Genting FAQ - Part 2

vsvs24

Y5 Deluxe no mountain view. Only Y5 Triple. There are Non-Y5 Deluxe rooms that are facing mountain.

Thank you youhsueh for your reply. I am always in a dilema for world club vs Y5 due to no wifi for world club. If I get a data SIM card, is the reception using 4G in worldclub room ok ?

kia0042

Search for 'xpax top up code'?

Seriously, I have no idea what is top up code ?
Didn't ask how to top up when purchasing the card, own fault. l will ask the xpax staff to teach me how to top up when I reach genting this sunday, otherwise I will never figure out.

datolim

If i take plane, my route will usually be:

Airport —> take KLIA express train to KL Sentral —> then from here..there is a mini bus station underground where u can take the Go Genting Express bus (red color) up..but note that It will take you only to the Awana Skyway and from here you will have to take the cable car up to Genting. Bus ticket is only abt rm$10.70 inclusive of the cable car ticket..

At the bus ticketing office though, there will always be taxi drivers asking if u wanna take their taxis up..depending on time and ur bargaining skills..it can be quite cheap..i think normally is from rm$80 to rm$100..that time when i take in the evening..i managed to bargain to rm$60..when he quoted me rm$80..

There is really no easy way to get from klia to GH.
Your weakest link is the go Genting bus. During busy hours you have to wait 2-3 hours for the next bus. During quiet hours they will cancel the next bus and you have to wait up to 1 hour. Believe me they have cancelled the next bus on me even when I showed them my book ticket.
All in there are too many stages in this journey and it will take you 3-4 hours.

jumanji

Thank you youhsueh for your reply. I am always in a dilema for world club vs Y5 due to no wifi for world club. If I get a data SIM card, is the reception using 4G in worldclub room ok ?

4G in the entire Genting Highlands is generally very fast. I suggest you buy digi sim card, they got deal for 3ringgit for 2-3gb daily, or if you don't use that much got like 7-10ringgit for 1 week/300 MB- 1GB type. There is actually a mobile shop/sim card shop at Genting so it's convenient to buy it there.

I have used the 4G sim to tether to my laptop and watch youtube also no connectivity issues. So don't need to worry about poor 4G connectivity.

youhsueh

Yes. I was using Hotlink and Digi to surf net during my last stay at Tower 2's (New) World Club Room. Connection is really great.

Word of advise to avoid U Mobile Network.. It is very sluggish and slow at SkyAvenue/SkyCasino during 2016. Well, one may argue that network infrastructure might have improved considering its 2 years ago, but consider yourself warned! The network in 2016 was only 2g/3g. But on 3g, I was unable to surf net even though its full bar.

I am unable to put the U Mobile network to a test now as I no longer hold a U Mobile line.

vaxvms

Some issues to note with onexox:

- when you cross the different regions in JB otw to KL, the cell network will get spotty as there isn't good coverage between some towers. You might lose LTE connection for a few minutes.

- your HP will auto-reboot everytime you pass Genting Permai so just take note if you're relying on some app, like Spotify/Waze. I suspect it's something to do with how the onexox network is configured.

- onexox network is a huge battery sucker on your HP. Idle drain is at 1.8%/hr compared to 0.8%/hr on Singtel, so don't forget to bring your high capacity powerbank with you.

Other than those issues, onexox network is pretty reliable in Genting. I like how you can keep drawing small amounts of data from the initial 5GB/10GB bank, which is valid for 2 years from purchase. I think it'll take me 1.5yrs to use up all the data at the rate I'm going :s13:

no such problem on mine

vaxvms

ah? I don't get it leh. Confuse when I bought the card last month. They told me can use for 1 week only? So I thought I can just topup when I reach Genting, but if I intend to drive there in future, no connection after crossing border means drive without GPS, if lost the way, jialat.

example u buy 3gb data season pass...each time u go in u can draw out 500 mb to use 1st....not enough draw again
valid 28 month.
me still using it and mine expire end of year i think

genting network 4g all the way even in room

u can whatsapp the seller they very friendly one...no buy also no problem.

https://deluxeforums.hardwarezone.com.sg/travel-bazaar-346/wts-onexox-dealer-sg-jb-5609087.html

https://deluxeforums.hardwarezone.c...er-wts-onexox-malaysia-sim-cards-5367253.html

vaxvms

Yes. I was using Hotlink and Digi to surf net during my last stay at Tower 2's (New) World Club Room. Connection is really great.

