Genting FAQ - Part 3

Viper0402

If you intend to have breakfast at Curry Jr (or I Love Yoo) and Lunch & Dinner at Pauline's or Beenas for the 5 days/4 nights, I think S$800 is more than enough. Unless otherwise, just pay by Credit Card. Cheers.

RM$2500 may be a lot, but if you patronize a western eatery, say Burger & Lobster, it can easily set you back at least RM1,400 if each of you ordered a lobster.

In general, western delights in RWG are more expensive than Chinese Cuisines.
6 x 3 meals.. if taken ur meal at FWH's 1-meter-teh packet foods.. i think S$800 is enough.
Thanks guys

aurvandil

5 days 4 Nights to Genting Highlands in June, family of 6, is SGD800 enough?
(Hotel and Theme Parks already paid NOT included)

As a general rule, Genting prices are about the same as Singapore RWS prices. Compared to KL, everything is 30% to 40% more expensive. This applies even to branches of popular Malaysian restaurant chains.

kevinlaikf

Lobster and Burger's Big Boy lobster already RM700+/-
Normal set meal in other restaurant already RM30-40

Food Factory breakfast buffet is RM42/pax.

aLeX84

Anyone tried? Location at Genting Sempah Bentong, just downhill of GPO. Reviews look good 😋

https://thefoodbunny.com/2023/01/16/e-farm-restaurant-at-genting-sempah-bentong-pahang-a-short-drive-out-of-town-where-good-food-awaits-😍😍/

vaxvms

Anyone tried? Location at Genting Sempah Bentong, just downhill of GPO. Reviews look good 😋

https://thefoodbunny.com/2023/01/16/e-farm-restaurant-at-genting-sempah-bentong-pahang-a-short-drive-out-of-town-where-good-food-awaits-😍😍/

this one i saw many eat while otw uphill but nvr try myself

me also go midhill row of makan there...
but dun go eat 龙记 can liao
not say food no good just that got price shock during billing

泉记 very nice n price reaosnable
the one with many superstars picture
do note they start business 12pm only

kevinlaikf

Look like the transit terminal which doubledecker tour bus swap to uphill single deck.
Also known as "R&R genting sempah"

vaxvms

Same. I usually spend about SGD150-200 per day for 3 ppls.

with family i would say 150-300S$ for makan (if eat lobster cfm more than this )
dim sum + high tea or tea break + dinner + supper

if alone think less than 100S$ for makan haha

ghregular

although recently i hv been driving up but dont know why just never stop at midhills although i know many gd makan places are there. u see i arrive at genting hill usually around 10-11am but i m always very eager to quickly find a gd parking lot and chk in htl early with my luggages best b4 everybody start coming up. so u see i miss that but my wife not keen abt makan. its smthg else. so well as a matter of fact makan is the last thing in our minds dont know why. i mean we cld be eating only 2meals. only when we had enuf of playing games will we start to say 'lets go for a sumptuous meal!' even then at most we'll take awana cable car down for shopping n makan. even this is rare. and another thing is even when we leave n going downhill still wont stop at midhills, like waste time n in case we get caught in a jam kl or ns highway. walau how to go midhill?

aLeX84

although recently i hv been driving up but dont know why just never stop at midhills although i know many gd makan places are there. u see i arrive at genting hill usually around 10-11am but i m always very eager to quickly find a gd parking lot and chk in htl early with my luggages best b4 everybody start coming up. so u see i miss that but my wife not keen abt makan. its smthg else. so well as a matter of fact makan is the last thing in our minds dont know why. i mean we cld be eating only 2meals. only when we had enuf of playing games will we start to say 'lets go for a sumptuous meal!' even then at most we'll take awana cable car down for shopping n makan. even this is rare. and another thing is even when we leave n going downhill still wont stop at midhills, like waste time n in case we get caught in a jam kl or ns highway. walau how to go midhill?

How to enjoy time if you never take time to enjoy? If lazy to drive, just take Grab ;)

But if you wanna take Grab, pls take note of my recent experience -

https://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/...aper-nobody-helped-him.6894207/post-147165321
If you can get Grab it will mostly be Malay drivers as the Bantuan Polis don't chase away their own kawan ;)

kevinlaikf

Few Grab drivers will ask u to cancel grab ride, he will still drive over,, but you pay him cash as previously app-quoted, thus he no need pay Grab 20% commission..

I had a hard time getting Grab rides last week Genting trip.
Due to Cable Car maintenance. Bringing a Genting-first-timer friend for a guided tour.

Waited >15-30min before someone took my Grab request.
FWH to ChinSwee, ChinSwee to GPO, then GPO to FWH. Fee: rm12-25
All 3 rides from Msian Chinese drivers.
Private Taxi (non-metered taxi car) all quoted rm50 per ride. GPO-FWH rm90-100

aLeX84

Few Grab drivers will ask u to cancel grab ride, he will still drive over,, but you pay him cash as previously app-quoted, thus he no need pay Grab 20% commission..

I had a hard time getting Grab rides last week Genting trip.
Due to Cable Car maintenance. Bringing a Genting-first-timer friend for a guided tour.

Waited >15-30min before someone took my Grab request.
FWH to ChinSwee, ChinSwee to GPO, then GPO to FWH. Fee: rm12-25
All 3 rides from Msian Chinese drivers.
Private Taxi (non-metered taxi car) all quoted rm50 per ride. GPO-FWH rm90-100

As said in my linked post above - the Bantuan Polis now chasing away Chinese Grab drivers from convenient parking spots. They cannot stop their car to wait for the next booking and this eats into their petrol cost because they need to drive up down left right just to wait for hailing and pickup passenger. Nobody on the hill want to do Grab already because they can earn more in KL area and there is less wear and tear on the vehicle (from going uphill downhill) If you can get Grab in Genting already heng lor.

Nowadays the only choice for PHV in Genting is Malay Grab and pirate teksi. If anyone wants to see this phenomenon in action just stand outside the arrival hall at FWH/GG. You will see little, if any cars parked in the vehicle bays and all those parked there will be Malay drivers. There are also those people who are smart and do pirate teksi and Grab also to maximize income - these are the ones who have links to the car workshops in Genting area and know where the good places are to eat at in Gohtong Jaya and Genting Sempah.

If you are smart make friends with the drivers there, just get their contact and you don't even need to cancel on Grab, just contact them directly for rides. Actually we should introduce them to the Telegram 'ride Hitching' system we have here in SG. You all go search 'sghitch' on Telegram to see how it works. Or maybe they already have a system like that there?? Hmm..

vaxvms

If you are smart make friends with the drivers there, just get their contact and you don't even need to cancel on Grab, just contact them directly for rides. Actually we should introduce them to the Telegram 'ride Hitching' system we have here in SG. You all go search 'sghitch' on Telegram to see how it works. Or maybe they already have a system like that there?? Hmm..
yes thats how i get few good drivers contact in bolehland many years back

esp when gg from KL to uphill n vice versa

can whatsapp them n book in advance as well

+ rate are cheaper than for regulars

kenapa siol

Can recommend me a reliable private transport for Sg to Genting round trip mah? Need to book for 10 x elders. Probably need 2 suv.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.