Google Pixel 4a

ckiang

Where did you replace the battery? Is it still working fine?
I went to HiTech Mobile at Bugis Junction to replace the battery for $48. Official service centre is $78 I think.

But for some reason, I am experiencing random shutdowns and reboots once every few days. Most of the time, it happens when my phone is in my pocket. Never experienced this before the battery replacement.

Waiting for the 7a before I get a new one.

Regards
CK

ckiang

Anyone still using the 4a as a main phone now?
Yup, still using. A bit wonky now, sometimes the SIM will disappear and I lose all cellular connection. Had to eject and replace. Powering off/on doesn't always restore it.

Regards
CK

ichinisan

Yup, still using. A bit wonky now, sometimes the SIM will disappear and I lose all cellular connection. Had to eject and replace. Powering off/on doesn't always restore it.

Regards
CK

There won't be any more security updates right?

Still able to download the last version?

limmk

There won't be any more security updates right?

Still able to download the last version?
Pixel 4, 4 XL, 4a, 4a (5G), 5 & 5a (5G) phones get Android version updates and security updates for at least 3 years from when the device first became available on the Google Store in the US.
PhoneGuaranteed Android version updates until at least:Guaranteed security updates until at least:
Pixel 5a with 5GAugust 2024August 2024
Pixel 5October 2023October 2023
Pixel 4a (5G)November 2023November 2023
Pixel 4aAugust 2023August 2023
Pixel 4 & Pixel 4 XLOctober 2022October 2022

1-wind

Yes, surprised to see the system update prompt.

Anyone installed and facing any issues? Don't want to update if it reduces the smoothness or stability.

Blackmane

Edit: Sorry for necromancy

Anyone still rocking a Pixel 4A? I realize I've got the issue where there is no voLTE setting to turn on for it (running on circles.life sim card, got this phone off an Amazon deal about 2 years ago?). Tested the SIM card in other phones (iPhoneSE and a Huawei P20) and they work for mobile calls, so it's definitely the Pixel 4A's issue :(

I can't seem to run the *#*#4636#*#* either to check with it (when I try doing this on another phone which definitely works for mobile calls, it says "M1 call barring outbound service" (which is... bizarre...)

limmk

Anyone still rocking a Pixel 4A? I realize I've got the issue where there is no voLTE setting to turn on for it (running on circles.life sim card, got this phone off an Amazon deal about 2 years ago?). Tested the SIM card in other phones (iPhoneSE and a Huawei P20) and they work for mobile calls, so it's definitely the Pixel 4A's issue :(

I can't seem to run the *#*#4636#*#* either to check with it (when I try doing this on another phone which definitely works for mobile calls, it says "M1 call barring outbound service" (which is... bizarre...)
No more VoLTE setting liao. if you see 4G/5G and if your carrier supports it, you're good to go

Post in thread 'Google Pixel 7 series' https://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/threads/google-pixel-7-series.6631208/post-146994785

simply.90

Google did not bother to enable VoLTE for M1 on the Qualcomm Pixel firmware so you are out of luck. Only Singtel (and maybe GOMO since it uses the same APN) and Starhub get VoLTE on this phone, so if you want to continue making calls with the 4a, switching telco is the only option.

bigbob

i same situation. using 4a on circles life. no option for VoLTE. they kept saying technical issues and they trying to resolve. waited a few days buay tahan and switch to gomo. problem solved

limmk

TL;DR
  • Over a year after software support ended, Google has a new update coming for the Pixel 4a.
  • While the update is intended to improve battery performance, on some hardware Google expects it to have the opposite affect.
  • Impacted devices are eligible for either battery replacements or monetary compensation.

Google-Mail-concerning-update-to-old-Pixel-device

simply.90

TL;DR
  • Over a year after software support ended, Google has a new update coming for the Pixel 4a.
  • While the update is intended to improve battery performance, on some hardware Google expects it to have the opposite affect.
  • Impacted devices are eligible for either battery replacements or monetary compensation.

Google-Mail-concerning-update-to-old-Pixel-device

Just signed up for 50 USD! Accubattery says that my unit still has 86% batt health, so no point replacing and this phone doesnt have 5G and can only be used on ST and SH related telcos for VoLTE..

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.