[GLGT] Raising rail reliability targets could come at a cost to taxpayers, commuters: Chee Hong Tat

Calis_Yoda

Wait wait wait.... Wait a minute.

Didn't CHT just told us that "public transport fares should not be linked to service levels"?

Source: https://www.straitstimes.com/singap...-public-transport-fares-are-set-chee-hong-tat

I quote:

"He(Opposition, Gerald Giam) also suggested considering service reliability in the period leading up to the date of the proposed fare increase as a factor in the fare adjustment formula.

Mr Chee said that while the PTC had previously thought about linking fare reviews to disruptions and service levels, it ultimately “decided not to adopt this approach”. "

16 Oct 2024

---

So how come now suddenly when talking abt reliability, it will come at a cost to taxpayer and commuters!?!?

Huh?

When calling for reliability to be a factor, hinting that recent poor reliability to be taken into consideration for impending price hike, then say "reliability should not be tagged to fare."

Now asking you to review standards, then say "you want us raise standard we may need to increase fares".

HUH??

Even simplygo didn't u-turn so quickly.
Typical attitude and tactics of govt - flipping prata, twisting and turning replies and policies to their convenience. Very much like aunties who are veterans, very polished in arguing and wanting to win every time.

priore

Typical attitude and tactics of govt - flipping prata, twisting and turning replies and policies to their convenience. Very much like aunties who are veterans, very polished in arguing and wanting to win every time.
Totally.

I mean u flip prata like the plastic bag charges where in 2018 Amy Khor said no intention to charge plastic bag because it is ineffective - then u-turn without explaining - at least u give some time for people to forget.

This is literally less than a month.

Orphan

Not doing so will also come at a cost for tax paying companies, via lost productivity/deals etc...

Of course, he basically means don't complain or we will increase fares again.

I am interested in how that disgraced old aunty can make so much for the shareholders last time.

Now that they don't need to pay dividends plus raised fares a few times, the reallocated and extra funds not enough? Is there a breakdown of what are their operating costs/turnover and what they are spending money on?

Also, the stations have a secondary function as bomb shelters. How much of the cost for maintaining that function is passed to commuters as part of their fares?

sgggid

wow sibei power sia... if all merchants selling products and services could use the same phrase lol...

sanukboy

SINGAPORE: Raising rail reliability targets could come at a cost to taxpayers and commuters, said Transport Minister Chee Hong Tat.

The current rail reliability target of 1 million mean kilometres between failure (MKBF) remains a "relevant and valid" target, he said in parliament on Monday (Nov 11).

He was responding to a question by Leader of the Opposition Pritam Singh, who said that the target of 1 million MKBF was set about five years ago, and asked if the Ministry of Transport (MOT) is considering raising the threshold.

Mr Chee said that the 1 million figure was chosen because it represents what the best, most reliable rail operators – such as those in Taipei and Guangzhou – have managed to achieve in their systems.

“If we look at it today, I think it's still a relevant and valid target, something that is useful for us to focus on, and that is something which we will continue to work towards,” he said.

The prospect of raising it further has to be carefully assessed, he added.

“Because there is a trade-off between raising MKBF further and what is the cost incurred, which will then ultimately have to be borne by either taxpayers or commuters,” said Mr Chee.

“So, we will study this carefully.”

Rail reliability was being discussed in parliament in the wake of several MRT and LRT system disruptions in the past months.

https://www.channelnewsasia.com/sin...yzFT8qQZcdExG2sU_k_aem_BrS2iFq6Jqs1PzRYWfa_pA
Steady lah!

Long live PAP!!! 😂

yves

he nv solve any problem.
n keep creating more prob.
si bei jia lac.
think we need next better player.
So? By next election he will still win and gek his L an jiao bin smile and sing for you.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.