Getting a penthouse

wlcling

But still sticking side by side with squeezy roads.

yes i do noticed a PH unit in my estate has been on guru for years and recently reduced price due to other PH selling low too. Seems like a good discount to buy now but still researching more on the pros and cons.

The idea of open terrace 'playground' for kids is the main motivation haha.

Cons is really just the "value" of it. Let's just say 500 sqft of terrace space.. pay half price maybe $600 psf (cheap ballpark).. that's $300k already... alot ppl don't see the value there :D.. some terraces even bigger take up whole second story, probably pay closer to $500k for it

Go view some then you can get a feel of it... i think need good maintenance cos the place gets dirty easily :p
or maybe those boutique condo in D15, got swimming pool on top also haha.

Subprimer

Cons is really just the "value" of it. Let's just say 500 sqft of terrace space.. pay half price maybe $600 psf (cheap ballpark).. that's $300k already... alot ppl don't see the value there :D.. some terraces even bigger take up whole second story, probably pay closer to $500k for it

Go view some then you can get a feel of it... i think need good maintenance cos the place gets dirty easily :p
or maybe those boutique condo in D15, got swimming pool on top also haha.

Agree on the value, not ideal for investment but good to stay.

I saw a few units, some is squeaky clean while others ugly mold stains. Gotta regular upkeep I guess. Don't really fancy a swimming pool on top as there is already swimming pool downstairs. Now I am shopping for 3-4 bedders preferably low floor penthouse.

Subprimer

wlcling

Agree on the value, not ideal for investment but good to stay.

I saw a few units, some is squeaky clean while others ugly mold stains. Gotta regular upkeep I guess. Don't really fancy a swimming pool on top as there is already swimming pool downstairs. Now I am shopping for 3-4 bedders preferably low floor penthouse.

GL, sounds fun take your time to search!

But why low floor? :D
Sounds like those small development kinds which can be a little too quiet for kids (mid to big dev i like cos for kids i personally think they can find friends/mingle easily)
or maybe it ends up be a cluster house kind in a condo (mixed development)

Cryophoenix

The location is not too bad and it is freehold, wonder why their units are selling so cheap, is it due to factories nearby or the funny design of front door straight to kitchen?
You see the photos. The bathroom is small and penthouse looks hard to maintain. Exit opps probs not great as well. :s12:

Subprimer

GL, sounds fun take your time to search!

But why low floor? :D
Sounds like those small development kinds which can be a little too quiet for kids (mid to big dev i like cos for kids i personally think they can find friends/mingle easily)
or maybe it ends up be a cluster house kind in a condo (mixed development)

Yes has been slowly searching for a good one, saw a $200k discount from my estate neighbour and got me actively searching again.

Low floor due to height phobia haha. Yes small to mid would be good. You have a point, but it seems like condo kids seldom hang around together?

You see the photos. The bathroom is small and penthouse looks hard to maintain. Exit opps probs not great as well. :s12:

the fengshui just seems off, enter the house and hit kitchen straightaway. The opp block does look too near for privacy.

wlcling

Yes has been slowly searching for a good one, saw a $200k discount from my estate neighbour and got me actively searching again.

Low floor due to height phobia haha. Yes small to mid would be good. You have a point, but it seems like condo kids seldom hang around together?

the fengshui just seems off, enter the house and hit kitchen straightaway. The opp block does look too near for privacy.

tbh not sure about the condo kids part also.. i hdb dweller so appreciate some parts where young kids can mingle rather just hooked on electronics whole day. I bought a ph in mid-sized dev, moving in later this year, so lets see... lol

just that when i see place for eg high park residences, the facilities/feeling all feel very resort/family-friendly (ppl may say crowded, but im cool with those). Vs those small developments pool very small and super super quiet (and more expensive maintenance fees also)

Subprimer

tbh not sure about the condo kids part also.. i hdb dweller so appreciate some parts where young kids can mingle rather just hooked on electronics whole day. I bought a ph in mid-sized dev, moving in later this year, so lets see... lol

just that when i see place for eg high park residences, the facilities/feeling all feel very resort/family-friendly (ppl may say crowded, but im cool with those). Vs those small developments pool very small and super super quiet (and more expensive maintenance fees also)

oh congrats, new development? I am sure your kids will love the terrace.

