Google Pixel 6 series

What colors do you want to see on the Pixel 6?

• Black / White / Red (as renders) Matte Black Black

Votes: 21 14.3%
  • Matte Black

Votes: 27 18.4%
  • Black / White (Panda)

Votes: 20 13.6%
  • Clearly White

Votes: 9 6.1%
  • Just Black

Votes: 9 6.1%
  • Not Pink / Sand

Votes: 7 4.8%
  • Really Blue / Kinda Blue

Votes: 16 10.9%
  • Oh So Orange

Votes: 24 16.3%
  • Sorta Sage

Votes: 8 5.4%
  • Other (comment)

Votes: 6 4.1%

• Total voters

ock_88

P6P arrived! Spent some time on it:

• Hollow screen feel is noticeable sometimes, when your fingernail hits the screen (e.g flick scrolling with index finger). However, I don't usually scroll this way.
  • Tap to wake gesture is too easily activated, no option to wake only when double tapping - a big minus for me as I'm really used to double tapping to wake my phone, without wanting to wake it up when holding the phone.
  • As some have reported, there seems to be a bug where lift to wake is activated even when option is off. I then ran the adb command shared and it seems ok now.
  • The USB C to 3.5mm dongle I had didn't work :(
  • Out of the box, fingerprint scanner is inconsistent and noticeably slower compared to other phones with optical-based sensor. Things improved after the .037 update, which brings it to the same speed
  • Phone felt hot when installing updates during data transfer from my other phone. It was cool to moderately warm during general use. Didn't try any intensive gaming yet.
  • Haptics are nice, ranging from fine ticks when moving the cursor, to a stronger tap when typing. There are separate controls for notification, calls and touch feedback.
  • The telephoto camera is deeeep! I was surprised how far inside the lenses looked. It definitely can see/ resolve things the unaided eye can't
  • This + drband grip case = heavy phone. My poor little finger struggled to support its weight. I need a new way of holding the phone
  • Rounded sides are nice for gestures, so far no issues with accidental touches
  • Color white balance in photos is great, and the 3 sliders allow finer adjustments if Google got it off
  • Stereo speaker volume is not as finely balanced, centralized somewhere 3/4 towards the bottom.
  • Auto brightness was good without need to train it constantly, but need to test under more lighting conditions
  • Screen visibility was okay in moderate sunlight
  • Voice typing is really really nice. In fact the last two points were typed using voice typing. I wish I remember this nice feature a bit earlier.
Need some screen protector recommendations :giggle:

gluexi

P6P arrived! Spent some time on it:

• Hollow screen feel is noticeable sometimes, when your fingernail hits the screen (e.g flick scrolling with index finger). However, I don't usually scroll this way.
  • Tap to wake gesture is too easily activated, no option to wake only when double tapping - a big minus for me as I'm really used to double tapping to wake my phone, without wanting to wake it up when holding the phone.
  • As some have reported, there seems to be a bug where lift to wake is activated even when option is off. I then ran the adb command shared and it seems ok now.
  • Out of the box, fingerprint scanner is inconsistent and noticeably slower compared to other phones with optical-based sensor. Things improved after the .037 update, which brings it to the same speed
  • Phone felt hot when installing updates during data transfer from my other phone. It was cool to moderately warm during general use. Didn't try any intensive gaming yet.
  • Haptics are nice, ranging from fine ticks when moving the cursor, to a stronger tap when typing. There are separate controls for notification, calls and touch feedback.
  • The telephoto camera is deeeep! I was surprised how far inside the lenses looked. It definitely can see/ resolve things the unaided eye can't
  • This + drband grip case = heavy phone. My poor little finger struggled to support its weight. I need a new way of holding the phone
  • Rounded sides are nice for gestures, so far no issues with accidental touches
  • Color white balance in photos is great, and the 3 sliders allow finer adjustments if Google got it off
  • Stereo speaker volume is not as finely balanced, centralized somewhere 3/4 towards the bottom.
  • Auto brightness was good without need to train it constantly, but need to test under more lighting conditions
  • Screen visibility was okay in moderate sunlight
  • Voice typing is really really nice. In fact the last two points were typed using voice typing. I wish I remember this nice feature a bit earlier.
Need some screen protector recommendations :giggle:
Don't understand the fetish on checking the hollow screen. I mean do your really tap your phone so hard in normal usage?

