Gigaworks S750 PROBLEM!

alainmklim

The parts that are difficult to source for are(assuming spoilt)

1) BASH amps, BASH Controller, and BASH Converter
2) PDC input PS(not sure if The Gigaworks/Megaworks used that or CSW's own PS)
3) 8" CSW triple 8 ohms 70W voice coil woofer

The first two are bound by BASH license IIRC, so only a few vendors are allowed to carry it. The other alternative that I read of is to get directly from Indigo Inc.

The second one is even more difficult to find because most woofers are single/double voice coils or in the multiple of two voice coils.

Other components should be standard parts, or at least easily replacable by equivalent standard parts.

The other option is to "cannibalise" from other spoilt BASH PS and amps, and salvage replacable parts, that is, if those can be found.

due to the controlling, cause the user suffer from lost.

the more we know the details of the set, will made us keep away from it.

a 7.1 amp from yamaha or onkyo is much better choice of combination.
even a 5.1 is much good enough and lower cost. long long lasting.

stomper

Lucky one within the 2 years so you can have free rma.

No so lucky one, zhun zhun after two years.

good set, but not long lasting. think they also don't want to build it long last, right??

i think i use more than 3 years liao
no problem so far

AZE

from wat i read is normal those caps that blow and Mofest that is burn

The problem is that some of the failures cause collatoral damage and have domino effects that also damaged some of the critical components.

buaians

hmm.. ya.. actually also depends.. for those that is fuse blow one.. normally most of the parts are protected

JiaJiaLoveU

just found this thread, let me share my sad story......

now...... my 2nd gigaworks S750 died. first time whole house power jump, check everything...... only gigaworks die, change fuse no use..... then i still dreamed the 3rd party shop uncle can help so i sent in, charge me around 60 dollars without fixing anything, then send into creative, replaced one to me, looks brand new, paid addtional 18 bucks for delivery...... cost me near 300 bucks, at that time i still feel acceptable because i paid that stupid uncle for 60 bucks for nothing (before opening he charged me 20, when no hope liao want to take it back, charge me 40 again).

then i use it happily, i am a very careful user, and not a heavy user, always power off when no use, everything go fine........ i move some of my furniture in my study room so that need relocate the big box then i unplug all the cables and did not use it for almost 3-4 months. last week bought a Wii and very happy so that want to connect to the gigaworks since I got DDT-100 as well. after connect the power cable and power one, fuse burned. ****..... 3.15A quite hard to find but still manage to find online that UF technology in SLS #03-69 sells it and 30 cents only.... home fix no stock (just FYI). i already bought 3A from home fix, theoretically, 3A can and also cannot be use for 3A device....... so burned another one......

today, before i go down to SLS to get the 3.15 i saw this thread, feel no hope liao..... it may not be the fuse problem but some part of the speak got problems, i suspect the lined controller...... but how know?
if this time die again, i think maybe i need go for normal traditional 5.1 from other brand liao. i agree the sound of the speaker is good, but when my 1st gigaworks die, that uncle take out the internal part, i saw inside both material and handcraft are quite ugly and cheap feeling...... since my grandparents own big kenwood speakers bought many years ago, i saw the internal part before, they are just heaven and earth.......

i still want to have a last try to replace the fuse. good luck for myself..... otherwise creative is really renting me speaker service. need to pay for every certain period....

JiaJiaLoveU

just found this thread, let me share my sad story......

now...... my 2nd gigaworks S750 died. first time whole house power jump, check everything...... only gigaworks die, change fuse no use..... then i still dreamed the 3rd party shop uncle can help so i sent in, charge me around 60 dollars without fixing anything, then send into creative, replaced one to me, looks brand new, paid addtional 18 bucks for delivery...... cost me near 300 bucks, at that time i still feel acceptable because i paid that stupid uncle for 60 bucks for nothing (before opening he charged me 20, when no hope liao want to take it back, charge me 40 again).

then i use it happily, i am a very careful user, and not a heavy user, always power off when no use, everything go fine........ i move some of my furniture in my study room so that need relocate the big box then i unplug all the cables and did not use it for almost 3-4 months. last week bought a Wii and very happy so that want to connect to the gigaworks since I got DDT-100 as well. after connect the power cable and power one, fuse burned. ****..... 3.15A quite hard to find but still manage to find online that UF technology in SLS #03-69 sells it and 30 cents only.... home fix no stock (just FYI). i already bought 3A from home fix, theoretically, 3A can and also cannot be use for 3A device....... so burned another one......

