Genting FAQ - Part 2

takuyazzz

then you might as well call them and request for a late check in and then check in when you're back in Genting.

came back last nite alr, quite lucky, managed to check-in at 8am using the self check-in kiosk :D

TopGun

Hi experts!

Will be driving to genting for the first time from the 8th Aug to 11th Aug. I need some advice on the carpark over at first world hotel. As I m most probably gonna set off at 12am from SG, plus a few rest points (Coz first timer), I would probably reached ard 6/7am, I am quite worried in getting a parking lot over at the multi-storey carpark.

Any advice? Coz i asked the Resort world genting, they said there is no way to reserve a parking lot before going while some of my other friends did have the experience of reserving before going.

Another question, is setting off at 12am ok to avoid the traffic jams (hari raya on the 8th Aug)? Or is it advisable to leave much earlier?

:)

Just one point on driving at 12am. 2-4am is the usual time (I am assuming) your body goes into REM sleep. And it's your first time driving up and at night.

Going at 110km/h with just your headlights can be quite an experience.

You might want to rethink your timing....

multi

Hi experts!

Will be driving to genting for the first time from the 8th Aug to 11th Aug. I need some advice on the carpark over at first world hotel. As I m most probably gonna set off at 12am from SG, plus a few rest points (Coz first timer), I would probably reached ard 6/7am, I am quite worried in getting a parking lot over at the multi-storey carpark.

Any advice? Coz i asked the Resort world genting, they said there is no way to reserve a parking lot before going while some of my other friends did have the experience of reserving before going.

Another question, is setting off at 12am ok to avoid the traffic jams (hari raya on the 8th Aug)? Or is it advisable to leave much earlier?

Have driven a few time at 12am, make sure your head lamp is working fine cause the NSHW is without lamp post until you reach toll or flyover and R&R area. Avoid going to those small rest area, also watch out for animal crossing...got a friend bang a Monkey crossing the road.

Parking FWH should not be a problem...you have to worried most is the FOG in the morning. If very thick, your visibility is totally block. Best is to park at one side and wait for the Fog to subside.

GPGT: waiting for the fog to subside, time was around 7am.

Parking no issue, so don't worried.

smartboy4

Hi experts!

i just came back. managed to hit 190kmh with a old trusty altis
set off at midnite and reached 5am sat at genting after 2 makan stops (near kulai got a major accident, covered body with blood on road and broken barrier :eek:).
go up mountain time i was the only car all the way :s13: only can see ppl going downhill

good to drive at night but make sure you're not tired, some stretches totally no cars at all, together with no street lights, must keep your eyes wide open & only your headlights are helping you so make sure working well

parking no need to worry, guarantee a lot of lots, hunt around till u find a good spot.

planning to go hari raya weekend also but seems no more room on 8 aug :s11:

multi

Me too, wanting to on 8/8 but fully book. Even if got room, the price or GP is crazy high. So skip this period for other day. Expect Jams at both side custom.

kSsSsSs

first time

Hi its my first time trying to book a genting trip without using an agent like grassland fivestar... is it cheaper to just book through the genting website ? Should i sign up for the worldcard before booking? Does it makes a difference if i sign up the worldcard when i reach there since i will be visiting the casino too ?

xKitKatx

Have driven a few time at 12am, make sure your head lamp is working fine cause the NSHW is without lamp post until you reach toll or flyover and R&R area. Avoid going to those small rest area, also watch out for animal crossing...got a friend bang a Monkey crossing the road.

Parking FWH should not be a problem...you have to worried most is the FOG in the morning. If very thick, your visibility is totally block. Best is to park at one side and wait for the Fog to subside.

GPGT: waiting for the fog to subside, time was around 7am.

Parking no issue, so don't worried.

Thanks for ur prompt reply!! Btw, since it is my first time driving up, if I drive at 100km/hr, together with 4 rest stops, is it better to set off early like 10am instead of 12am?

