Genting FAQ - Part 3

kevinlaikf

Depends what time u left SG..
Usually we try to leave around 4-5am to avoid jam at checkpoint.
Unlike coach bus, private cars jammed up at both checkpoint as early as 6am.

Dont ask the driver, they will bring u to the spot convenient for them, not necessary nice food.
If u leave early, likely by 9am, you will be around Pagoh RnR, quite many food option.
Pagoh RnR quite a big rest area, got KFC, Pizza Hut, Ramly Burger and few canteen stalls

vaxvms

Going to Genting this Sunday but no advice from the private hire (cost abt $380). Hope the experienced ones can guide me here as i am on a budget and not familiar with Genting and KL. Going with in laws and a kid and will leave Sg for Tuas at abt 6am.
1. Where would be a good place for stopover to have early lunch (chinese food) at around 10ish am? Think my in law wont be able to last till we reach Genting.
2. Heard the cable car will be jam packed during check out period as many will want to make their way to KL city. We intend to go to KL on Wed after checking out at abt 12pm. Would bus or cable car be better and when would be suitable time to avoid the jam? Will stay in KL for a night and fly back to Sg the next evening via Scoot. TIA!!
they will update u driver detail 1-2 days before trip ...dun worry

so far school holiday as long reach tuas check point before 615 am is ok
but sunday a bit tricky as many malaysian might be gg home too after wkend gateway in sg

1 h break for lunch or breakfast up to u

hungry can go One Plus One Restaurant breakfast

else mid mountain lunch eg e-farm

pagoh or epressway rest stop makan this kind forget it lah
got transport go somewhere nicer

u using chris transport ?

st00pig

Going to Genting this Sunday but no advice from the private hire (cost abt $380). Hope the experienced ones can guide me here as i am on a budget and not familiar with Genting and KL. Going with in laws and a kid and will leave Sg for Tuas at abt 6am.
1. Where would be a good place for stopover to have early lunch (chinese food) at around 10ish am? Think my in law wont be able to last till we reach Genting.
2. Heard the cable car will be jam packed during check out period as many will want to make their way to KL city. We intend to go to KL on Wed after checking out at abt 12pm. Would bus or cable car be better and when would be suitable time to avoid the jam? Will stay in KL for a night and fly back to Sg the next evening via Scoot. TIA!!
(1) Restoran Foon Lock (No. 84, Kampung Bukit Tinggi, Jln Bukit Tinggi, Bukit Tinggi, 28750 Bentong, Pahang, Malaysia) opens at 10.30am. Alternatively, you can go up to Mid-Hill (Gotong Jaya) and try Hoong Jie (G Floor, 44, Jalan Jati 1, Gohtong Jaya, 69000 Genting Highlands, Pahang, Malaysia). They opens at 11am.

(2) You can try getting a cab from Genting to KL. It's only about RM$130 (during non-peak). You can contact 云顶高原24小时出租车 - Danny at +60126429735. You can also engage his service to ferry your family from KL to the airport too.

vaxvms

(2) You can try getting a cab from Genting to KL. It's only about RM$130 (during non-peak). You can contact 云顶高原24小时出租车 - Danny at +60126429735. You can also engage his service to ferry your family from KL to the airport too.

using what car ?

wormworm2

they will update u driver detail 1-2 days before trip ...dun worry

so far school holiday as long reach tuas check point before 615 am is ok
but sunday a bit tricky as many malaysian might be gg home too after wkend gateway in sg

1 h break for lunch or breakfast up to u

hungry can go One Plus One Restaurant breakfast

else mid mountain lunch eg e-farm

pagoh or epressway rest stop makan this kind forget it lah
got transport go somewhere nicer

u using chris transport ?
not sure what is chris transport. But the guy coordinating is Chris or Christopher. So far still looks quite reliable. Do you engage chris transport regularly? Must be good then so i hope is the same company.

kenong1980

Depends what time u left SG..
Usually we try to leave around 4-5am to avoid jam at checkpoint.
Unlike coach bus, private cars jammed up at both checkpoint as early as 6am.

Dont ask the driver, they will bring u to the spot convenient for them, not necessary nice food.
If u leave early, likely by 9am, you will be around Pagoh RnR, quite many food option.
Pagoh RnR quite a big rest area, got KFC, Pizza Hut, Ramly Burger and few canteen stalls
Maybe i have better driver, he always bring me to nice place to eat.

xsoldix

Now giving calendar and angbao for 1GP.
Redeem inside casino kiosk and go to bus lounge there to collect.

beast78

Paiseh. Can't remember what car. We took a MPV (or something similar) from Genting to KL in Nov 2022. To and Fro was RM$260.
That is really cheap. If divide by 3 or 4 person it is cheaper than taking coach. Or is this rate per pax?

Any idea how much he charge to ferry from Genting to KLIA?

vaxvms

not sure what is chris transport. But the guy coordinating is Chris or Christopher. So far still looks quite reliable. Do you engage chris transport regularly? Must be good then so i hope is the same company.
yes. i send them many time already

only 1st time need deposit after tat no need already

i always tell him got children so dun send F1 driver hor haha

wormworm2

Paiseh. Can't remember what car. We took a MPV (or something similar) from Genting to KL in Nov 2022. To and Fro was RM$260.
wow that is really economical! From Danny or another service provider? I just asked and it costs abt rm300 to sent 6 ppl to KL 1 way. A standard taxi for 4 is abt rm100.

wormworm2

yes. i send them many time already

only 1st time need deposit after tat no need already

i always tell him got children so dun send F1 driver hor haha
Same same no need F1...just be safe although if good at cutting queue to clear customs is highly desired :ROFLMAO:

vaxvms

wow that is really economical! From Danny or another service provider? I just asked and it costs abt rm300 to sent 6 ppl to KL 1 way. A standard taxi for 4 is abt rm100.
for 6 pax than a bit tricky as u might need a alphard type

i nvr use danny before
of cos no harm texting him n check rate loh...plenty of drivers hanging ard uphill

wormworm2

for 6 pax than a bit tricky as u might need a alphard type

i nvr use danny before
of cos no harm texting him n check rate loh...plenty of drivers hanging ard uphill
thanks for info that is so insightful. Have not been up there for decades so no idea how is the situation like. A noob question, we will be staying at Skyworld, is there heating in the hotel room? I assume insulation is good enough for ppl to just stay in the room or sleep in tshirts and shorts?

givansingapore

thanks for info that is so insightful. Have not been up there for decades so no idea how is the situation like. A noob question, we will be staying at Skyworld, is there heating in the hotel room? I assume insulation is good enough for ppl to just stay in the room or sleep in tshirts and shorts?
The only heating is the hot water shower. Otherwise the room temperature is cooling aircon temperature allowing sleep in tshirts and shorts since there is blanket. Just no aircon in the room but wall or ceiling fan for better air circulation.

st00pig

That is really cheap. If divide by 3 or 4 person it is cheaper than taking coach. Or is this rate per pax?

Any idea how much he charge to ferry from Genting to KLIA?
I booked the cab from Genting to One-Utama, and then back, in Nov 2022. Total 3 pax. Charge was $130 one-way. I did not check the rate to KLIA as I always go to Genting during Non-Peak. Paiseh.

st00pig

Ooh... mine was 3 pax previously, and it was during non-peak (Nov 2022). School holidays sure kena hiked de. No choice.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.