with CIMB. (This bank~~ Najib's brother opens one, right?)

I ever withdrew RM3k from the Maybank ATM at Genting using my POSBank card, the service charge and exchange rate was like S$60-70.:eek:

P/S: Going up this Sunday:s12:

Just go open an account at CIMB SG n see the difference. Prior to using cimb I nvr knew bank's currency exchg rate for RM can be so close to money changer at SG.

ToshibaPortege

Just go open an account at CIMB SG n see the difference. Prior to using cimb I nvr knew bank's currency exchg rate for RM can be so close to money changer at SG.

How is CIMB's rate compared to Maybank? And also any difference in the exchange rate for ATM inside and out of the Casino?

Asking because I find that using my SG Maybank ATM card to withdraw RM inside Genting's ATM, although there is no charges the rate seemed not too good as compared to just change cash with money changer in SG.

Smarty2

How is CIMB's rate compared to Maybank? And also any difference in the exchange rate for ATM inside and out of the Casino?

Asking because I find that using my SG Maybank ATM card to withdraw RM inside Genting's ATM, although there is no charges the rate seemed not too good as compared to just change cash with money changer in SG.

Had been quite a few mths since i last made comparison but based on previous experience it's pretty significant savings if u opt for CIMB SG card. Having said tat - it will still not be as much as txfr fr yr CIMB SG account to yr CIMB MY account...(and withdraw using yr CIMB MY card) recently it's always beating the best money changer rate in SG.

No differences between inside vs outside casino ATM's.

yhs123321

What is the requirements to open cimb account ? Need to put how much ? I saw raffles place got cimb.

yhs123321

Sounds good, going to make inquiry with CIMB. (This bank~~ Najib's brother opens one, right?)

I ever withdrew RM3k from the Maybank ATM at Genting using my POSBank card, the service charge and exchange rate was like S$60-70.:eek:

P/S: Going up this Sunday:s12:
Oversea withdrawal using sg atm per transaction charge $5 and give u damn lousy rate ,let's say money changer3.0 ,u only get ur 1k sg can withdraw rm 2900 or less, the bank money changer outside skycasino also suck one , rate only 2.9 or 2.8x when actual is 3.00.

youhsueh

How’s the rate at Genting cashier counter?

Rate follows FX Board rate with a small spread. Definitely not better than what our local money changer is offering but pretty close.

I often bring SGD to change for the convenience. Rather bring SGD 1k notes rather than a bulky stack of Ringgit in 50/100 denomination.

Win money change back before they encash. Loose money either withdraw from ATM using my Malaysia ATM card or let them encash the SGD upon 1 week.

Smarty2

What is the requirements to open cimb account ? Need to put how much ? I saw raffles place got cimb.

Cimb SG savings account opening - probably couple of hundreds i can't remember exactly. Cimb MY probably couple of hundreds RM. The cimb SG savings account has no fall-below amount - meaning they dun charge u for having less than a set limit like any other SG banks. Even if yr account has ZERO $$ it's oso allowed n no fall-below charges

Smarty2

Had been quite a few mths since i last made comparison but based on previous experience it's pretty significant savings if u opt for CIMB SG card. Having said tat - it will still not be as much as txfr fr yr CIMB SG account to yr CIMB MY account...(and withdraw using yr CIMB MY card) recently it's always beating the best money changer rate in SG.

No differences between inside vs outside casino ATM's.

Transfer from CIMB SG (SGD $) to CIMB MY (RM):
Date: 16th Oct'18
Time: 10.15 AM
Rate (buy RM): 3.0165

You can chk out which local SG money changer has a better rate than this.

uphill

Using Maybank card, I feel it is about 1 to 2 percent lower then SG money changer.
Good thing it wasn't like DBS charges so much.

uphill

Transfer from CIMB SG (SGD $) to CIMB MY (RM):
Date: 16th Oct'18
Time: 10.15 AM
Rate (buy RM): 3.0165

You can chk out which local SG money changer has a better rate than this.

That very good rate.
Singaporean can open a CIMB Malaysia account in Singapore?

Smarty2

That very good rate.
Singaporean can open a CIMB Malaysia account in Singapore?

Definitely not in SG la...in Malaysia I guess no problem bah...just need yr passport, RM & local address? :s13::s12:..Perhaps Bro - youhsueh can advise?:D

Rate follows FX Board rate with a small spread. Definitely not better than what our local money changer is offering but pretty close.

I often bring SGD to change for the convenience. Rather bring SGD 1k notes rather than a bulky stack of Ringgit in 50/100 denomination.

Win money change back before they encash. Loose money either withdraw from ATM using my Malaysia ATM card or let them encash the SGD upon 1 week.

kia0042

Call the Singapore hotline better.
Mon - Sun (9.00am - 9.00pm)
+65 6333 7777

Account can open online but you might want to check if you can get ATM card on the spot if open at branch since you are leaving soon. The Orchard branch open till quite late. Fastsaver savings account 1% interest.

Me not in a hurry to open account for this trip and also very lazy to go Orchard... I have not step on Orchard walkways for more than a decade! :o me living like a mountain tortoise, everyday the same coffee shop, same ntuc, same singapore pools outlet that never let me strike a single prize and RWS. :s13:

yhs123321

If go genting 3d 2n , so should fight in first night or 2nd night ? If fight 1st night look like very high risk , if 1st night lose clean clean then 2nd day dont know how , pocket no money stay in room watch tv or go casino see ppl play to past time? But if 1st night no fight then dont know what to do , 2nd day mor afternoon do what if no fight casino.

Hweehwee88

If go genting 3d 2n , so should fight in first night or 2nd night ? If fight 1st night look like very high risk , if 1st night lose clean clean then 2nd day dont know how , pocket no money stay in room watch tv or go casino see ppl play to past time? But if 1st night no fight then dont know what to do , 2nd day mor afternoon do what if no fight casino.

Think u better don't go, haven't go u think u will lose clean clean...

tt32003

What's the safest coach company to travel to Genting ?

Preferable SG bus and SG driver ?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.