And, what are the tips to take note of when parking? Is parking at the multi-storey carpark at FWH safe? In fact, the most important one that worries us most is the amount of carpark available, coz my friends once went up and didn't managed to find carpark lots. :)

If I were to pump my petrol at JB and set off to NSHW all the way till KL, should I pump again to play safe? Or it is just sufficient enuff for me to get back down to KL when I m coming back home?

As for the rest points, where are the most recommended places?

Lastly, do u have any GPS routes (with coordinates) to share with me so that I could compare with mine to avoid going to the wrong route as I will be driving in the night (sole driver). :)

THANK YOU VERY MUCHHH!!:D

Ringwraiths

Hi experts!

Hmmm Bro dun think can reserve carpark lot...unless maybe Gold / Platnium cardholder...Actually there are think 2 carpark places..

1. FWH
2. Open Air carpark

But advice not to park in the OpenAir, as you know the weather its cooler so you might need a longer time to warmup the engine.

With regards to leaving, I really cant advice on that cos you know its the freaking long weekend so the jam might be very bad...

Ringwraiths

i just came back. managed to hit 190kmh with a old trusty altis
set off at midnite and reached 5am sat at genting after 2 makan stops (near kulai got a major accident, covered body with blood on road and broken barrier :eek:).
go up mountain time i was the only car all the way :s13: only can see ppl going downhill

good to drive at night but make sure you're not tired, some stretches totally no cars at all, together with no street lights, must keep your eyes wide open & only your headlights are helping you so make sure working well

parking no need to worry, guarantee a lot of lots, hunt around till u find a good spot.

planning to go hari raya weekend also but seems no more room on 8 aug :s11:

Whaaa bro you freaking Topgun ar...190KM/HR...max i drove @ 170KM/HR ...be safe than sorry you know hahah

Ringwraiths

Thanks for ur prompt reply!! Btw, since it is my first time driving up, if I drive at 100km/hr, together with 4 rest stops, is it better to set off early like 10am instead of 12am?

And, what are the tips to take note of when parking? Is parking at the multi-storey carpark at FWH safe? In fact, the most important one that worries us most is the amount of carpark available, coz my friends once went up and didn't managed to find carpark lots. :)

If I were to pump my petrol at JB and set off to NSHW all the way till KL, should I pump again to play safe? Or it is just sufficient enuff for me to get back down to KL when I m coming back home?

Lastly, do u have any GPS routes (with coordinates) to share with me so that I could compare with mine to avoid going to the wrong route as I will be driving in the night (sole driver). :)

Think driving @ 140-170 should be fine but beware of traffic, and when you are driving at high speed...you can stop over at the petrol station for refill and have some rest and food along the way. GPS would be good as at least you know where you going as you are the sole driver right..

multi

IIMHO, leaving at 12am is just nice. If leave too early, you may reach GH early but you can't check in then where are you going to rest? Usually I took 2 R&R...one at Ayer Keroh and one at Serdang.

Parking at GH or FWH is safe but you still need to do some SOP like not putting valuable stuff in sight, Steering wheel lock as a deterrence although nowadays i don't put. Park head in and turn your steering wheel to one side although nowadays I reverse in like in Singapore. Maybe I'm not driving a Expensive car...a Hyundai Santa Fe.:)

For my ride, yes I pump in JB and chiong all the way to Genting, when coming back I will top up at Sungei Bersi station and all the way back to Sin.
As I do not know what ride is yours I can't advise on this.

Lastly, what GPS you are using? If Garmin, you can get it from malsingmaps or malfreemaps.

:s12:

xKitKatx

IIMHO, leaving at 12am is just nice. If leave too early, you may reach GH early but you can't check in then where are you going to rest? Usually I took 2 R&R...one at Ayer Keroh and one at Serdang.