today, before i go down to SLS to get the 3.15 i saw this thread, feel no hope liao..... it may not be the fuse problem but some part of the speak got problems, i suspect the lined controller...... but how know?
if this time die again, i think maybe i need go for normal traditional 5.1 from other brand liao. i agree the sound of the speaker is good, but when my 1st gigaworks die, that uncle take out the internal part, i saw inside both material and handcraft are quite ugly and cheap feeling...... since my grandparents own big kenwood speakers bought many years ago, i saw the internal part before, they are just heaven and earth.......

i still want to have a last try to replace the fuse. good luck for myself..... otherwise creative is really renting me speaker service. need to pay for every certain period....

it is confirmed not fuse problem, bought 3 3.15 fuse, blow 2 again, leave the last one and i will bring back to Creative on Monday, ****.....

anyone here can share what other alternative system excluding logitech Z5500, i mean normal setup suitable for PC and DVD for less than 600 bucks.

JiaJiaLoveU

i sent my gigaworks to creative at marina square on the last day of year 2007. they also charged me 40 bucks for the service charge before replacing one new for me. i cannot remember my previous Gigaworks S750 replacement they charged me any service charge.
anyone here charged 40 bucks like me?

and i noticed the power cable is 12A with 5A fuse while the fuse on the subwoofer is 3.15A. do we have to use gigaworks stock cable or we can use any high quality PC power cable? is there any restriction for the fuse we need to use inside the power cable plug?

buaians

hmmm

i email creative be4.. they say the normal PSU cables can be used on the speakers.. so ya..

for a budget under 600 get maybe G500? or maybe klipsch 4.1? or GMX

jujubeans

sad story.. mine also. the sub at sigma for almost 5 mths also. lol............

anyway guys do u all off the sub when not using or all the way on the sub?

koohansen

sad story.. mine also. the sub at sigma for almost 5 mths also. lol............

anyway guys do u all off the sub when not using or all the way on the sub?

I always leave mine on. I got the same prob, changed fused. Still kaboom.. sadly i got to RMA it.. $289!! :s27: Problem was caused by power surge!

sutm

Dead S750 sub owners.

1) buaians
2) Z_Dash
3) satchelpooch
4) UnforgivenVengeance
5) sutm
6)

And the list goes on. :D

The problem with set is sometimes there is no sound from the satellite speakers, although I can still feel something coming out from the sub. Seems like this product from creative has some quality issues.

sutm

But if supposing like 1 dead sub can save 2 faulty ones prolly can discuss bout token price.
My poor sats miss their mummy sub......been 5 months at Sigma AV le.....lol.

I've given up on my G750. Would gladly like to donate my sub (faulty) to anyone who can salvage it. The satellites are still in good working conditions though, can sell off for a cheap price if anyone is interested.

junkai21

Sorry to up so old thread but..

I've been into the blown fuse problem trying to fix for some bros here.

I strongly suggest that it's a heng and suay issue if you send your speakers to SLS and fix it.
You might get it back the same subwoofer on the exterior. But you'll never know what they did inside. I've gotton one bro's subwoofer back from Si*** as it's in si**a for quite a few months, when i was about to fix it, i found out that the screws were out. Differnet lengths, some screws were missing.

Nevermind, i opened up and check inside. More horrifying is the power board is missing! I guess they are doing some swapping of power board to get one or two lucky subs to be working and return back to customer. So those who actually left the subwoofer in the shop for months, i guess GG liao. Your parts inside are scattered all over other subwoofers.

Just some information for bros here.

saint17

junkai21.. u fix s750 subs??

knn.. i go back creative to replace my sub early this year.. near 300 bucks.. within 6 months.. sub blowed again..
i dont want to replace it again.. 300 bucks.. if the problem keeps coming back then really no end..

junkai21

i cannot confirm, i'll try. I managed to fix the common problem of offing itself from the G500.

However, all i can say is that S750's circuit board design is totally rubbish! Cramping 700watts of BASH amp into one heatsink. Not forgetting the heat from the power supply. Overheating is an issue here.

mrhello

I think only 2 words. Creative sux? I was thinking about getting Gigaworks T3, but dunno leh?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.