Yea, condo estate is different from HDB, the kids playing downstairs are either with parents or maid and they don't spend a lot of time playing, I guess mostly studying or enrichment classes; quite a dull childhood. I used to stay HDB and I have a lot of neighbourhood friends so I understand your point.

I think mid sized is more ideal, you'll have a headache booking facilities in big development, you may even need to queue for treadmill. My current dev is mid sized around 400 plus units, and the gym is quite full already and function room needs to be booked way in advance.

wlcling

oh congrats, new development? I am sure your kids will love the terrace.

Yea, condo estate is different from HDB, the kids playing downstairs are either with parents or maid and they don't spend a lot of time playing, I guess mostly studying or enrichment classes; quite a dull childhood. I used to stay HDB and I have a lot of neighbourhood friends so I understand your point.

I think mid sized is more ideal, you'll have a headache booking facilities in big development, you may even need to queue for treadmill. My current dev is mid sized around 400 plus units, and the gym is quite full already and function room needs to be booked way in advance.

mine is no-terrace in the end, cos the unit i finally went for had nice living space inside (for me) on a single floorplate... depend on balcony then :D

andyhtc

Any thoughts on this as bachelor pad? Seems like not bad for own stay but definitely not for family

Stacked did a tour of it:

A private pool is normally quite small. The maintenance cost will also be private.

RatRaceEscape

A private pool is normally quite small. The maintenance cost will also be private.
Need to pool together some sinking funds for maintenance :cool:

But jokes aside, agent told me owner pays $120 a month for pool maintenance. Contractor comes weekly via the emergency exit.

Just worried about resale in the future

RatRaceEscape

Nice place, only issues are boutique development and cramped rooms. At most fit family of 3. :o
Yeah being a boutique development is my main concern. Don't know whether can exit if I make an offer of $1.4m / $1kpsf.

Family wise not a big concern for me yet. Still living the bachelor life with no kids that I'm aware of.

Cryophoenix

Yeah being a boutique development is my main concern. Don't know whether can exit if I make an offer of $1.4m / $1kpsf.

Family wise not a big concern for me yet. Still living the bachelor life with no kids that I'm aware of.
If buying purely for own stay, locking in a lower quantum would be most impt factor. If you get attached, the 2 bedder looks ok for 2 pax so should be alright either way.

If looking to flip after 3 years, then plz stay away. :s12:

RatRaceEscape

If buying purely for own stay, locking in a lower quantum would be most impt factor. If you get attached, the 2 bedder looks ok for 2 pax so should be alright either way.

If looking to flip after 3 years, then plz stay away. :s12:
Thanks buddy. I think it's realistic to assume I'll go from 1 pax to 2 pax in a few years and potentially create a third pax after that.

Because of this I don't see myself holding on to it for more than 5-7 years. Would have a lot of fun times with this kind of pad though.

keithster

I will not consider a penthouse unless it is a single floor with more rooms or liveable space. But such unit usually hard to come by.

if there is an outdoor rooftop on top, i know i will not go up often. I will be lazy to climb and i scare hot too if no aircon. Bad for long term stay

even if it is an indoor loft, i will be lazy to climb everyday also

RatRaceEscape

I will not consider a penthouse unless it is a single floor with more rooms or liveable space. But such unit usually hard to come by.

if there is an outdoor rooftop on top, i know i will not go up often. I will be lazy to climb and i scare hot too if no aircon. Bad for long term stay

even if it is an indoor loft, i will be lazy to climb everyday also
I agree and I think I'll only use the pool on weekends at most. But hard to overlook the fact that this place is $1k PSF so I'm still going to kaypoh and view after CNY just for fun.

https://www.propertyguru.com.sg/listing/24192298/for-sale-bliss-loft
Or perhaps just save up a bit more, strike toto a few times and sell some organs to buy this place instead:

https://www.propertyguru.com.sg/listing/23973148/for-sale-skyline-orchard-boulevard

keithster

Any thoughts on this as bachelor pad? Seems like not bad for own stay but definitely not for family

https://www.propertyguru.com.sg/listing/24192298/for-sale-bliss-loft
Stacked did a tour of it:

tremendously a lot of space wastage... if i were to stay here, i can be sure i wun be at the rooftop most of the time.

the rooftop & everything looks very high cost in maintenance esp the pool.

the livable space itself looks very cramped. i wonder how can 1,399sqft unit land up in this state.

prob the view is nice but we dun always look out & far most of the time.

this unit no no for me... $1mil i can consider.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.