Voice typing, I wish inherit some American accents for better accuracy lol.

For hydrogel can try Maxshield, not bad.

Tormented Soul

I do agree with the bro previously who said oneplus interface more userfriendly. I felt the same way too, a lot of shortcuts on pixel android 12 not as well thought of, especially uninstalling app must click into app info then uninstall etc. No option to remove the search bar below and the 5 permanent icons too.

The thing that annoys me the most is that the AOD click comes in 3 different design and we have no way to standadize and pick just 1 design. I really like the big font clock for e.g.

Haman

I do agree with the bro previously who said oneplus interface more userfriendly. I felt the same way too, a lot of shortcuts on pixel android 12 not as well thought of, especially uninstalling app must click into app info then uninstall etc. No option to remove the search bar below and the 5 permanent icons too.

The thing that annoys me the most is that the AOD click comes in 3 different design and we have no way to standadize and pick just 1 design. I really like the big font clock for e.g.
Not all apps need to click in app info to uninstall. Sing pass can just uninstall after press n hold. Trace together press n hold n select the bin to uninstall.

Install 3rd party launcher like Nova n u can remove the search bar or place it somewhere.

ock_88

Don't understand the fetish on checking the hollow screen. I mean do your really tap your phone so hard in normal usage?

Thanks, got a pack!

earthtk

Ha I also looking at qoo10.. just wait if not urgent la. That seller always on board promotions. One day a $100 voucher will come by.

frizee

Ha I also looking at qoo10.. just wait if not urgent la. That seller always on board promotions. One day a $100 voucher will come by.
Yeah, it’s not my main driver (yet? Lol!) Just tio enticed by the reviews that’s all… :D

gluexi

It's a Google phone, the must have search bar is like their key feature. Search anything you want right away.

altca4

In all fairness,
if you are used to flagship grade phones, that 'hollow feel' is quite noticeable during the 1st week.
The feel is a little weird as if you are getting a lesser product.
(it doesnt help when you tap to wake and the wake is sometimes wonky, so you tap more and get spooked out more by the hollow feel lol)
I am pretty sure some 'golden finger or golden feel' bros and siss out there cannot tahan such things.

Jokes aside, nothing impacting the actual usage of the phone.
(fans or non fans, chill lah)

I wonder what exactly caused that 'hollow'' feel

altca4

Ya, it used to be that vanilla android have the true edge on speed and experience.
Now that the other skins (like one UI and One+'s) are pretty good with their own unique quality of life enhancement, vanilla android is kind of lacking now. (you have to look at 3rd party app alternatives, at least Android have the choice unlike fruity).

Personally I really hate the vanilla app drawer...

This is not a bad thing, Android is maturing better.
It adds flavor to that individual brand as well.
More fun to techies like us who is addicted to switching smartphones.
There is no such thing as 1 phone to rule them all... (although fruit fans will argue, LOL)

Justbear

For now, my only complains are when i open Lazada from Google, it will not open proper. Then for Taobao, i want to click on those buyers comments, it just blank out.

ryoma86

For now, my only complains are when i open Lazada from Google, it will not open proper. Then for Taobao, i want to click on those buyers comments, it just blank out.
You click on best buy and its a blank page for Lazada?

Justbear

You click on best buy and its a blank page for Lazada?
Say i google for a product, and when i clicked that product from Lazada, it will open Lazada app, but that product will not appear.
Only when i click that link when opened new tab, then from that new tab i open that Lazada product, it will then display properly. Hope this is resolved in .37 fw if not later fw.

ock_88

Say i google for a product, and when i clicked that product from Lazada, it will open Lazada app, but that product will not appear.
Only when i click that link when opened new tab, then from that new tab i open that Lazada product, it will then display properly. Hope this is resolved in .37 fw if not later fw.
Can't seem to replicate this on .037. I clicked a link from the Google search results page from Chrome, and it opened the page directly in the Lazada app.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.