Google Pixel 9 series

Which Pixel 9 series devices are you most interested in?

• Pixel 9

• Pixel 9 Pro

• Pixel 9 Pro XL

• Pixel 9 Pro Fold

• Other [comment]

Results are only viewable after voting.

SpicyBird

Tensor G4 Running In Google’s Top-End Pixel 9 Pro XL Throttles To 50 Percent Of Its Maximum Performance, Indicating Poor Thermal Efficiency

https://wccftech.com/tensor-g4-in-pixel-9-pro-xl-poor-thermal-performance-throttles-easily/
not exactly sure if this is gonna be something to worry about. like how often ur device will reach 100% heat and trigger the throttling? what are you running on ur device man? and then talking about switching from samsung to tsmc semiconductor. i'm not from an engineering background but i seriously doubt there will be any significant improvement in pixel 10 (tensor G5). Correct me if I'm wrong, I think of it like this, if the chip design is bad in nature, no matter u go to which semiconductor company they will just build based on ur blueprint maybe quality will differ abit but overall and how it function is still the same. just like u wanna renovate a house, u got a design blueprint, u find which contractor to renovate end result also same only quality difference.

SpicyBird

lol why u nv post link. I just finished that video and was gonna share here then saw ur post.

for everyone else tldr he got the phone early and did a review. but mainly on software and some camera features. Hopefully he makes more of them

wow cool man, how did he even bought it with his own money b4 official shipping date? That's amazing!

ErinaMizuno

not exactly sure if this is gonna be something to worry about. like how often ur device will reach 100% heat and trigger the throttling? what are you running on ur device man? and then talking about switching from samsung to tsmc semiconductor. i'm not from an engineering background but i seriously doubt there will be any significant improvement in pixel 10 (tensor G5). Correct me if I'm wrong, I think of it like this, if the chip design is bad in nature, no matter u go to which semiconductor company they will just build based on ur blueprint maybe quality will differ abit but overall and how it function is still the same. just like u wanna renovate a house, u got a design blueprint, u find which contractor to renovate end result also same only quality difference.
You assume the house is already built le hence to renovate only might not make any difference.

But the house which is the chip that google designs on, differs alot due to the technologies they possessed between different semiconductors. Also they might not have the capabilities to deliver the exact blueprint you want due to chip limitations, abit like you cannot do the same blueprint design for all hdb rooms due to the concrete pillars position

SpicyBird

You assume the house is already built le hence to renovate only might not make any difference.

But the house which is the chip that google designs on, differs alot due to the technologies they possessed between different semiconductors. Also they might not have the capabilities to deliver the exact blueprint you want due to chip limitations, abit like you cannot do the same blueprint design for all hdb rooms due to the concrete pillars position
i see, thanks for clarifying. so you're saying that if they are shifting to tsmc, they will re-design the whole tensor chip to fits what tsmc has to offer? it's kinda weird though like chip was designed to matched semiconductor's requirement... i thought is the other way round...

ThinkMe

I don't even bother watching phone reviewers nowadays. Most of them only used the phone for a bit and then move on to the next phone. Sometimes they don't even understand how some of the phone features and purpose and then just give inaccurate info. Probably due to too many phones they need to review.

Best is to do your own research and figure out what is the priority for your own use case.

Correct lor, either watch those that actually demo the features like in depth tech review or those that talk more about user experience one like Michael Fischer, Dave2d etc...

The rest has gotten lazy just keep talking about specs/performance.

Theunlockr also interesting cause he will share the history of the cities he is at

limmk

Preordered both the pixel 9 pro XL and the pixel 9 pro fold. Can’t decide which one to keep in the end. What do you guys think? Had both of their younger siblings before ( pixel series ) and the OG Pixel fold from New York. Minus the inferior camera on the fold, the 9 pro XL seems meh this year.

TLDR; At this point, can’t seem to trust any YouTubers for their initial thoughts.

which one you guys think is a better buy?
Wait for the P10 series lah. if you really must choose, pick the P9PXL over the P9PF. given the many problems that can occur with the P9PXL, imagine what a lower-spec P9PF might experience over its lifetime loh

limmk

His content is literally all the same sensationalized crap and he's an Apple fanboy. Buay tahan him.
I can feel my IQ dropping while watching his videos.
Google has no obligation to invite anyone, he can buy it at launch and review like normal people do.
I stopped actively watching watching Mrwhosetheboss, mkbhd and some others YouTubers for quite a while now based on my personal opinion of their content. Unsubscribed. I only watch if the content is interesting to me. In fact, I immediately click do not recommend any channel on my feed anytime I see a video title " long time pixel/iPhone user switches to.... ".
I only watch YouTube’s when it’s cover is his hand cover his face n the other hand starighten up holding the phone. Lol
I watch @garychengjw reviews :love:

limmk

Even a simple app like the Thermometer stops working when you're charging or the phone gets warm loh.... haiz :rolleyes:

vibranze

Anyone can sexsum what was all those fiasco about in one liner lol. I only watch dave2d reviews nowadays, sweet and short and to the point. MrMobile review is honest and informative too.

joesph

chip manufacturer manufactures, google designs, how samsung foundry gets hot?? thanks

MangoCAT

chip manufacturer manufactures, google designs, how samsung foundry gets hot?? thanks
Is like you zhng a existing car to fit your own needs so not samsung fault on your selection of components/design. In sg way

joesph

Is like you zhng a existing car to fit your own needs so not samsung fault on your selection of components/design. In sg way
i search the web say samsung lousy cheap manufacturing. just now tried to install latest as possible android on tab s1 sm-t700 cannot succeed until side buttons all spoil. buttons commonly spoil and lines on phones

MangoCAT

i search the web say samsung lousy cheap manufacturing. just now tried to install latest as possible android on tab s1 sm-t700 cannot succeed until side buttons all spoil. buttons commonly spoil and lines on phones
I mean the TOTL samsung is using a snappy/qualcomm themselves so..... It's better/comparable to top chipset le in term of performances all that but efficency is different story in utilizing the chip
Thermal depends if they want to cheap out on cooling too
Snapdragon don't always wins too for some series but i think having the phone is mostly more impt and the implementation

RaebRalop

Wait for the P10 series lah. if you really must choose, pick the P9PXL over the P9PF. given the many problems that can occur with the P9PXL, imagine what a lower-spec P9PF might experience over its lifetime loh
Lower spec as in camera spec department ? Did I miss out any other part

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.