Google Nexus 7 2nd generation

TiOnGSquare

i blur riao sia..juz now reading nexus 7 thread..alot ppl got their unit riao some even start charging it...then realised im reading nexus 7 gen one 2012 part 1 thread...

weeguy

And it's using Slimport for HDMI out, a better standard than MHL.

But of course, for those who already using MHL, everything also not as good as MHL. :(

I've never used either standard but it seems that Slimport adapters are generally more expensive than MHL, even though they achieve similar functionality (mirroring the device screen on a HDTV via HDMI, which is what users generally care about). Looking at Amazon, Slimport adapters cost around US$20-30 whille MHL adapters are going for around US$5-10.

gigigigi

Btw, I called up asus Singapore 2 times. Just dun understand y the auto voice uses a strong duckalog accent n the 2 customer service officers also duckalog. N their replies r dun know release date, price dun know, releasing soon. Sibey jialat.
hemm..... boikot asus.

kennyboy

I've never used either standard but it seems that Slimport adapters are generally more expensive than MHL, even though they achieve similar functionality (mirroring the device screen on a HDTV via HDMI, which is what users generally care about). Looking at Amazon, Slimport adapters cost around US$20-30 whille MHL adapters are going for around US$5-10.
Yeah, the price is a sore point. Technically, it's much better, more standards supported.

But the main advantage? NO MORE NEED TO HAVE POWER SUPPLY PLUGGED IN. I'ved used MHL enough to be fooking pis*ed at that forced requirement.

And don't tell me about displays that support MHL, those are very rare. :( But hey. US$10 difference. I can't really fault that small amount.

Teo Ming Ern

Rubbish. It works.

People never say you ********** doesn't mean you ain't. :D

If it's not mentioned that means it's not supported out of the box... so having to root the tablet is not an option.
Most micro-USB devices are MHL compatible, this was the more common standard. Shifting to Slimport means another round of adaptor purchases, of which most are not easily available in Singapore... already MHL adaptors aren't widely available... it took me a lot of hunting get hold of one...

kennyboy

If it's not mentioned that means it's not supported out of the box... so having to root the tablet is not an option.
Most micro-USB devices are MHL compatible, this was the more common standard. Shifting to Slimport means another round of adaptor purchases, of which most are not easily available in Singapore... already MHL adaptors aren't widely available... it took me a lot of hunting get hold of one...
Still doesn't change anything. It works, unlike what you said. :D

And for the noobs, it's has ALWAYS been this way on Nexus devices. For the cheapos, root. For the non-cheapos, there's an app for that.

Try harder next time. :) It's the first time I see people say MHL ain't widely available. SLS full of them. Slimport isn't widely available, that's a fact. :)

iEatpraylove

anyone in the same shipment from CGW?
Wednesday, July 31, 2013
3 Departed Facility in PORTLAND - USA, PORTLAND, OR - USA 6:36 PM

hope can reach hongkong before friday 12am

trustME_

for those items in Hong Kong now, the cargo plane departure timing is around 330pm local time. so it should reach singapore by tonight. and delivered by tml. this is for DHL sent by cgw only.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.