[GLGT]Graduates face bleak future as skill gap widens, vacancies shrink

Shion

Senior Mentor
the education system here is already a joke then add in NS for the guys, 19 finish poly go straight into NS, brain no need use for 2 years, by ORD your diploma education theory is already behind by 2 years, then you go into UNI ok give you NUS 3 years,

by the time finish and ready to find job, you got 2 years of obsolete theory from diploma days + 3 years of fresh textbook theory vs foreigners that is ok with lower salary with at least 6-7 years of real life work experience and probably around the same age as the fresh grad whom wants higher salary

Who will you pick to handle the job?

+1 hard truths

miko66

Waiting for MOM to release the employment and unemployment data ..

Breakdowns in nationalities as well

For now, I'll only believe what TSL sprouted in parliament !

But in EDMW, NPNT !

lifeafter41

The day of reckoning is finally here huh!!!!!!!
SG grads kena displaced by FTs and PRs imported by the tens of thousands.

Not talking about those constructions, manual type jobs.

But those in MBFC etc……

Maybe those grads that have parents happened to work in MOM or ICA can provide valuable feedback to them…………..

socratesg

Knn everyday kpkb abt high COL, cai png so $xpensive, high COE, no jobs, hard to land jobs etc...yet still so kumgong go vote for open leg ?

This is clear illustration of the classic Stockholm syndrome i.e. Insanity is keep voting for the same shiat and yet expecting different and better outcomes. LOL dream on lah.

bluerhino

Policies were made years ago lah...their kids benefiting from it now
You know when edmw say who they vote for they say in jest right? You really think everything happening in your life depends on who you vote for? You think vote oppo will be different?

NintendoSwitch

the education system here is already a joke then add in NS for the guys, 19 finish poly go straight into NS, brain no need use for 2 years, by ORD your diploma education theory is already behind by 2 years, then you go into UNI ok give you NUS 3 years,

by the time finish and ready to find job, you got 2 years of obsolete theory from diploma days + 3 years of fresh textbook theory vs foreigners that is ok with lower salary with at least 6-7 years of real life work experience and probably around the same age as the fresh grad whom wants higher salary

Who will you pick to handle the job?
NS for FT. Jobs for Sinkies?

Moe spends too many years locking up sinkies in studies liao. Should follow other country style graduate by 19-20 or even earlier. Reservist should be a privilege for talents not Sinkies.

NintendoSwitch

Knn everyday kpkb abt high COL, cai png so $xpensive, high COE, no jobs, hard to land jobs etc...yet still so kumgong go vote for open leg ?

This is clear illustration of the classic Stockholm syndrome i.e. Insanity is keep voting for the same shiat and yet expecting different and better outcomes. LOL dream on lah.
Those 5k at EDMW oredi enlightened. It ish the rest of the 6 million dat still drink the kool aid.

siaoliaolor

Need to tighten thier neck

Govt please open flood gates , many other grad willing to work longer hours and lesser pay .

dambio

https://www.businesstimes.com.sg/si...-graduates-employers-flag-skills-gap-linkedin

[SINGAPORE] Fresh graduates face a double whammy of fewer job openings and a growing mismatch between vacancies and skills.

Studies conducted by LinkedIn revealed that the labour market has tightened for jobseekers in Singapore, with the number of job postings per applicant falling 8 per cent over the last year to March.

“This means stiffer competition, with more graduates chasing fewer roles today,” said the professional networking site in a report released on Thursday (May 8).

In addition, employers are expecting candidates to be even more qualified, further widening the talent gap in the labour market, LinkedIn found. In a separate survey which polled over 500 human resources (HR) professionals in Singapore, recruiters revealed that half or less than half of job applications met their requirements and preferred qualifications for roles over the past year.

The most prominent hiring roadblock was difficulty in finding candidates with the right soft skills for a role, with 50 per cent of respondents describing it as a top challenge, while 44 per cent indicated that candidates’ lack of technical skills for a role ranked among the largest obstacles.