Parking at GH or FWH is safe but you still need to do some SOP like not putting valuable stuff in sight, Steering wheel lock as a deterrence although nowadays i don't put. Park head in and turn your steering wheel to one side although nowadays I reverse in like in Singapore. Maybe I'm not driving a Expensive car...a Hyundai Santa Fe.:)

For my ride, yes I pump in JB and chiong all the way to Genting, when coming back I will top up at Sungei Bersi station and all the way back to Sin.
As I do not know what ride is yours I can't advise on this.

Lastly, what GPS you are using? If Garmin, you can get it from malsingmaps or malfreemaps.

:s12:

Hi! I am driving a Totoya Rush (1.5). So, based on my car, is it necessary to pump the 2nd time in KL (Going up Genting)? I am currently planning to stop once each at Machap, Ayer Keroh and KL (Petrol). Is it alright? Or, just two stops along the way will do?

And yup! I am using Garmin. Currently, planning the route with the google map. But since I am driving at night and usually Malaysia have complicated routes (many exits), do you have any simple routes available? Like which road to exit/enter after I leave NSHW (common ones used by singaporeans)?

multi

Hi! I am driving a Totoya Rush (1.5). So, based on my car, is it necessary to pump the 2nd time in KL (Going up Genting)? I am currently planning to stop once each at Machap, Ayer Keroh and KL (Petrol). Is it alright? Or, just two stops along the way will do?

And yup! I am using Garmin. Currently, planning the route with the google map. But since I am driving at night and usually Malaysia have complicated routes (many exits), do you have any simple routes available? Like which road to exit/enter after I leave NSHW (common ones used by singaporeans)?

I think one tankful is enough to reach Genting...when coming back, there is one ESSO in Genting which you can top up there. How many stop depends on you, if you need to use the loo then stop as required. 2 stops is comfortable for me...:)

Basically going Genting is very straight forward...after Sungei Besi toll, keep left and look out for exit to Cheras/Kuantan, which is after Petronas station.
Here you are on Middle Ring Road or route 28...drive all the way and look out for exit to Kuantan/Genting...from here you will arrive at last toll (Gombak). After toll drive and look out for Genting Highland exit on the left. Anyway, you have Garmin and this will the way Garmin is going to bring you...as for R&R POI, pls dl @ malsingmap or malfreemap.

GL and huat ah...:s12:

xKitKatx

I think one tankful is enough to reach Genting...when coming back, there is one ESSO in Genting which you can top up there. How many stop depends on you, if you need to use the loo then stop as required. 2 stops is comfortable for me...:)

Basically going Genting is very straight forward...after Sungei Besi toll, keep left and look out for exit to Cheras/Kuantan, which is after Petronas station.
Here you are on Middle Ring Road or route 28...drive all the way and look out for exit to Kuantan/Genting...from here you will arrive at last toll (Gombak). After toll drive and look out for Genting Highland exit on the left. Anyway, you have Garmin and this will the way Garmin is going to bring you...as for R&R POI, pls dl @ malsingmap or malfreemap.

GL and huat ah...:s12:

Thanks alot for your advice!! :) May I know what time is better for us to set off from Genting back to Singapore? :)

darkdevil

will be gg to genting with my parents in 2wks time but yet to book any hotel/transportation.

anyone can advise me on whr to book it or need to go through travel agency?

multi

Thanks alot for your advice!! :) May I know what time is better for us to set off from Genting back to Singapore? :)

For me, check out 12pm...go to Gotong Jaya for lunch then head straight back. Reach home around 8pm...of course have dinner at JB.:D

multi

will be gg to genting with my parents in 2wks time but yet to book any hotel/transportation.

anyone can advise me on whr to book it or need to go through travel agency?

You have not make any booking and yet you say going in 2 weeks time...for rooms, you can try Genting site or Agent if you are booking with transport.

Gaara1989

Any1 gt go strawberry farm? How much isit if i take cab go? Scard kena tok my taxi uncle

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.