Genting FAQ - Part 2

givansingapore

Not 100% sure but I vaguely remember there are still a couple of Blackjack tables at the old casinos ie. Circus, Hollywood, Silver Club (old International Rm).

I dun rem seeing any at SkyCasino though.

Is there an advantage for playing Blackjack over Pontoon? Anyway, this is one table game I dun even enjoy table watching. Always have to see the 'face' of the other players. You make a 'wrong' decision, you get dirty looks or worse cursed by other players. What for?

Better to play games like 3 pictures, Texas, 3 Card Poker, Genting Poker where you play your own game and make your own decision based on the cards you are dealt with. And any decision you or other players made will have no impact on you or other players.

There's blackjack and pontoon tables at skycasino level 1 and silver club.

givansingapore

there is no more blackjack at common gaming area, not sure about those in atas gaming room thou.

there is significant house advantage in pontoon compared to blackjack.

blackjack - 52 cards

pontoon - jacks are taken out

If you are not the only one playing at the table, all card games are the same. your hand at the table is already an odd in either house favour.

I thought the 10's cards are taken out from pontoon?

Paul Lee

same lah for Texas, 3 Card Poker, Genting Poker
imagine u sit in halfway through the game , and u win and all other players toh , all also show u "dirty look"
but who care right? is your $$$

huat ahhhhhhhhhhhh

No leh. So far never really encountered such things. Most of the times, fellow players are friendly and encouraging. Maybe I am just lucky.

Like last trip, I was playing in Sky Silver Club 3 Card poker. The dealer was on a hot streak when I joined. When the dealer continued winning, the whole table stood up and left.

So I went to another table. Within 4 or 5 hands kenna straight flush. Whole table clapped for me :s13:

Most ridiculous fellow player I encountered was this guy who was not happy about me smoking at the table and makes his displeasure known. Exaggerated swapping movement, left his chair after placing his bet and seeing his cards etc..

But you are right. It's my $$ but I played to enjoy myself. Not to look at other people's face. So if I encountered unfriendly table, I would just walk away.

Paul Lee

If you are not the only one playing at the table, all card games are the same. your hand at the table is already an odd in either house favour.

I agree but fellow players at Pontoon/Blackjack table may not feel the same way.

Imagine you draw say 13 or 14 and your neighbour draws a 10/11. Logically you would hit on 13/14 rt?? But if u draw 10 and bust. And your neighbor draws a smaller card, then you can be chastised for taking an 'unnecessary' card.

I had seen it before many times when table watching.

Worse I see is this player dominating the whole table by placing bets on all the spots. And then effectively deciding all the betting decision, regardless of whether you are sitting at the chair or not.

What's the point of playing in this situation?

BigMonkey

I agree but fellow players at Pontoon/Blackjack table may not feel the same way.

Imagine you draw say 13 or 14 and your neighbour draws a 10/11. Logically you would hit on 13/14 rt?? But if u draw 10 and bust. And your neighbor draws a smaller card, then you can be chastised for taking an 'unnecessary' card.

I had seen it before many times when table watching.

Worse I see is this player dominating the whole table by placing bets on all the spots. And then effectively deciding all the betting decision, regardless of whether you are sitting at the chair or not.

What's the point of playing in this situation?

dominating whole table is the only way to win casino. card counting. sharing table is equal to leaving your fate in other’s hands.

givansingapore

you are right, its 10s not jack.

Can you also advise this old man which spot in skycasino to find blackjack? my eyes are failing me after seeing so many pontoon table.

For skycasino silver club, it's close to the ETG area. For first floor, I've never looked closely to differentiate blackjack /pontoon tables.

Smarty2

For skycasino silver club, it's close to the ETG area. For first floor, I've never looked closely to differentiate blackjack /pontoon tables.

Silver Club and Gold Club as well have BJ. 1st and 2nd level general areas no BJ - only got pontoon.

foosdoll

Silver club means silver card can enter? How is the baccarat crowd there? I might make another trip next month

Paul Lee

Silver club means silver card can enter? How is the baccarat crowd there? I might make another trip next month

Correct. The International Room at the old casinos has been renamed Silver Club. That place still quite crowded especially during peak hours.

The Sky Casino Silver Club has fewer players. So quieter.

vsvs24

Sidetrack. I like to go Sky Casino Silver Club. Not crowded. Got wifi. Peace cafe fried rice is good. Ask for sambal chilli to go with it.

foosdoll

Wads the best way to chalk up GP for you guys? I'm looking at my last weekend statement and almost 90% of my GP comes from my partners shopping

sunzoner

1) Take coach is economy but time consuming.
2) Take private hire car may be expensive but save half of your time.
3) Flight ticket may be cheaper than coach fare, but consider the taxi fare to-fro home and airport and transport from KLIA to Genting, in the end, it may costs more and not to forget budget airlines always delay.
4) Some people consider taking coach outbound and return by flight is the best option.
And me think no 2) is the best if you are able to gather 6 people traveling together. Each person about $150 to-fro direct from door step at your preference hours, 3am also can and you are on the gaming table at 8AM ;)

Which are the coaches available? 707? Any options for people in the west?

BigMonkey

Which are the coaches available? 707? Any options for people in the west?

quite a few. just to name a few, the rest u can do your own research.

WTS, drop off/pick up various west location

Transtar, pickup JE

datolim

Go play electronic roulette and bet 10k ringgit black 10k ringgit red

Not good advice. When zero comes up you lose 20k. Need to put $570 on zero.
You are actually buying GP and last I check it cost $100 per GP.

Orionnn

Hi all,

I have been following the thread and reading back but the information of what I finding seems to be scattered everywhere.

I have never been to Genting before and would like to try out the casino.
Going to Genting in end Jan 2019 taking 707 and staying FWH.

Since sky casino seems to be the nearest, I will probably go there. Looking mainly for table games like BJ and trying out some slot machines.

I saw that there were many things you guys mentioned like should sign up for member first, something about rolling chip so you get vouchers etc etc.

I was thinking if someone could give me advise on what should I do as a first timer to the casino? More concretely, for example,
1. First thing to do is sign up membership at 2nd floor as more counters and less people.
2. Remember to get <certain things> so you get free vouchers etc
3. Bla bla bla

Thank you!

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.