Google Nexus S

YouYongku

AMOLED displays have rich, intense color. They also have lower power consumption, important in a battery-powered device, because light is only emitted when pixels are lit up (unlike an LCD where the backlight is constantly glowing).

However, LCDs can have an advantage when viewed in direct sunlight. Sunshine can leave an AMOLED display looking “washed out” or unreadable. It’s possible to put a transmissive-reflective layer (“transflective”) behind an LCD so that some of the incident sunlight is reflected back through the LCD. A transflective LCD remains readable in bright sunshine, although much of the color detail is lost.

In practice, modern AMOLED displays and LCDs can both perform impressively well, and in many cases the purchase decision will be driven by factors other than the display technology.

sorry sorry is SLCD
not LCD sorry sorry wrong liao

YouYongku

amoledslcdvs09102010.jpg

kennyboy

AMOLED displays have rich, intense color. They also have lower power consumption, important in a battery-powered device, because light is only emitted when pixels are lit up (unlike an LCD where the backlight is constantly glowing).

However, LCDs can have an advantage when viewed in direct sunlight. Sunshine can leave an AMOLED display looking “washed out” or unreadable. It’s possible to put a transmissive-reflective layer (“transflective”) behind an LCD so that some of the incident sunlight is reflected back through the LCD. A transflective LCD remains readable in bright sunshine, although much of the color detail is lost.

In practice, modern AMOLED displays and LCDs can both perform impressively well, and in many cases the purchase decision will be driven by factors other than the display technology.

sorry sorry is SLCD
not LCD sorry sorry wrong liao
Outdated info liao....SAMOLED performs much better in daylight.

matkmatk

Thanks guys for the detail information.

I can't find my serial #. Or the serial # doesn't show I902x.
However, I can find under "About Phone" the baseband version which is I9020XXJK8. So that makes mine a SAMOLED? :s12::):s12:
It's still worth the while getting it overseas then.

Can someone verify by checking out a local SLCD set ?

And yes, the screen smiles at me :s13::s13::s13:

matkmatk

looking for nexus s accessories as well.

My friend and me get full-body protector through mail order from Clear-coat. Works pretty well. And they claim life-time warranty, ie if the protector peels, tear it off and exchange for a new one.

FYI, I used BestSkinsEver before on my Nexus One. Clear-coat is thinner (better) but more expensive.

newbie002

My friend and me get full-body protector through mail order from Clear-coat. Works pretty well. And they claim life-time warranty, ie if the protector peels, tear it off and exchange for a new one.

FYI, I used BestSkinsEver before on my Nexus One. Clear-coat is thinner (better) but more expensive.
thanks..any advice on batteries? thinking of getting those from ebay HK

Vulpix

maybe yours? you ordered a few hours earlier than me.. haha.. but they've sent me the tracking code yesterday.. i ordered a keyboard protector for my MacBook Air too.. :o

Tracking code? I thought both methods for shipping no tracking code?

siandiao

just went to a samsung store n did a comparison. wah the SLCD the blacks really make me emo, but for some reason, the colours looks less yellow. damn Google for making the sAMOLED look crappy :(

and the samsung store no have i9020 batts. anyone noes which one got?

Vulpix

just went to a samsung store n did a comparison. wah the SLCD the blacks really make me emo, but for some reason, the colours looks less yellow. damn Google for making the sAMOLED look crappy :(

and the samsung store no have i9020 batts. anyone noes which one got?

You got Voodoo control panel, and you don't want to use and tweak. :s22: Tweak until see no yellow lah.

imacbie

New nexus S users dun mind helping fellow android user check something.
what is the build that came pre-installed on ur devices?

36300776.png

many thanks in advance!

PS. gosh! cant believe i am spamming, need to know cuz it's the answer that will decide me hooting the device tomorrow

Shadow04

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.