[GLGT] Minister Ong Ye Kung Responds to KF Seetoh’s Untrue Claims About Bukit Canberra Hawker Centre

Philipkee

like that still sign contract for what? you know the term "Breach of Contract"? So if the hawker breach the contract, they need to pay for breaching the contract.
Nope. If the contract never state a penalty, then it doesn’t stand up in a court of law. Of cos then it’s a poorly written contract

Of cos usually contract will say “all clauses must be adhered to” so now the issue is what exactly did the contract say? Why only show the clause and not the penalty part?

krikering

We need people like KF Seetoh to raise awareness on those failures and consequences of poorly-written policies.

He raised a very good point on those other chains not be required to do so, think is a very good idea suggested.

byfun

or he saying his words more powerful than a legal binding contract? need further clarification to understand...

Ministar open golden mouth liao... hawkers who kena can quote or go ask OYK if really kena sued loh .... see OYK uturn or not.

tauntme

You need to show the black and white stating what penalty la. Cos OYK never said the clause never existed, just there was no penalty

It could be like “worker shall come to to work on time” but if worker is late employer also boh chup if no complaint.

contracts are not supposed to work/depend on the "goodwill" of any party...

hotamp

dont feel like reading, too sian of all these bickering....so who won in the end? kf or yk :unsure:

RyanJ

The numbers quoted are very off the mark. ?30 a year vs 60 a month ?

I am more inclined to believe the official statement, Seetoh's sauces not very reliable ?

HushiePuppies

You all never work office setting one meh. Or serve NS.

This kind of thing very common one ah

The top people ah tell the manager to get the worker to do something. But never do nevermind.

But manager go to the worker lei.

"Top people say you MUST do this"

I tell you la this pay-it-forward thingy sure is like this.

On OYK this level he see. Yes is no penalties if never do.

But stream down to a few level. Suddenly become COMPULSORY.

It's the middle bunch of kuku between the top people and the lowest group (the hawker) that screw up usually

Probably something like this:
  • Citizens to OYK: Free food for low income families.
  • OYK to stat board manager: Okay, let's do a pay-it-forward scheme for hawkers interested. Should be hawker initiative, not compulsory
  • stat board manager to the Private Operator: Ok Minister say already ah, you get the idea. Free food for low income is important for this tender.
  • Private Operator to Hawkers: Ok you want to rent a stall here, you must sign this contract. Inside got a clause where you pay out of your pocket to provide 30 free meals as part of your tenancy agreement. Better do it har. Upstairs orders.
  • Hawkers to KFST: KNN nowadays be hawker still must provide free food. Eat into costs, really buay sai tan jiak.
  • KSFT to Citizens: wah hawkers so jialat, must provide free food out of own pocket.

huihong

Minister for Health and Coordinating Minister for Social Policies Ong Ye Kung, who is also the Member of Parliament for Sembawang GRC, has stepped in to clarify several claims made by food critic KF Seetoh about Bukit Canberra Hawker Centre, which is located in his constituency.

In his Facebook post, Ong said he looked into the matter after seeing a series of posts by KF Seetoh last week.

No $70 blue basket fee

Seetoh had claimed that hawkers were being charged $70 a month to use a blue basket for storing supplies. Ong said this is untrue, and there is no such practice at the hawker centre.

Free meals claim not entirely accurate​

Another claim was that hawkers must provide 60 free meals each month. Ong explained that when the hawker centre first opened, stallholders had agreed to provide 30 meals per month for low-income residents. This was later revised to 100 meals over the entire three-year lease period, with no penalties for non-compliance.

This simple, well-intentioned initiative was meant to encourage the hawkers to “Pay-It-Forward”. Ong also added that the initiative has not yet started.

Ong: Appreciates KF Seetoh’s concern for hawkers, but do so without putting down anyone​

Since opening, Bukit Canberra Hawker Centre has become a popular spot for residents to enjoy food, meet neighbours, and be surrounded by greenery. Ong said he visits often and has seen the centre thrive.

While he appreciates KF Seetoh’s concern for hawkers and shares the goal of preserving hawker culture, Ong called for constructive dialogue instead of putting down patrons, hawkers, operators, or government agencies.

“When issues arise, there are avenues for discussion and resolution. Everyone will need to work together to uphold our hawker centre culture,” he wrote.

You may read his post in full text below:

In the past week, I was alerted to a series of online posts by KF Seetoh regarding the management of Bukit Canberra Hawker Centre. I took an interest, as this is a hawker centre in my constituency. I have looked into the matters raised by KF Seetoh and would like to share what I have found out.

First, it was claimed that hawkers are charged $70 a month for the use of a blue basket to store their supplies. This is not true, as there is no such practice of charging for the use of the blue baskets at the back of their stalls.

Second, it was also claimed that hawkers must provide 60 free meals each month. This does not present the full picture.

When Bukit Canberra Hawker Centre first opened, the stallholders initially agreed to provide 30 meals a month for low-income residents. This was subsequently adjusted to 100 meals over the three-year duration of their lease. There are no penalties if they do not or are unable to provide the meals. This simple, well-intentioned initiative was meant to encourage our hawkers to ‘Pay-It-Forward’. In any case, the initiative has yet to commence.

Since its opening, Bukit Canberra Hawker Centre has become a lively and welcoming space for the community — a place to enjoy good food, meet neighbors, and be surrounded by greenery. It has been a great addition to the community and one that is appreciated by residents. I visit frequently and have seen the growth of the hawker centre firsthand.

I appreciate KF Seetoh’s concern for our hawkers and share his passion for keeping our hawker culture alive and thriving. However, let’s do so without putting down anyone, whether they are patrons, hawkers, the hawker centre operator, or government agencies. When issues arise, there are avenues for discussion and resolution. Everyone will need to work together to uphold our hawker centre culture.

https://sureboh.sg/2025/08/11/ong-y...9x_aem_CeSppDAIoZLvdSalo-FAOg#google_vignette

HushiePuppies

Remember LMW. He could literally point to the people who told him the news and it wasn’t totally true
probably that's why he not voted in anymore. people hate those who rat on them, even if they are the ones who sabo first.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.