Genting FAQ - Part 3

vaxvms

Ya. I thought the rates really good.

Else if have sg maybank also works great. No withdrawal fee and the rates is better than local exchange.

Else open a msia cimb account also works. Superb rates too.

Anyways, if long term and wanna avoid the hassle of changing rm, I guess open a msia cimb is the best.

Esp if kena huuuge jackpot...no need declare at customs hahaha...just deposit and transfer back to sg account. 😄

sinkie cannot open bolehland leh

eugenelite

sinkie cannot open bolehland leh
Oh...can la bro. I tot can't also few years back.

Cimb, at least, can. Just go to the sg branch say wanna open can liao. They settle everything for you...send the atm card to sg also. Easy job.

No need min deposit, investments, businesses etc or anything.

Thereafter just link your sg cimb with your msia cimb and ta-da...superb flexibility to transfer funds.

https://www.cimbbank.com.sg/en/pers...Appointment To,and by appointment basis only.

Mia Nanasawa

I heard nowdays in genting all mostly payment by cashless so u guys using what cards for payment.
Thanks.

for overseas you can use YouTrip or Revolut or Wise
these are basically "prepaid debit cards"
u google their website

they let you "hold" multiple currency so its not bad

if u use ur local bank card
u using SGD to pay foreign currency. it can be expensive because it will be based on bank's exchange rate.

and i don't wanna turn on overseas magnetic stripe for my local bank cards.
u never know if they have skimmers or whatever nonsense

Mia Nanasawa

actually if all the hotels fully booked
can just stay in KL hotels

if want go up genting just
take grabcar up to Awana Skyway then switch to cable car go up

first world hotel is actually a very crappy hotel
always got cigarette smells even if you pick non-smoking
and the other genting hotels very overpriced

vaxvms

Oh...can la bro. I tot can't also few years back.

Cimb, at least, can. Just go to the sg branch say wanna open can liao. They settle everything for you...send the atm card to sg also. Easy job.

No need min deposit, investments, businesses etc or anything.

Thereafter just link your sg cimb with your msia cimb and ta-da...superb flexibility to transfer funds.

https://www.cimbbank.com.sg/en/pers...Appointment To,and by appointment basis only.
tot only local can open local account if no work permit or bzi in particular country

u mean open SG CIMB first
and say wan another in MY
n ask them do a b2b?

or just go SG cimb say wan open MY account in MYR ?

vsvs24

tot only local can open local account if no work permit or bzi in particular country

n ask them do a b2b?

Few years ago can go CIMB branch in SG and tell them you want to open Malaysia account. Need to fill in some forms and they help you submit. Someone posted before.

Not sure post covid any change.

Smarty2

n ask them do a b2b?

Bro - pls check out yr inbox.

edmund77

ya YT card rate very good surprisingly to me too

my SIL told me actually most of the time better than SG money changer
she used it super frequent :)
Wise, YT, Revolut, Instarem, or whatever travel cards ALL use Mastercard's wholesale FX rate. That's why you don't see any such cards in Visa. The difference is the fees they charge on top of the FX rate. As these fintec firms have lower fixed cost than the traditional banks, their fees is usually free or extremely low.

eugenelite

n ask them do a b2b?

no need work permit etc.. hmm but i better qualify that was almost 2 years ish back when i did it. But i dont think that has changed.

open sg cimb online which takes like 10min.

then make an appointment or if wanna can do a walk-in (i did that previously)
then fill out the paperwork and they will do it for you if that's what you mean by they b2b for us.

then msia side will send the card to your sg address and even register your sg number for the TAC.

not a terribly huge diff unless changing 100s of K but who will say no to player's advantage just like gambling advantage hahaha
local changer as of today 445pm is about 3.183 best i have seen. cimb trf is almost 3.2.

kevinlaikf

BuiBui uncle me, saw the food reviews, may decide to pay a visit to the skyworld theme park for the food photo post on my social apps。

givansingapore

Didn't get any free room offer from Genting for June. Only received free Dream Cruise invitation from 15 Jun today.

bigherosg

Go to the app n see yr free rm. But only deluxe rm. For DC only balcony deluxe no palace.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.