:s14:
It's even made worst when recruiters go overseas to hold job fairs directly. Hiring sp n ep employees.

N then there's sg jb sez coming up. Alot of companies r shifting there or setting up offices there. They ok with going there to work?

virtualape

You know when edmw say who they vote for they say in jest right? You really think everything happening in your life depends on who you vote for? You think vote oppo will be different?
Vote oppo sure things will be different. More blockades which will slow down decision making.

Imagine a simple thing like founders memorial which cost $335mil to build. If oppies object to it, debate in parliament, it may take years to approve which will affect the GDP projection. GDP is an important kpi of an economy. It also affects bonus/promotion of those in public service.

alvincy

I love this news. All these young people graduating from the university don’t believe how FT is screwing our jobs opportunities. When being interview still talk nonsense who gave voucher i vote who, i only know PAP, my family vote PAP……..

cannot find job and need to pay back study loan, unable to buy BTO then cry mother cry father.

bluerhino

Vote oppo sure things will be different. More blockades which will slow down decision making.

Imagine a simple thing like founders memorial which cost $335mil to build. If oppies object to it, debate in parliament, it may take years to approve which will affect the GDP projection. GDP is an important kpi of an economy. It also affects bonus/promotion of those in public service.
You think until too simple. WP only object to things which they think oppo supporters want then to object to. Nothing to do about whether good or bad to sinkies. You see 377A they no guts to take sides because they scared either side they support they will also lose voters. What they support? Cheap hdb, no foreigners. I think any p1 kid can also tell you voters like to hear that.

JivBunny

Many years back, I was hiring candidates and I shortlisted a few and eventually took in some fresh grads.

My boss summoned me to her her office and kpkb at me about hiring fresh and should have hired with experience. Which I told her I will train them as I prefer it that way. She chided me and said that I should not have spent so much time on training as she got other tasks for me. Anyway, fast forward to 2-3 years later, all those trained by me are really performing well, so much so that another dept wanted to “hijack” them over. To me, I hired fresh with good attitude and they are easy to train.

And then fast forward to another 2-3 years later……karma hits my boss when it was time for her daughter to come out to work when she got difficulty trying to get job. I remb she lamenting to me how the current bosses don’t take in fresh grads and how they gain experience if they don’t.

Her daughter end up going back to school to do her masters, without work experience and even worse, without work experience and an advance certificate, could not get jobs. So now doing her 2nd masters and bumming around some part time job.

Karma.

dambio

I love this news. All these young people graduating from the university don’t believe how FT is screwing our jobs opportunities. When being interview still talk nonsense who gave voucher i vote who, i only know PAP, my family vote PAP……..

cannot find job and need to pay back study loan, unable to buy BTO then cry mother cry father.
They believed wat d school told them. Plus those speeches given by ministers or who. Who went there to give them speeches.

When they're in school surrounded by foreigners. They shld alr know. It's so telling alr.

LoaGong12

So now after graduate from diploma/degree, need to immediately claim skillsfuture to upskill?

Love our education system. Really prep us for the working world. Very relevant, very effective.
which system is better?

LoaGong12

Many years back, I was hiring candidates and I shortlisted a few and eventually took in some fresh grads.

My boss summoned me to her her office and kpkb at me about hiring fresh and should have hired with experience. Which I told her I will train them as I prefer it that way. She chided me and said that I should not have spent so much time on training as she got other tasks for me. Anyway, fast forward to 2-3 years later, all those trained by me are really performing well, so much so that another dept wanted to “hijack” them over. To me, I hired fresh with good attitude and they are easy to train.

And then fast forward to another 2-3 years later……karma hits my boss when it was time for her daughter to come out to work when she got difficulty trying to get job. I remb she lamenting to me how the current bosses don’t take in fresh grads and how they gain experience if they don’t.

Her daughter end up going back to school to do her masters, without work experience and even worse, without work experience and an advance certificate, could not get jobs. So now doing her 2nd masters and bumming around some part time job.

Karma.
good sharing. how for more sinkie bosses to be like you?
hard truth is sinkies are pawning one another.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.