Word of advise to avoid U Mobile Network.. It is very sluggish and slow at SkyAvenue/SkyCasino during 2016. Well, one may argue that network infrastructure might have improved considering its 2 years ago, but consider yourself warned! The network in 2016 was only 2g/3g. But on 3g, I was unable to surf net even though its full bar.

I am unable to put the U Mobile network to a test now as I no longer hold a U Mobile line.

good no cheap...cheap no good :s13:

HOTLINK has the best coverage to me

Oinkize

Prepaid card question.
Any bros/sis can advise me how to topup the data sim card before I go Genting this Sunday?
I bought a prepaid sim card last trip at XPAX Genting for RM29 and installed in my portable WIFI device, I wonder if there is way to topup online before I go Genting?
I want to get connected once I crossed the border. Googled a few sites, all cannot topup, must purchase the starter kit.

If the card supports roaming, bettee check if it is still active or not.

If still active you can top up from https://www.e-pay.com.my/shop/category/1/mobile-reload

youhsueh

Should i choose which one the best ? I hv free world club room , theme park hotel , resort hotel, maxim hotel . Ranking? Coz i always compare the price think the expensive one is the best.

From best to worst?:
Maxims, Resort Hotel, Theme Park Hotel, First World Hotel

But I rather get FWH World Club Vs Theme Park and Resort Hotel.

ianshi168

Hi all,

May i enquire is it possible to view cards when playing baccarat at sky casino?

Is it only for certain tables only and whats the minimum bet?

Otherwise, no viewing of cards no shiok

dede1217

This will be my first time going to Genting via Plane > Taxi. (usually by coach)

I will be landing at KLIA2, is there any specific taxi that I should take and how much is the cost up to genting? Thanks.

klia2 to kl sentral is 65myr
kl sentral to genting is about 100+myr

if u taking bus from klia2 to kl sentral, one pax is about 12myr
kl sentral buy genting bus ticket is another 10+myr (bus + cable car tickets)

if u taking cab, from genting to kl sentral, the taxi ppl would charge u 140myr
using the innova cab, the 6seater one ...

dede1217

note that one person is only allowed to carry one handcarry luggage to the cable car. if bigger than that, you would need to pay 20myr one way per luggage if u are taking the cable car ...

if you have 2 big luggages for example, you can either
(A) pay 40myr and take the cable car
(B) take the taxi up to genting from the cable car station 50myr
(c) take grab car up at 25myr ....

youhsueh

Hi all,

May i enquire is it possible to view cards when playing baccarat at sky casino?

Is it only for certain tables only and whats the minimum bet?

Otherwise, no viewing of cards no shiok

Unfortunately Peeking Cards only available in VIP & above. And lowest RM300.

vsvs24

Thank you Jumanji and Youhsueh for your reply. Then I shall choose World Club Room when it is available. Bigger, much better view and less walking. I stay in room quite a lot so having access to data and having a good room is important.

Can help to provide which shop to buy the sim card ? Is it at Sky Avenue ?

Another question. Some have mention about asking for the newly refurbised world club room. But I was told World Club room also need to checkin using kiosk. So how to ensure can get the new rooms ? BTW I only silver member.

Thank you for sharing.

youhsueh

Thank you Jumanji and Youhsueh for your reply. Then I shall choose World Club Room when it is available. Bigger, much better view and less walking. I stay in room quite a lot so having access to data and having a good room is important.

Can help to provide which shop to buy the sim card ? Is it at Sky Avenue ?

Another question. Some have mention about asking for the newly refurbised world club room. But I was told World Club room also need to checkin using kiosk. So how to ensure can get the new rooms ? BTW I only silver member.

Thank you for sharing.

You can request it by calling or emailing Reservations.. But if you want to be 100% sure, check-in over at counter (and hope they don't charge any fees for doing so)!

If you're taking Coach and it happens to stop at Yong Peng, you can easily get a Digi Prepaid Sim there. Else, there are Hotlink, Digi stores at SkyAvenue.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.