GLGT - [LAI LIAO] - Shanmugam calls out Leong Mun Wai's racist comments, 'condemned' HDB dwellers remark in exchange over race-based policies

LocalRider

https://www.channelnewsasia.com/singapore/k-shanmugam-leong-mun-wai-parliament-multiracial-housing-491822

“Mr Leong has also made comments in this House which are racist, and he has quite freely admitted to that too,” added Mr Shanmugam.

ADVERTISEMENT
Scroll to continue with content
Referring to the parliamentary hansard, Mr Shanmugam cited his exchange with Mr Leong in a September 2021 sitting, during which the topic of the Singapore-India Comprehensive Economic Cooperation Agreement (CECA) was brought up.

Back then, the minister noted that Mr Leong’s comments on CECA had troubled even his own party members who, according to media reports, interpreted the comments as targeting the Indian community and having a racial undertone. Mr Leong eventually said that “there will be some people who will think there is (a) racial undertone”.

“If you look at his comments, the 80 per cent of Singaporeans who live in HDB flats are condemned, and if you combine that with his racist comments, Mr Leong may not put much value in our multiracial approach, he may not put value in our ethnic integration in our housing estates,” said Mr Shanmugam on Wednesday.

He emphasised that the EIP is a key part of the government’s approach to ensure that people are integrated well and that housing estates are well managed.

“And the CMIO is a key plank of those policies,” he said.

In response, Mr Leong said that his party supports the EIP, but takes issue with the economic disadvantages.

“There's an economic cost to the minorities, so we are looking (and) we have recommended in this parliament that we should compensate the minorities for that economic cost they have incurred,” he explained. “We are not against the EIP at all.”

Mr Shanmugam then closed the exchange, noting that Mr Leong did not address his point on the use of the word “condemned” nor allegations of his past racist comments.

"I note that Mr Leong doesn't deny saying that 80 per cent of Singaporeans who live in HDB flats are condemned, and that his comments were racist,” he said.

going by the same argument, if anyone questions about Belt and Road initiative, means racist to Chinese race or Chinese Singaporeans?

LocalRider

next election whites can consider ask him go Hougang so that between him and Pritam, we don’t have to worry about racial disharmony in Singapore.

byfun

Thought he sold his GCB?
ownself sell to ownself trust.

Those trust is usually for the super rich to manage their many assets be it money or property. Definitely have some advantages or else why many super rich park their money and wealth in trust.

Its also planning for their offspring and future generation to ensure if there is a char siew it wont squander all the wealth. That y the rich get richer. This is learning from the west how to manage family wealth to ensure even a century later the family wealth will even be even richer.

We normal sinkies too low ses to understand purpose of it..

HumJiBeng

When u have FTs with EP staying in condo while sinkies have to be contended with staying in HDB by government, I don't see LMW is wrong about saying sinkies are condemned to staying in hdb

Chunchunmaru

Webster defines racism as:

"a belief that race is a fundamental determinant of human traits and capacities and that racial differences produce an inherent superiority of a particular race".

Look at the statistics. Then ask yourself the genuine question that, if the SG system is as meritocratic as it vaunts itself to be, why the population, race-wise, is the way it is as raised by LMW.

Yes, he is racist, but in the most neutral of terms. Our law minister is clutching at straws.

RedRedWine

Seriously this shan isn't adding much value to his team anymore, and fast becoming a burden with all the news of his rideout and gcb. He is a good attacking asset but now that he can't even take bloomberg to task for an article they deemed to contain false statements, then what's the point of having him around.
Havent even give a satisfactory closure to ridout gcb then still wanna make noise

ask him just diam diam and wait to see if get voted out

LocalRider

Havent even give a satisfactory closure to ridout gcb then still wanna make noise

ask him just diam diam and wait to see if get voted out

LW should really review his team, esp those clowns that generate disharmony amongst Singaporeans.

Edwin T is also a lawyer, and I find Edwin much more balanced and value adding. Look at how his team review the NTUC Income case and brought in Lady Gaga.

Linguist

ownself sell to ownself trust.

Those trust is usually for the super rich to manage their many assets be it money or property. Definitely have some advantages or else why many super rich park their money and wealth in trust.

Its also planning for their offspring and future generation to ensure if there is a char siew it wont squander all the wealth. That y the rich get richer. This is learning from the west how to manage family wealth to ensure even a century later the family wealth will even be even richer.

We normal sinkies too low ses to understand purpose of it..
So if SG don't tax the rich and their wealth in trust and they keep getting richer and richer... then how?

Monies all stuck with them?
https://cnalifestyle.channelnewsasia.com/dining/fb-outlets-highest-closure-20-years-459411

Recently saw the above article... then mention many more started up... like nonsense like that, especially when populations grew to 6 million and also don't know the 'business' is active or just opened for what other sort of reasons...

JonWeak

Brb, bumping some old threads since Shamn likes to dig.
dachshund-why-dig.jpg

sukukia

We can see what kind of attack dog who is totally shameless to accuse something that a person didn't do.

When Leong talked about protecting jobs for Singaporeans and why many jobs given to country A and B. The scum will shout 'oh you are a racist man to talk about south asians, you constantly talk about south asians, and you want to ban them'
psp own people also felt ownself xiasuay ownself lmw’s comments have racial undertone…shameless of people defending a racist…

charleslee1989

The GRC system was implemented in 1988.opposition held only SMC then. Does it mean pappies are racists that they need to have GRCs?

What have they represented the minorities in the past 3 decades?

Reserved presidency for Malay and/or Muslim? Lol...

is GRCs were meant for purely minority representation, we would have stuck to 3 men GRCs only.
Seeing how we have 4, 5 men GRCs (and 6 men in the past), it clearly shows that minority representation was never an important concern

On size, I give them the benefit of the doubt...but not holding by elections when their own people who happens to be a minority kena corruption and then citing GRCs as a way of protecting minorities' rights a few days ago is very telling!

pspandwp

You are a hardcore PAP supporter doing same things as the ministers, making fake accusations.
People with no integrity make fake accusations with no evidence and no proof.
Cos it is easy for low class scums PAP to put words into someone's mouth.

bro, he is no hardcore white supporter

rather

he is a hardup from across the causeway

who for 50 cents per post anyhow post

in other words

he is an IB

the best practice in edmw is to ignore such cockroaches

IBs are despicable cockroaches from across the causeway who for 50 cents per post sell their soul to whites and so face certain condemnation

Philipkee

is GRCs were meant for purely minority representation, we would have stuck to 3 men GRCs only.
Seeing how we have 4, 5 men GRCs (and 6 men in the past), it clearly shows that minority representation was never an important concern
Actually it’s fine. But I believe the GRC should be broken into individual wards for purpose of elections so it’s one man one vote. But the wards helmed by minorities can only be contested by minorities

Then after elections, you can form ur mega GRC if u want for admin purpose

aCAcIAsEED

As usual, do not agreed with opposition then start trying to stir on racial ground. Anyway, kp so much on public housing for what. He also will not be affect by this CMIO requirement.

Update: people pointed out he sold his GCB.
Watch one of Taiwan current affair video.
In Taiwan, once money go into Trustee, how the money go, cannot be traced. Not sure about SG ground.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.