Google Pixel 7 series

What upgrade would you most like to see on the Pixel 7 series?

• Total voters

Chrisng_21

You do know Pixel doesn't have 2 physical sim slots. its 1 physical + 1 esim.
in the end, you prob still dual wield. unless change the m1 sim to esim (you need to check with m1).
Which Telco provide esim? If M1 provide esim means I can use it on any phone that support esim is it?

Phen8210

Hi guys, I bought G7 Pixel Pro 256gb. I have noticed that on the top right hand corner of the screen, there's a stain like spot defect observed. You won't notice it if not under bright light. The screen works fine though the spot beneath it is annoying.

I went to the service center for replacement. Unfortunately, subsequent two set of replacement phone also has same issue.

The repair guy removed the screen and showed me what was behind the screen. Apparently, there's a metal clip attached to the screen to remove static charge. That results in a stain like spot when the clip is excessively forced toward the screen. This is a design flaw and the repair center will feedback to Google.

I suggest everyone to check your phone and report to Google if there's such issue. I'm not sure what to do next. I will bear with it for a while and decide next course of action.

Photo attached

yikes.. just abit more pressure and that's it.

wongminmin

The seller at carousel give the $250 Google voucher together. If P7 128gb $968 with $250 voucher is it worth it? Or next month 11/11 will be cheaper? Thank you.
so far for C is $920 with $250 voucher.......

If u factor in the $250 voucher, very hard to get better deal for local set.
now people are trying......they dun like the phone....trying to quick sell.

Loser

Hi guys, I bought G7 Pixel Pro 256gb. I have noticed that on the top right hand corner of the screen, there's a stain like spot defect observed. You won't notice it if not under bright light. The screen works fine though the spot beneath it is annoying.

I went to the service center for replacement. Unfortunately, subsequent two set of replacement phone also has same issue.

The repair guy removed the screen and showed me what was behind the screen. Apparently, there's a metal clip attached to the screen to remove static charge. That results in a stain like spot when the clip is excessively forced toward the screen. This is a design flaw and the repair center will feedback to Google.

I suggest everyone to check your phone and report to Google if there's such issue. I'm not sure what to do next. I will bear with it for a while and decide next course of action.

Photo attached

AIYAAA found the answer liao... It's the proximity sensor. Ask the service center want to hire me as consultant or not? :o

dreamwar

Holy crap you made me see my p7p in a new light literally because I had to shine a torchlight directly on the screen to see the under display artifact you talking about in the top right corner.

It looks almost like got under display sensor or something opaque there.

But what exactly was told to you by the engineer at the service center about what it is and it's function, and how/who to file a report with for an issue which will only possibly show up down the line?

If I never shine a torchlight on the screen I will never know about it sia... You might be the world's first to discover this feature. :s13:

The engineer was stunned when all of the pixel 7 phone in the repair center are also having this issue. He showed me the internal and how the clips are connected to the screen. Image below is extracted from online teardown video. The red circled are the clips that I referred to, which can be found on edge of the screen. Its function is to discharge the electrostatic charge when your hand touch the screen.

U may file the report under this link by chatting with the customer service representative. U are right that I might be the first one discovered it as the Google customer service has not heard about it before. He has escalated it as a high priority matter and will get back to me.
https://support.google.com/pixelphone/gethelp

dreamwar

@joesph @dreamwar check the production date on your box and see when your pixels are manufactured.

This might indicate if it's just a batched issue. Mine is August same as keyoke.

I made a swap just now in the repair center. Prior to swap, the device mfg month is Sept. After the swap, it is Aug. In conclusion, both batch has issue.

Loser

The engineer was stunned when all of the pixel 7 phone in the repair center are also having this issue. He showed me the internal and how the clips are connected to the screen. Image below is extracted from online teardown video. The red circled are the clips that I referred to, which can be found on edge of the screen. Its function is to discharge the electrostatic charge when your hand touch the screen.

U may file the report under this link by chatting with the customer service representative. U are right that I might be the first one discovered it as the Google customer service has not heard about it before. He has escalated it as a high priority matter and will get back to me.
https://support.google.com/pixelphone/gethelp

The opaque part we can see under the screen is the proximity sensor, it has nothing to do directly with the clips which are a separate issue.

We won't be able to see the clips from the other side of the screen without a teardown.

The mechanical concerns of the clip's interaction with the screen is yet to be ascertained I believe at this stage.

dreamwar

It's... The proximity sensor cutout. :s13: :spin:
The opaque part we can see under the screen is the proximity sensor, it has nothing to do directly with the clips which are a separate issue.

We won't be able to see the clips from the other side of the screen without a teardown.

The mechanical concerns of the clip's interaction with the screen is yet to be ascertained I believe at this stage.
Nop. It is not proximity sensor. I had seen it with my eye just now. The spot didn't just appear at top right corner on my unit, but also top left corner. It correlated with the clips location which function as ESD remover according to the engineer explanation.

Loser

Nop. It is not proximity sensor. I had seen it with my eye just now. The spot didn't just appear at top right corner on my unit, but also top left corner. It correlated with the clips location which function as ESD remover according to the engineer explanation.
My own observations can only make out the cutout with the sensor underneath.

I cannot see anything else even with a torchlight shining directly at the screen.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.